Come and help look after rescue animals on the edge of Lake District, UK

Country

Gran Bretaña

actualizado  

573 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    32  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    26/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    79.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 9 dias

  • Medallas

 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Animal Loving people wanted to help on the edge of the Lake District.
    I used to rescue animals from both the UK and Macedonia and would then look to rehome them. I no longer take in new rescues but have 8 remaining dogs, some I have had since puppies and some rescues who cannot be rehomed due to different issues. I need assistance walking, feeding and helping to care for them. It is essential that you are confident with dogs as some are very big and bouncy....we also have 6 cats and chickens. Some of the dogs have been very cruelly treated so can be a little nervous at first.

    There would also be light housework. You would have your own double room and all food provided.
    We are in beautiful countryside with the nearest city, Carlisle, 6 miles away....however, there is no public transport going past the house. The closest bus stop is 2.5 miles. You do not need to drive for the help we need but you may wish to in order to explore the beautiful Lake District, Eden Valley and surrounding area.
    There is a lovely pub in the nearby village of Wreay which is 1.5 miles away, serves great food and drink.
    This would be ideal for people who want to climb, cycle, run or just explore the Lake District and Hadrian's Wall.
    I work as a lawyer so work away for long hours in the day. My partner, Rachel is based at home but is in and out throughout the day.

    WE ARE ACCEPTING WORKAWAYERS DURING LOCKDOWN BUT WE DO EXPECT YOU TO ADHERE TO THE GOVERNMENT GUIDELINES WHATEVER YOUR PERSONAL VIEWS OF THEM.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    The Lake District is an area of outstanding national beauty in the UK and you could spend many hours discovering it's beauty, We are also very close to Hadrian's Wall and the ancient Roman Settlements of Vindolanda and Housesteads. Carlisle is also a beautiful, historic City.

    We really enjoy hosting Workaways and have met many fascinating people with whom we are still friends. It is important to us that we all get on and operate in a family environment. We like to on occasions take the Workaways out to dinner or to spend an evening in with a take away and a film.

    You could also practice your English whilst spending time in a friendly environment.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Our ideal is to have two Workaways staying at a time.

    The help involves feeding and walking the dogs, feeding the cats and chickens and keeping the kennels and chicken coops clean. We have 8 dogs so a love of walking and dogs is essential.

    I understand that some dog rescues have a field, enclosed area that the dogs are simply let in. All of our dogs are walked off the property on leads, you can therefore expect to walk in excess of 5 miles a day whatever the weather!! The dogs don't care if it is raining!! If you are not fit when you arrive you will be by the time you leave!
    Light housework, loading, unloading dishwasher, hoovering and generally helping keep the kitchen clean as you would in any home in which you live.

    We also have a number of jobs around the house and garden that we are working on when we have more than one workaway staying. For example a previous couple built an excellent wood store.

    We split the shifts between Workaways but on the days that you are on the morning shift you are expected to start the first walk at 7.30am.

    This is a very different experience from just caring for 1 or 2 dogs, due to the fact that they are rescued some of them have to be kennelled for both their own and the safety of the other dogs. We have a set routine for the dogs and the feeding and walks have set times. This is a timetable that we have come up having tried and tested many different routines. We find that the current routine works best for the well being and happiness of the dogs. We therefore expect people to respect the routine and not alter it.

    We also have strict rules regarding the handling of some of the dogs. Again these rules are there for your own safety and the wellbeing of the dogs and it is really important that these rules are abided by.

    If everyone follows the same routine and rules it provides continuity for the dogs between Workaways and means that we can all work well together with happy, secure dogs and humans!

    We are always on hand and are more than happy to talk through any concerns that any workaway may have. We find that it is so much better for concerns to be aired and worked through together.

    Clearly we cannot monitor how fast different people walk but we are confident that even with one workaway all of the tasks can be carried out in less than the 5 hours. However, as explained earlier due to the nature of the tasks they are spread throughout the day.

    We are a vegetarian family we are not prepared to have others eating meat in the house. We provide food for all meals but for obvious reasons try to keep within a budget. We both love to cook and if we are home and cooking in the evening love to include the workaways in our dinner plans.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    Este anfitrión ha indicado que está interesado en compartir su idioma o aprender otro.
    Ponte en contacto con él para obtener más información.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You would have your own bedroom.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are looking for someone/couple who is happy to spend time with us and our animals.
    It is important that you are self sufficient as we work long hours during the week.
    We can provide a bicycle for you to borrowti explore the local area.
    However at weekends we would be happy to take you out with us to different places, walking etc.
    If you like climbing, walking this is the perfect spot.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.6)

Intercambio cultural: (4.5)

Comunicación: (4.2)
























Número de referencia de anfitrión: 144915899266