Help me to renovate and maintain an old country cottage near Antsla linn, Estonia

Country

Estonia

23 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    -

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    25/10/2020

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    62.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 16 dias

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    Hello everyone. Im new to workawaying. After 22 years of world travel, my 16 yo daughter and me have returned to our roots. Its magical. Couple of years ago, I bought this old country cottage with 5 hectares of land and am now trying to renovate it, little by little, with small means. This summer we had a little Rainbow gathering here on our land and it gave me hope and energy to really start breathing the new life into this place.
    I have couple of projects going on right now, starting our new life here in Estonia. I would appreciate any help with the house, renovating, chopping wood, pruning apple trees, help collecting rubbish from the surroundings, oak tree planting, or just help with being here and enjoying the peace and quiet of the place. I know all about traveling around the world, but am quite new to building and gardening etc. But feeling excited about it. Been discovering my new talents as a painter, mason, old furniture renovator, tree planter etc. It's fun and feels like a good thing to be doing.

    We are 8 minute walk from the road (very good hitch-hiking spot) and 7km from closest town called Antsla, for shopping and all you need - 7 minute drive away.

    I have time to be in the cottage for 1 day in a week, these days, being a school - mum. We live in a town called Tartu (1h 15 min drive). So I have to apologise for not being able to entertain you much and offer you much of a cultural experience.
    So I guess our place would suit an independent traveller who is not scared of our wild conditions and appreciates the peaceful rugged magic we have here. On the upside - this means that Im also a host who is not expecting you to work certain amount of hours in a day and watches your every move, so you have lots of freedom and time in your hands and you are welcome to chill and enjoy yourself and follow your inspiration. I am very grateful for any help. Once we get the bathroom and the kitchen happening, (hopefully soon!) the life in the cottage will be much more cosy.
    Estonian boy called Eku is also currently residing in the property . He likes meditating and is a lovely hippie.
    These days, I have time to drive to the cottage about once a week, may be on Friday or Saturday.. So if you manage to get to Tartu, then I can drive you to the cottage. Traveling away from the cottage is very easy by hitch hike or by bus. Cottage is near the Kauksi bus stop (Võru county), I think there are 2 buses a day. From the nearby town Antsla - you will find the buses to everywhere else.
    Looking forward to meet the worlds travellers!

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Jardinería
    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Ayuda doméstica
    Proyectos artísticos

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    In the weekdays, I will most often be in town of Tartu, where my daughter goes to school. So I may not spend much time at the cottage to entertain you. Hoping to welcome more workawayers, so your life would be more fun together in our country cottage. The area is lovely. Karula National Park is just 15 minute drive away and theres a close knit community there, lots of artists, musicians, sheep growers and other lovely people. Real authentic Estonian country life happening. And MAGICAL wild forests.

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I would not expect you to help a certain hours a day. Any help with the house or surroundings would be appreciated - building / renovating/ brain storming / maintenance or beautifying etc.
    There are no set ways , how its all going to work. We will make it all up as we dance along the path of least resistance and most fun.
    One is for sure: this corner of the world is special and you are welcome.

  • Idiomas hablados

    German: Fluido
    English: Fluido
    Spanish: Fluido
    Estonian: Fluido
    Finnish: Intermedio
    French: Intermedio
    Russian: Intermedio
    Japanese: Principiante
    Swedish: Principiante

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Its very much a work in progress right now. There is a outside compost toilet and well with good drinking water (it tastes a bit of iron, as it tends to do in South Estonia) where you can throw buckets of water on yourself. Or warm some water in the big pots on the wood stove and there is a little bath tub where your could wash yourself. Or jump in the neighbours pond, 7 minute walk away. Our indoor bathroom - toilet are in the midst of construction right now.
    There are 3 rooms, with 4 single beds right now. Plus a sofa for sleeping. If needed, more mattresses can be organised.
    The conditions are quite wild right now, but this way it is even more fun to see the creation happening through your own hands and to watch everything grow and unfold.
    Right now there is option to cook on wood fire stove, or there is also one electric plate. theres sandwich press, toaster, water kettle and good internet connection.
    As you are not expected to work any set number of hours - could you perhaps be responsible for your own food?

    Right now, (I am writing this 18. September 2020), the wood fire stove and heating system in the house is being renovated, little by little, by a local man, a father of 10 kids. So these couple of weeks, the only possibility to cook - is an electric hot plate/ or cooking on the fire outside. And for heating the house - there is an electric heater.(Any help is welcomed for stove renovations - this way it would be finished sooner!)

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    exploring the neighbourhood, fall in love with the forests and lakes, getting to know some real estonian people

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    Puede acoger a nómadas digitales

    We have good internet connection in the cottage. Wifi.

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Any space of van / bus can be camped on the land

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Yes, we can accept pets, if they are willing to be friendly with our house cat Paula

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    any help is welcomed - max 25 hours

Our lake
The House
Fixing the Sauna
Picturesque toilet amongst the trees
Paula the Cat
Learning to fix the wall
Número de referencia de anfitrión: 118557522647