Off-grid island homestead near Isla Popa in Bocas del Toro, Panama

Country

Panamá

actualizado  

211 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    16  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    30/11/2021

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos en Facebook

    526

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 16 dias

  • Medallas

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    🌟Availability🌟
    - NOW through December 10th
    - January 16 - end of year


    Positions available (you can/might do some of all four, depending on our current needs):

    🚼 Au Pair 🚼
    👩‍🔧 Builder & Repairer 👷
    🐔Farm hand 🐇
    🌳Landscaper/Gardener🌴

    Stays will be 1-2 weeks maximum, though you may request to stay longer, after the first week.
    We ask volunteers to arrive on Sundays and depart on Fridays, in the morning.


    **We now have a quick minute long video showing the highlights of this Workaway opportunity!** (Message me for the link.)

    This experience will have you working WITH children, even if you are not fulfilling the au pair role. The house is an OPEN floor plan and the children are here during the week. If you are not comfortable being/working with, around, or for children ALL DAY, please do not apply. We include our children in all appropriate aspects of our lives out here, and expect our volunteers to do the same.

    Our life dream has been to create an amazing place where our friends and family could come to get away from the money driven rat race, in which we grew up, during most of our lives. We think of money as a tool to get the supplies we need to create a place from which we never want to leave and never have to leave... because we'll have everything we need here, growing!!

    We are not trying to prove anything to anyone and we left the society we grew up in for just that reason.

    While we have not reached our sustainable and self sufficient goal, we are striving to create the structures and gardens that will allow us to achieve that goal.

    We're looking for people interested in helping that dream become realized and maybe deciding they love it so much they want to become a permanent part of that dream too!

    Life is such a magnificent adventure and it's not about who you know, where you work or what clothes you wear, it's about being authentic to your self and doing what you feel passionate about and sparks the joy inside!

    So come join a quirky family of creators and help build a utopia!

    👪About Us👪:

    We are a unique family of 6, Just two friends living near each other (41 yo gal & 46 yo guy) raising their 4 kids together (Ages 11,9,3, & 16 months). We also have a small flock of birds (12 hens, a Rooster & 6 ducks), a small colony of 3 rabbis, and a few green dart frogs.

    We're from the States and Canada but never really identified with that culture. We're committed to being here indefinitely and look forward to the journey of getting from where we are now to where we see ourselves in a few short years... sustainable, self sufficient haven of splendidness! 😊

    🐚🐠The Properties 🐠🐚:

    We have 6 properties, all are within a half mile of each other, roughly. There are coconuts, cocoplums, sour oranges, rose apples, papaya, icecream bean and pineapples to name a few, that grow on our various properties.

    We are completely off grid for all our electrical and water requirements. This basically means we collect rain water and sunlight.

    Our travel boat is also completely run from pedal and solar power! No gasoline here. 😂

    We depend solely on the rain to collect water for drinking, cooking, and washing. Please come with the ability to use water in a conservative manner. We use the ocean for bathing/washing and rinse with small amounts of fresh water.

    It is very hot here during the day. We generally encourage our visitors to be outside in the shade or the ocean during the day.

    Please be aware that we are very much under construction 👷.


    🐳🐳Think you have what it takes to lend a hand? 🐳🐳

    😊Then please read the following information to see what we're expecting of YOU and in return what you can expect from us! 😊

    🎉This opportunity is FOR you if the following apply🎉

    🌀 You enjoy interacting with children all day.
    ⚡Hardwork and getting dirty make you feel accomplished.
    🌀 You truly enjoy RUGGED camping in the middle of the jungle.
    ⚡ You give 100% effort and complete your tasks.
    🌀 You enjoy living in nature (animals, insects and plants)
    ⚡ You have a positive attitude and express yourself in a respectful way.
    🌀 You are a mature, responsible person.
    ⚡ You can be flexible in your hours.
    🌀 You can take care of your own needs and work independently.

    ⛔This is NOT the opportunity for you if ⛔

    You are looking for a FREE place to stay for no work.
    You are looking for a place to party.
    You use illegal substances/abuse legal ones.
    You smoke anything.
    You are looking for an island paradise luxury vacation.
    You expect to be waited on and catered to by staff members.
    You need your hand held and cannot see what needs to be done.
    You are lazy or a whiner.


    🌻To ensure we all have the best experience possible, we generally only allow volunteers for 2 weeks. A longer stay may be possible, but will not be considered until the end of the 1st week.🌻

    Please bring the following (we will not provide you with these items) :
    - Your own personal safety products (soap, bug repellent, sunscreen, basic first aid items)
    - Sleeping bag OR blanket
    - Towel
    - Flashlight with rechargeable batteries/charger.
    - Basic knowledge of the Spanish language (this is for your benefit of getting to know the local neighbors as they only speak Spanish. It is NOT a requirement)

    In exchange for volunteering we are offering:

    - A Set schedule working 25 hours per week. Set break times throughout the workdays. Set days off.
    - 3 basic meals a day & drinking water.
    - a single bed with a fitted sheet and a pillow with a cover, in a semi private space.
    - a dry, secure place to store your belongings.
    - A spot to use on our day time charging station for 1 electronic device per person.
    - a shared outdoor toilet and on the dock bathing area.
    - day time internet access.

    When messaging us please include your expected travel dates (at least start date and length of stay estimate).

    Want more information? Or to learn more about our opportunity? Send us a message today.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Mantenimiento general

  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    There are so many opportunities to learn about living with less and appreciating nature. This opportunity will give you experience living off-grid and outside the box of conformity. We love to share our knowledge of building and the arts. You could learn about fiberglassing, woodwork, fermentation, knitting, sewing, baking, cooking with local plants, drawing, weaving, and crocheting, just to name a few. We have many skills and love sharing our knowledge with others.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Here are a few of the things with which we may assistance:

    Working with concrete, wood and or clay for building
    Gardening/Landscaping
    Tending the birds
    Homeschool Lessons
    Cooking
    Tidying/Reorganizing various areas of the house
    Painting
    Tiling
    Building a paths around our various properties

    We are looking for individuals with a positive and friendly attitude who want to participate in creating an amazing place ALONGSIDE our CHILDREN.
    You MUST be comfortable being surrounded by and being a role model for children on a daily basis, throughout the day and evening.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Intermedio

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    A SINGLE bed, with a fitted sheet and pillow with a cover, for one person in a semi private dormitory loft room.

    Outhouse toilet and bathing area.

    The cooking area is gas or electric, depending on time of day.

    Shower style bathing is not available.

    We have no refrigeration, so please plan accordingly if bringing your own food.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We live in an area with bioluminesce algae!! It is in our bay directly in front of the house boat. You can read about this neat algae online.

    There are many shallow areas where you can snorkel and see a variety of marine life. We have dolphins that visit our bay occasionally. There are many little "lagoons" you may anchor in and swim around in within boating distance, everything is accessible by boat only in this area. We have a peddle boat available for our volunteers to use. You may also visit our other small islands and hike around or spend the day in nature.

    There are several local "mini mart" stores nearby, which have all basic necessities. The prices are reasonable and can be reached in the peddle boat.

    Bocastown, on Isla Colon, is approximately 15 miles via fairly protected ocean. You are welcome to go anytime we go.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    25 hours a week, maximum

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (4.5)

Intercambio cultural: (4.0)

Comunicación: (4.0)












Número de referencia de anfitrión: 131535399173