Enjoy the charm of a historic country village while helping with my son in Shropshire, UK

Country

Gran Bretaña

actualizado  

41 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    12/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    57.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 13 dias

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello Workaways! I (Linda) live with my 8-year-old son in a small English village in a beautiful part of Shropshire. We would love to welcome a kind, caring, fun and easy-going workawayer who has experience working with children to help in an Au Pair capacity. Your role would focus primarily on child care as well as some light household tasks. In accordance with UK Government guidelines for Au Pairs, you would live as a member of our family during your stay and receive £90 a week as 'pocket money'

    We are a very laid-back family. My son is fun-loving, outgoing, endlessly curious and has lots of energy. I have my own training business and specialise in developing online learning, as well as tutoring English language students preparing for the IELTS exam. I'm originally from Australia and have been living in the UK for the past 8 years.

    I work remotely and my son is electively homeschooled. We enjoy the outdoors, walking in nature, and visiting historical sites and properties. We are very active in the local homeschooling community, which organises regular meetups and activities. My son typically attends a couple of activities with homeschooling groups each week. He goes to Forest School twice a month, swimming and kickboxing classes each week, and other regular activities such as art classes and indoor rock climbing.

    Working and studying remotely gives us the freedom to live and work from anywhere with a good internet connection. In the past we have travelled widely, making the most of our digital nomad life. Our journeys enhanced my son's education by allowing him to experience new places, cultures and history first-hand. This included taking part in workaways ourselves, as well as activities such as housesitting and caretaking. Having experienced the kindness of these communities and the benefits of a mutual cultural and learning exchange, now that we are in a position to host we would like to open our home to fellow workawayers.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Enseñanza
    Cuidado de animales
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We recognise that one of the best parts of a workaway is the opportunity for mutual cultural and language exchange. We'd be happy to welcome you into our family and invite you to share in family meals, days out, etc. You'd be welcome to join in as much or as little as you like, but we would ideally like someone who is fairly sociable and will enjoy spending time with us as an additional member of our family.

    We live in a historic stone cottage in a medieval market town with over one hundred listed buildings, including the timber-framed buildings that line the High Street and the substantial ruins of a 12th-century Priory. We are about a 20-minute drive from the historic market town of Shrewsbury, which has a good selection of cafes, restaurants, pubs and stores. We are surrounded by beautiful countryside. The region has a wide range of outdoor and adventure activities as well as family-friendly activities such as historical buildings, parks, museums and cycle paths.

    If you would like to develop your English language skills, I'd be happy to help you with this. I am a TEFL qualified language tutor who assists students to prepare for English exams such as IELTS.

  • Au pair

    Ayuda au pair

    This host is looking for an au pair in the UK

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    As we are a homeschooling family, we don't have to stick to a strict daily routine. We spend about 2 - 2.5 hours a day on structured learning activities, during which time he easily gets through more than a typical school day's worth of study. The rest of the day can be for walks, games, arts and crafts, creative play, and other enjoyable and sociable activities. This is where you would come in! Outside of his study time, it would be ideal if you can do activities with him that keep him actively engaged.

    Your focus will be to have fun with my son while playing either indoors or out, going for walks in the surrounding area, playing in the nearby park, doing arts and crafts, creative storytelling, building and playing with his car or train tracks, or any number of other activities. We also have an indoor pool in the village and he loves to go swimming.

    I'd love it if you can help him to continue with his favourite activities but you'd be free to plan your days and come up with new activities too, including teaching my son new hobbies and skills, such as crafts, cooking, or playing music. He has just started learning Spanish, so it would be an added bonus if you can speak the language even at a basic level.

    Your main focus would be helping to take care of my son and creative play, but you should expect to do some light housework to help keep the house in order on a daily basis. Some help with the cooking would also be appreciated if this is something you enjoy.

    We love animals and while we don't have pets of our own, we often have 1 or 2 dogs staying with us for home boarding. These are typically small to medium dogs who are very friendly (especially child friendly) and are often regular boarders that we know well. Therefore it would be ideal if you enjoy being around animals. This would not be suitable for someone who has severe pet allergies or is uncomfortable being around dogs. You would not necessarily be expected to be involved with animal care but you could have some involvement if you wanted to, such as by taking a dog for a walk in the surrounding countryside with my son. However, child care will always be the primary focus of your role.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas hablados
    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Principiante

    Este anfitrión ofrece intercambio de idiomas
    If you would like to develop your English skills, I would be very happy to help. I'm a TEFL qualified language tutor who helps students to prepare for exams such as IELTS. My son and I have recently started learning Spanish. We're currently at a complete beginner level but very eager to learn.

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Our cottage has lovely character features such as exposed beams. Downstairs we have a kitchen/dining area and living room. Upstairs we have three bedrooms and a bathroom with a shower and a bath. At the back of the house, another set of stairs leads to a laundry area and a raised deck with storage for bikes etc.

    You would have your own small but cosy bedroom at the back of the house with a single bed and desk. We have unlimited high-speed internet and streaming services such as Netflix.

    I am a vegetarian and mostly vegan, and my son eats vegetarian food too. We favour healthy, nutritional whole foods as much as possible. It is not necessary for you to be a vegetarian or vegan, although it would certainly be helpful if you enjoy eating vegetarian food. I'd be happy to accommodate any food preferences or allergies to the greatest extent possible.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    This would be an ideal opportunity for someone who loves nature and the slower pace of rural life. Perhaps someone who would like time to study or pursue their own hobbies in their free time. If you like the hustle and bustle of a big city with lots of nightlife, this won't be right for you. But if you like the idea of rural life with the opportunity to access towns and cities during your stay, this could be the best of both worlds.

    Historic towns like Shrewsbury and Chester are within easy driving distance. Our town also has a regular bus service to Shrewsbury, with a bus stop only a hundred meters from our door. Bigger cities like Birmingham, Manchester and Liverpool are easily accessible by bus or train on weekend trips. London is 3-hours from Shrewsbury by express train. The spectacular Snowdonia mountain range in Wales is about a 2-hour drive. I'd be happy to help with transport to and from nearby bus or train stations in Shrewsbury or Telford if needed.

    My son is quite extroverted and sociable, so it would be helpful if you could match his energy. But bearing in mind his energy levels, I know first-hand that running around with him all day can be rather exhausting. Therefore I'd certainly understand if you want to enjoy some private time at the end of your day too.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    This is an ideal place to work from home or study. You would have a small desk in your room, a quiet work environment, and access to unlimited high-speed broadband.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Uno

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Número de referencia de anfitrión: 135133926221