Looking for kind and fun trouble-shooter and do-it-your-selfer for large finca with two kids and seven dogs in the Costa del Sol, Spain



232 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad


  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    97.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 11 dias

  • Medallas

    Good Host

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos 2 semanas

  • Descripción


    Hi, we're a German family living half an hour away from Málaga in Almayate, very close to the only unspoilt beach strip along Costa del Sol, in a large finca with pool and 5000 m² wild garden full of fruit trees.
    I am originally a freelance writer, now more of a farmer, my boy is 13, the girl is 11, besides we have seven very human dogs, two cats and chickens. Trying to attend to all the kids', dogs', house's and garden's wishes and necessities is a hopeless project so I am always happy about a helping hand to survive the chaos. Besides, I simply love to meet people, exchange experiences, learn about new cultures or habits, and it's always more fun to attack projects together.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    At home, we speak German, my kids are totally bilingual and speak German and Spanish, I have a nice group of friends, a fun mix of Spanish, Dutch, English and German people who you'll definitely meet - at home or at the beach. I mostly have a full house, friends and family as well as guests are frequently around, so there is plenty of opportunity to meet and greet and connect with others.
    Almayate is a very country-like place, laid back and relaxed, with a lovely untouched beach and great hang-out places. For some more action there's Torre del Mar at 4km, and if it's the big city and culture that flash you Málaga is only half an hour away.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    I am hoping to find cool, relaxed, fun - and of course responsible, flexible and caring - people ready to give me a helping hand in my helpless efforts to keep the finca nice and neat and help me attend to the kids' increasing needs to get around. Ideally, you have a driver's licence and for insurance reasons have passed your 25 years.
    Depending on your interests (and form of the day) there is plenty of stuff to do - just some ideas:
    In general, the house and garden are always happy about some fumbling around.
    Countless walls inside and outside could do with some paint, the same is true for wooden and iron doors (paint flakes off or kids and/or dogs decorate them in their special way using scratching/painting/rubbing techniques.
    There is a (half dead) vegetable garden and loads of fruit trees over 5000m2 that seriously require some more love and time. The dogs tend to play with the irrigation system and mess it up, so the pipes need checking up and repairing constantly. Weed shoots wherever I least want it, trees need cutting back, fruit wants to be picked, dry leaves make the pool and terraces look nasty, and general cleaning, sweeping and maintaining is always appreciated.
    My kids are totally into our country life and tend to engage in dirt-digging, also I frequently have guests, so every helping hand with washing, changing beds and preparing rooms is a dream come true.
    In general, concerning home and garden improvement, there are plenty of things to attack, in fact it would be a full-time job to get everything straight - and this is exactly where you come into play because I simply cannot manage alone. I am also highly open for new ideas, whatever suggestions there may be on what and how to improve. And overall I like the idea of having nice and fun people around to fill the place with life - I believe we can all benefit from each other and last but not least it also gives me more independence.
    I am not into a rigid schedule and not exactly a crack in delegating, to be precise I don't want a third child but adults around me who act independently and on their own responsibility. I am really looking for people who see what needs to be done and want to make a difference (of course after having explained everything and sorted out priorities).
    Depending on what necessarily needs to be done there will be projects we attack together as well as other stuff you can do by yourself when I have to concentrate on my work.
    I am happy for you to lend me a hand whenever it is most convenient or fulfilling for you, however, I would like to know that the balance is fair and everybody sticks to their part of the deal, so communication is key - I am mostly around and really want and need to know what you've been up to, also to show my gratitude and give you the acknowledgement you deserve.
    I supply board and lodging, you'll have a nice private room and the food and drinks you like (of course not talking champagne and caviar or the like). Of course, cooking together and sharing some nice drinks and chats is also highly appreciated. In return, I'd ike to see five hours a day, five days a week "invested" into whatever we agree upon.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Alemán: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Francés: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento


    On the plot there are two houses, between them there's the pool with terrace and outside kitchen. Me, my kids and animals live in the upper house, and we have spare rooms in the separate guest house where you would have your own room overlooking the sea with en-suite bathroom. Depending on other guests or WorkAways living with us, you would have the room, the apartment or the studio with private kitchen and terrace (see gallery).
    Of course, you are free to hang around the pool or wherever you feel like. A smaller part of the garden is "civilised" with lawn and flowers - the larger part is quite wild with all sorts of fruit trees (mangos, avocados, oranges, lemon, grapefruit, grapes, pomegranade, nisperos...).

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    You will of course have plenty of free time. I have a bike (that first needs repairing) and you can use my car if I don't need it, besides public transport is quite good and the easiest way to get to Málaga to avoid the parking problem. Almayate can also be easily reached by foot, along the dry river bed it's a 20 minute walk. Your friends are always welcome in my house.
    We've had quite some WorkAwayers so far, some of them are still close friends of the family visiting us regularly, some other experiences were nothing to write home about. It's a matter of chemistry, maybe, and of course of expectations - in both directions. So let's talk open and freely, take some time to get to know each other and see whether we can make this encounter a memorable one all of us can benefit from. Very much looking forward to meeting people who can imagine fitting into my not so normal but highly fun life!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Este anfitrión ha indicado que le encanta acoger a nómadas digitales.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    My dogs are rather friendly but of course we'd need to check if they really get along. Please bear in mind I host guests and also have cats and chickens, so efficient hunters or unfriendly creatures wouldn't be an ideal fit.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 169742232982