Help on a small farm in beautiful Catalunya

Country

España

171 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    25  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    26/01/2022

  • Medallas

    Top Host
 
  2022 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    My name is Brian and I live on a small farm near to Mora D’Ebre, in rural Catalunya, where I cultivate olive and almond trees using organic principals, but I am not registered as an organic grower because the costs of registration are just too high. My farm is surrounded by mountains and pine forests so the views are rather spectacular and there are many mountain walking trails that pass close to my house. My house is some 5km on a tarmac road from town where there are shops, bars, a theatre, nightclubs, and all other necessities of life and within reason I am quite happy to deliver/collect if you need a night out in town.
    I live alone with too many cats (7) and a dog that have all “turned up”, presumably after hearing that there is a mad old man who will look after them! I have 5 children (and three grandchildren) who visit from time to time so sometimes the house can get a bit busy.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de animales

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Life here is fabulous but running my farm on my own can be a bit difficult as there are some jobs that are much more easily done with an additional pair or pairs of hands and that is why I am registering here on Work Away. Essentially the main hard job here is harvesting which is infinitely easier with more than one person, although tree pruning and general farm/garden work together with general maintenance work will be part of the job.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Catalan: Fluido
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Francés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    I have one spare bedroom in the house and I also have a two berth caravan that provides pretty basic accommodation, so showers etc would need to be taken in the house. I live off grid so have no mains services. My electricity is from solar panels, my water supply is from underground tanks which are filled with rainwater from my roof, so long relaxing showers are strictly off limits, although there is enough water for daily showers. I do have a satellite internet and telephone connection and wifi within the house, although I ask any workawayer to minimise facebook etc connections and to not download/stream music or films as my download allowance is small and I get very grumpy when this runs out thus depriving me of fast internet!

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    I might be a bloke but even though I say it myself I am a pretty decent cook so you don't have to brace yourself for a diet of ready meals, pasta and stuff from tins!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Up to 5 hours but probably less, 5 days a week

















Número de referencia de anfitrión: 158575747696