Experience Australian life and help out with renovations on our old Georgian ex pub and Music Studio in the town of Maitland, NSW.



13 “me gusta”

  • rating

    Evaluación del anfitrión

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última actividad



 Estancia mínima:  Al menos una semana

  • Descripción


    Hi we are are a couple aged 58 - 60. We operate a music studio doing recording, providing a rehearsal space and we do live sound for various venues and several bands we work with full time. Drama groups and large choirs also rehearse here.

    We live in an 1840's era 3 story Georgian brick building which used to be a hotel and is attached to the studio. It is in a semi-renovated state. There are a number of spare bedrooms and sitting rooms available in the building as well as a separate kitchen and bathroom. Accommodation would be upstairs and so anyone wanting to say would need to be able to handle steep stairs.

    We are located in the commercial area in the main street of Maitland which is a largish country town with a friendly community, walking distance to cafes, art gallery, live music venues, train station and buses. Our place is not too busy but often there is live music playing when rehearsals are on or we are working on a recording (not too early in the morning and not so late at night).

    We have a river nearby and kayaks available to borrow. Also can loan a push bike and helmet. Not very far to travel to see open spaces, popular hiking spots and half an hour drive or train and bus to the beach. Mountains and lakes are not much further away. We would be happy to take volunteers staying more than 2 weeks on the occasional day trip for hiking or to see sights or live music if wanted.

    We are vegetarian.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Proyectos de construcción y bricolaje
    Mantenimiento general
    Cocinar para toda la familia
    Ayuda doméstica

  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We would be delighted to have you practice your English and share your language and culture with us while we introduce you to our part of Australia.

    We live and work in a historic building (1845, historic by Australian standards) in a historic Australian town and we are interested in talking about the cultural history if visitors wanted to know more about this.

    Maitland, and nearby towns of Lorn, East Maitland and Morpeth all have interesting colonial heritage. Nearby transport means a visitor would find it very easy to get out and travel to nearby towns. A bike and helmet can be loaned to you and you can head off for some local adventures. There is a number of local bike trails in the area and maps available. We are happy to include visitors staying 2 weeks or more on occasional day-trips. Things move at a slower pace here than in Sydney and it is good for some time out from your travels.

    We have a friendly relationship with many of our music clients and a visitor would have the opportunity to meet others in the community. A musician would be likely to find plenty of interest here.
    The Regional Art gallery is almost next door and there are regular exhibitions. We have some beautiful brightly lit rooms that an artist might enjoy working in and there are a number of artists and galleries in the area.

    We are knowledgeable about Australian flora and have family who know a lot of hiking places. We are also into technology, social and environmental issues.

    A simple resume and/or a short chat on messenger would be a great way to get to know each other a bit more before taking each other on. It's a chance to get a feel for if we will work well together.

    If needed we can pick up on arrival and drop off on departure from the local train station (Maitland or High Street), or airport (Newcastle) and there is plenty of parking space available for those doing a road trip.
    It takes between 3 1/2 - 4 hours to travel up from the Sydney airport. We are half an hour from the city of Newcastle.

  • Ayuda


    We would love to host some efficient, energetic, creative and practical people to help with odd handy jobs around the place and/or basic housework and maybe gardening jobs.
    Handy work might include restoration of rooms and windows, moving furniture around, , sanding, painting, cleaning outside of the building. If someone was more skilled than this then we would be sure to find more for them to do if they wished.

    Housework jobs could include cooking, doing dishes, vacuuming floors, sorting and cleaning out of unused rooms and making them look presentable. Washing cars, washing windows. Moving light things upstairs and downstairs.

    Gardening jobs - not much of a garden here, mainly car park out back but some weeding, feeding and planting would be appreciated.

    We are not likely to expect anyone staying with us to work in the actual business but if this did happen then we would offer payment.

    We can discuss the areas you are experienced in or are interested in learning and helping us with.
    22 hours of volunteer work in exchange for accommodation, vegetarian food and WiFi.
    Cooking a couple of meals and helping clean up after evening meals are extra to the above.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    We live in an 1840's era 3 story Georgian brick building which used to be a hotel and is attached to the studio. It is in a semi-renovated state with some rooms still be worked on. There are a number of spare bedrooms and sitting rooms available in the building as well as a separate kitchen and bathroom.

    Accommodation would be upstairs and so anyone wanting to say would need to be able to handle steep stairs. It is not a luxurious place but we can offer you a private room with a comfortable double bed, clothes storage, fan/heater, sitting room and clean bathroom and toilet. Out the windows are views of the local historic buildings and out the door is the town of Maitland.

    Volunteers would be welcome to share the communal space or enjoy their own company.
    We can take 2-3 people at a time, and have 2 separate small rooms with double beds available.
    We would consider a small family but children would need to be over 12 due to the renovations in progress, steep stairs etc.

    As the building is attached to a working studio/rehearsal space there could be music playing between the hours of 11am and 10pm. This can be heard in some parts of the building more than others.

    This is a lacto-ovo VEGETARIAN house hold/kitchen. This means dairy and eggs are enjoyed.
    In addition to your volunteer week, it is hoped that you can cook a couple of meals to share your countries traditional flavour and taste secrets :).. if not we will give you support to try and follow a new vegetarian recipe for the first time. Helping with the dish washing up is also an extra for the evening/lunch meal if you are not cooking.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    There is a nearby artisan market every second month and plenty of local secondhand shops, cafes, pubs, art galleries and a repertory theatre and cinema. Train station and bus stop within easy walking distance. Vineyards, National Parks and beaches and lakes within 1/2 - 1 hour travel. River close by, happy to loan kayak.

    We are non smokers and would prefer that our visitors were also not smokers as access to outside areas to smoke is not easy.
    We are vegetarians who occasionally eat seafood, and would prefer that meat not be cooked in the building but do not require that anyone staying here be a vegetarian.
    We would like to be notified if a visitor was wanting to bring other people into the building. We consume alcohol but would appreciate that our visitors did not over indulge while staying here.

    We would really like travellers to feel welcome and comfortable to feel part of the family during their time with us. We don't watch a lot of television but enjoy watching Netflix and Stan occasionally and going to the local cinema if there's something good on. We are often doing sound for bands on Friday or Saturday or we might go out to a local event that's within walking distance. We have 6 children who occasionally visit, not usually all at once and so occasionally there might be others staying in the building. Our business customers do not usually access the top two floors of the building, these areas are considered private.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 111423996262