Permaculture farm help in Ozarks of Oklahoma, USA

Country

Estados Unidos

actualizado  

50 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    23/07/2021

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 3 dias

  • Medallas

 
  2021 
E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We are a large, homeschooling family (11 of us!) and love to meet new people from around the world. We traveled in the US for a few years in an RV and love the experiences we had meeting new people. Stewart works off farm part time and Ashley stays home full-time. We live very frugally. Occasionally we raise a few things specifically to sell or make some handicrafts at the farm. (These are very limited in scope and wouldn’t be part of your volunteering.) we do farm, Wildcrafting, and herbalism tours and classes that you’re welcome to attend while you’re here.
    We run our farm using permaculture principles. We have only owned and been stewarding the farm for two years, so much of what we are doing is still in the very beginning stage of rejuvenating this neglected piece of land and we also have a lot to learn. There’s so much we have envisioned, but it takes a lot of energy and time to get there. We hope you’ll enjoy our work-in-progress as much as we do!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Since we are a working farm we have chores to do to keep our animals and gardens happy and healthy everyday. You’re welcome to tag along or help out, but please respect our animals’ space and our time. We are more than happy, when chores are done, to do a walk-along through the property to help you identify the wild edible and medicinal plants growing, basics of growing plants or raising animals, cooking or making herbals with wild crafted items, or let you participate in processing animals for the table.

    We also love just talking and sharing life experiences with others. We’ve lived in big cities, small towns, and in the country. We traveled for a few years and managed campgrounds meeting people coming from around the world to camp. Now we are beginning farmers. We’d love to share a little piece of our lives with you and learn from at the same time.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Update as of August 2021
    Our current big projects:
    -painting our house
    -weeding, prepping beds and planting gardens for family use
    -beautifying through signs and decorative projects
    -harvesting and processing plants for food and medicine
    -cutting and pulling invasive species
    -shuttle bus conversion (could potentially open up more spaces for other workawayers if finished)
    -building compost toilets and enclosures in the barn, storm shelter, and shuttle bus
    -redoing the RV floor
    -machine maintenance
    —————
    At our farm you can come help in the gardens or pasture, in the house, or with various projects around the property. The animals aren’t part of our volunteer work as they are our children’s business enterprises, but you can certainly spend your free time cuddling bunnies, learning to milk cows or goats, or hanging out with the chickens and ducks, or scratching pig bellies, if you want.
    We are looking for a person or couples/families who would like to help us make our farm amazing. There are plenty of projects you can plug right into or we are open to new ideas also. Possible things you can jump in on- building cabins, digging wells and ponds, weeding garden beds, or even creating works of art to beautify an area. You can also help in house with regular housework, cooking and processing garden produce for storage, or making herbals. It really depends on what your interests and abilities are as there are so many opportunities here for you to use your special talents and gifts!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Alemán: Intermedio
    Español: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    It’s a home away from home in The Roost, our 29ft travel trailer, with all the amenities and sleeping spaces for 6 or more (queen bed, lofted full bed, and two rv bunks). It’s the one we traveled in so it’s been updated, but also has some character (think crayon on the ceiling in the bunks, etc 😉) from our family living in it. There’s a propane stovetop and oven, rv size fridge and freezer, compost toilet, and access to an enclosed outdoor shower. The plumbing in the RV needs updated. Cabinets are stocked with the essentials for eating and cooking, plus a coffee maker, electric grill, and a toaster. There’s also a mini library for children and adults and some outdoor games. In your free time you can relax and enjoy the farm.
    You’ll be able hear and see the farm animals happily going about their days from your windows during the day and all the stars shining the night sky.
    You can have some water fun by taking the 300 ft Blackberry Trail to our in-progress Deer Hollow cabin area and the Wild Rose Pond. The pond varies seasonally but the max depth is generally between 5 and 7 feet and is a great place for everyone to relax and play. We have a couple kayaks and a raft, but feel free to bring SUPs, kayaks, or canoes but remember they must be hauled about 300 ft from where you park. For fishing please bring your own gear and we ask that you limit your fishing to what you can consume each day or practice catch and release.
    There is a also a 1/2 mi loop of walking trails that circles our 10 acre property taking you through Fruitlandia (the beginnings of our orchard and the 8000ft kitchen gardens), past Swan Lake (our fowl pond), and The Cheesecake Factory (our barn), and through our prairies to the Deer Hollow Cabin area, then along our seasonal Snake Creek to Frog Pond and back up to Farm Camp through Fruitlandia. These areas don’t come close to fully living up to everything their names stand for yet, but names are an important part of visualizing and creating. We hope you can catch the vision too.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    Meals
    You’re welcome to eat what we eat and we can make some accommodations for dietary needs. We do raise animals for table, but of course you will not be required to help process them or eat them if do not want to do so. We typically have a grab and go type breakfast and lunch and larger sit down evening meal after work is done. You’re more than welcome to make your own meals and for breakfast and lunch this is probably more convenient for all of us, but we like to have our evening meal together (even if eating different foods) to fellowship. If you’re providing your own breakfasts and lunches we ask about 3 hours volunteering. If we are supplying them all we ask about 5 hours of volunteering. We are more task oriented than time oriented so work hours are approximates.

    Local Attractions
    We are in the heart of Native Land here with the capital of the Cherokee nation 20 minutes away in Tahlequah, (as well shopping, dining, and entertainment).
    Peggs is a very small town minutes away that has groceries, gas, restaurants, and some household goods.
    Locust grove is 10 minutes away and has a few more small town amenities.
    The Tulsa metroplex is about 45 minutes away offering everything a bustling city has to offer.
    Fort Smith, Fayetteville, and Bentonville, Arkansas are all also about an hour away.
    We don’t make many trips to town, but you are welcome to go with when we do and can easily run you to Peggs if needed for supplies.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We do now have WiFi available, but it’s not strong enough to reach very far. If you could work from our porch or house that’s an option. If you have your own internet setup with a signal booster you should be able to get reliable service. Without a booster it may be hit and miss depending on carrier...somewhere on the property you’ll get service, but not everywhere with all of the major carriers and Sprint seems to be the most reliable. Locust grove 10 minutes away has some places that have free WiFi and Tahlequah has many more and is 20 minutes away also.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    We have plenty of space to park and turn around in about any set up and we are easy to get to with our driveway connecting to the highway. We can have available for you: -water hose to fill tanks or water storage -regular extension cord to run to your setup, you will need to have the 20 amp adapter to drop down from 30 or 50 amp though. This will not be enough to run ACs, but generators are OK to use 24hrs if needed. -an enclosed outside shower is available -compost area for composting toilets, gray water, and other compostable material (other waste must be hauled out)

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We are a working farm with lots of free ranging fowl and children, so please bring only well-behaved animals. Pets are expected to be leashed unless in designated areas.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    3

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 152352823233