actualizado  

Join our family and experience life in the Amazon, Iquitos, Peru

  • 481 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 15 jul 2024

DISPONIBILIDAD

  2024 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos un mes

E
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalles

  • Descripción

    Descripción

    *UPDATE*
    ✨We are seeking another housesitter for the month of September till mid October ✨

    ✨As of 2025 applicants who are willing to stay at least 2 or 3 months are more likely to be accepted ✨

    Greetings,

    We are a young family of 5 (three humans 2 dogs). We live off grid in the middle of the northern Peruvian Amazon on the lower Amazon basin in a small village called Santa Maria Del Ojeal. We are an hours boat ride from the city of Iquitos down the Amazon river then a half hour walk from the village to our land. We live a simple and healthy life surrounded by thriving precious mother nature, listening and learning from her everyday. We are in the process of setting up a place of learning, of healing, growing and of true connection. We have been living on this land for one year now and have built a few houses with the intention of expanding to have the possibility to host travellers, families, volunteers and groups of people who want to experience this alternative way of life and reconnect with themselves and nature. Facilitating healing and change, while equipping individuals with the correct tools they need to positively influence their lives and those of their local communities. Creating the small yet gigantic ripples the global collective needs in order to live in a more harmonious way on this planet . Whether that be through planting trees, working the land, planting and harvesting food and medicine, preparing medicine, experiencing ancestral medicine ceremonies, exploring the jungle and it's mysteries, diving into different holistic and spiritual practices of yoga, meditation and breath work or just breathing the pure clean air of the forest and immersing yourself in the symphony of sounds present at every moment. We like to live in community and share and exchange our knowledge and skills with each other co creating a healthy environment where we can all learn and grow together with our surrounding Pachamama.

    We have a close connection with our local village and like to support and exchange wherever possible offering classes and fun activities for the kids (and adults) and sharing and exchanging medicinal and nutritional knowledge on a regular basis.

    The jungle is magical, powerful, beautiful, inspiring, calming but it's not easy. The conditions are extreme. We are in one of the most humid and wet places on earth. The daytime temperature throughout the year rarely drops below 25c (77f) and reaches up to 40c (104f) in the dry season (nighttime can actually be pretty chilly sometimes especially when it rains). For those who can't stand heat, insects and mosquitos this may not be the place for you (unless your coming to overcome this fear!). Working the land in these conditions can be tough but we work around it by starting early and resting under the thatched leaf roofs staying out of the sun. We wear appropriate long sleeve and resistant clothes for the mosquitos and learn which times they are most active to avoid them. We work with nature not against her. This opportunity is not for the faint hearted and requires a certain level of courage and determination to really get involved and enjoy yourself. It takes a little time to get used to everything but so far everyone does. One must be open and patient to change and to tune into the natural rhythm of life where we don't live by the clock nor by deadlines. We live a free life and once you tune into this timeless and peaceful rhythm you will truly feel the beautiful connection of nature. This opportunity will most definitely push you out of your comfort zone and will perhaps test you in ways you have not been tested. This enriching experience will show you sides of yourself you may not have known before skills which have been dormant might be awoken. If your up for the challenge send us a message!

    We intend on having volunteers year round and paid guests coming to stay short and medium term with some group retreats throughout the year. Our project focuses on educating, awakening, holistic healing, conserving and preserving and many other things!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Trabajo de caridad
    Proyectos artísticos
    Práctica de idiomas
    Ayuda en proyectos ecológicos
    Compañía para ancianos
    Enseñanza
    Jardinería
    Construcción y bricolaje
    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda en una granja
    Cuidado de niños y juegos creativos
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica
    Hostelería/turismo
    Mantenimiento general
  • Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de sostenibilidad de las NU que intenta conseguir este anfitrión

    Objetivos de las NU
    Fin de la pobreza
    Hambre cero
    Salud y bienestar
    Educación de calidad
    Igualdad de género
    Agua limpia y saneamiento
    Energía asequible y no contaminante
    Trabajo decente y crecimiento económico
    Industria, innovación e infraestructura
    Reducción de las desigualdades
    Ciudades y comunidades sostenibles
    Producción y consumo responsables
    Acción por el clima
    Vida submarina
    Vida de ecosistemas terrestres
    Paz, justicia e instituciones sólidas
    Alianzas para lograr los objetivos
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We live in a humble and traditional Amazon village with a mix of people from all over Peru and jungle, some indigenous, mestizo (mixed) and some mountain. Its an interesting mix of knowledge and traditions and there is so much to learn about jungle living, farming and survival. There are many friendly people in the village who are happy to share and exchange stories and knowledge. The local language is Spanish we speak both english and spanish at home. So there is a language learning opportunity as well as a beautiful cultural exchange. We are interested in all yogic practices, jungle medicines, permaculture, herbalism, arts and crafts, music and a holistic way of living we love these things so much we are happy to share them all with you.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We need constant help on the farm and garden, with construction and maintenance happening alot right now. There is a large array of different and varied tasks to be getting on with and no day is ever the same, you will never be bored! We work around the moon cycles for planting and harvesting and don't really work in the harsh conditions (heavy rain, or too hot). There will always be opportunities for creative work and we are open to peoples ideas for projects! We are humble and open minded, and very new to this off grid living so we are very appreciative of ideas and help. We have dogs who need looking after and a new born baby so helping around the house is also a great help! Gardening, building and art skills are very welcome. As well as teaching skills to host classes in the local village. All of the tasks are going to be a little more extreme than you're probably used to but overcoming difficult conditions and terrain makes us oh so stronger and is very satisfying! Volunteers who are independent, patient and have good initiative and who are good at receiving guidance and than just getting on with things are the kind of volunteers we are looking for!

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido
    Español: Fluido
    Portugués: Fluido
    Francés: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a couple of different spaces for just volunteers to sleep, some private and some shared. We are also in the process of building a larger yoga hall where there will be space to sleep also. We have recently begun our farm so our trees are still young but we do have some veggies growing which we incorporate into our meals. We do weekly trips to the city to grab supplies we need and we will all be sharing food costs between the group we are at the time

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    In your spare time you can walk and explore, relax, read, write, play music, go fishing, canoeing (depending on season). We offer different plant medicines ceremonies and plant dietas and different workshops and classes on a range of different areas for you to enjoy and explore. The village is 30 mins walk and there are sports games (volley and soccer) most days, there are some stores also. The city is an hour and a half by boat and theres some sights to see there and nice restaurants and shops (although we much prefer being in the jungle than the city).

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    We have dogs, we like dogs.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week - very flexible will vary

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 127131711127

Comentarios (10)



Comentarios

Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)














Help at an art academy for children and young people in Quillabamban, Peru
Help at our place and learn about real Peruvian lifestyle enjoying a beautiful view of Machu Picchu, Peru