Se voluntario en Queensland , Australia

Country

Australia

actualizado  

498 “me gusta”


  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    49  

  • last activity

    Última actividad

    07/10/2019

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

    ≤ 2 dias

  • Medallas

    Top Host
Contacto Registro
  2019 

 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    * If you are messaging us, please make sure you give us your preferred approximate dates - and read the ad carefully - we DON'T take single fellows*

    We are Barb and Dave and we live in wildlife country just north of Toowoomba and we have just a few horses. We are looking for a girl or couple of girls to help out. We would consider anyone (male or female) who is a qualified or experienced house painter :-))

    I have two horses, one of which I compete in dressage to medium level (flying change, half pass, collected work etc, not sure what level that is in Europe), and am babysitting a gorgeous little Morgan horse who is very quiet for my backpackers to ride. This means that if you are a good rider, you can come out with me riding or if you are two friends you can take the horses out trail riding together. I will be competing one or two weekends a month from September-November but a break over summer until March/April.

    The main jobs you will do will be some cleaning (We have a regular cleaner), gardening and help me with some of the bigger jobs outside and with the horses - the Morgan horse will need some ground training as well as lots of riding. I also need help scanning a heap of old photos and sorting them out - a time consuming job that I haven't been able to get started on. If you are a painter, all of our window frames and sills need repainting even thought the house is only eight years old. Our dog Dig can run all day and would love a running or bike riding partner too!

    You will have your own room and usually your own bathroom, depending on what's happening when you come. You will help about 25 hours a week, and we are flexible about when you do this - so if you have your own car, you can take off for a few days at a time to explore the area. If you don't have your own transport, we will make sure you get around to explore the area and Toowoomba and our great street art trail. Toowoomba is also known for its gardens with Carnival,of Flowers in a few weeks, with a couple of rock concerts and lots of exhibitions from art to teapots ( and flowers, lots of flowers). We are happy to take you out on day trips too, and I am often trekking off somewhere interesting to do horse stuff (competitions, to my coaches etc).

    You can fly to Toowoomba from Melbourne or Sydney, or travel by bus from Brisbane, and we will pick you up from Toowoomba. We are an absolutely no smoking family. We are pretty easy going, and LOVE travellers that have lots of commonsense :-)) We have a dog and a cat that live inside, so it's a really great place if you are missing your dog or cat at home.

    A couple of friends together is fine - it can be very quiet and it's always more fun to share with a friend as I work full time and am away three or four days a week at work. Dave works on an oil rig and might be home while you are staying, but usually away. No vegetarians or vegans please. Gluten free travellers are easy - my daugher is gluten intolerant and we are used to it. If you are a Drama Queen about spiders, insects and small creatures, probably best to stay in the city 😄.

    We can't sign visas 😒, but we do live near many places that offer farm work - lime, blueberry and avocado orchards and several packing sheds. Blueberry picking starts toward the end of the year and a neighbour periodically needs people to help look after his lime trees and mushrooms. We are happy for you to use our place as a base to look for work.

    We will be away from December 7-14, so won't take travellers over that week.

  • Tipo de ayuda

    Tipo de ayuda

    Jardinería
    Mantenimiento / bricolage
    Cocinar / compras
    Ayuda en casa
    Ayuda con animales
    Ayuda con idiomas

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We like to share special Australian food experiences (Tim Tams, lamingtons, pavlova, barbecues, lamb and kangaroo); our place is a haven for birdwatchers and people who love wildlife, with wallabies visiting most days, a diamond python (a good snake) living in the shed and kangaroos living just down the road. We will also teach you to do a Tim Tam Slam!

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    Cleaning stables three or four days a weekend helping a little with the horses
    Cleaning up kitchen and wiping down benches after breakfast and dinner.
    Vacuuming house once a week and checking/sweeping kitchen floor in between.
    Hanging out and gathering in washing.
    Preparation of the occasional meal.
    Helping us with the occasional bigger job such as clearing paddocks or fencing, painting, gardening, cleaning windows and walls, washing and cleaning out vehicles.
    Walk the dogs.
    Cleaning windows
    Weeding and other gardening

  • Idiomas hablados

    Idiomas hablados

    English

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    Own very large room in a new house with a comfortable queen size bed; wireless internet; own bathroom or share bathroom depending if we have other visitors staying.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There are lots of trails for mountain biking and walking (we have bikes), and plenty of wildlife to see. We occasionally go camping or take our travellers on day trips, and if we are doing something our travellers come with us, so you will learn a lot!

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    25 hours - Mainly house cleaning, but it depends on your skills. We are on bushfire cleanup the next few months, so plenty of outdoor stuff.. It's about four-five hours a day, not counting riding.































Número de referencia de anfitrión: 11298831694d