1 / 4

Help with gardening chores and enjoy rural life in Ballarat, Australia

  • 15 “me gusta”
  • Última actividad: 11 dic 2023



 Estancia mínima:  Sin mínimo



  • Descripción


    My husband and I live on outskirts of Ballarat, a large regional city approximately 1 hour's drive from Melbourne. We have 2 acres of garden, orchard and veggie patch. I am looking for willing workers to assist me in the maintenance of the garden. We have a small menagerie of 5 chooks and 1 dog and 2 miniature sheep. We are 6kms from the central railway station, and close to Sovereign Hill, the Ballarat Wildlife Park and other tourist attractions.

    The work in my garden is not arduous - weeding, pruning and general maintenance is all that is required. My husband is an amateur artisan brew who makes the most amazing brews, ranging from Belgian Lambics, American IPAs, sour beers and other interesting concoctions, and I am into fruit winemaking (using fruit sourced from my orchard and the surrounding countryside) and appreciate help in this area. Preserving the produce from our property is also something I'm interested in.

    We welcome visitors to our home and try to include people in our family activities. For those who would like to explore the local region, we have a couple of bikes which you are welcome to borrow.

  • Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Tipos de ayuda y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Cuidado de animales
    Ayuda doméstica
  • Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    Intercambio cultural y oportunidades de aprendizaje

    We live in Ballarat, the regional capital of the Central Victorian Goldfields. Ballarat has a rich history of gold mining stretching back to 1853. It was once one of the wealthiest cities in the world with the amount of gold that was being produced. Today it is a vibrant city of 120,000. Sovereign Hill, one of the premier tourist attractions in Victoria is 2 kms away and definitely worth a visit. The Ballarat Wildlife Park is also close by, and offers opportunities for visitors to feed the wildlife (particularly wallabies and kangaroos). The city centre has many beautiful buildings that are worth viewing and we have a lovely Art Gallery, not to mention Lake Wendouree and our beautiful Botanical Gardens . There are plenty of entertainment venues in the city centre for those who want to explore the nightlife of the city.

  • Proyectos con niños

    Proyectos con niños

    En este proyecto podría haber niños. Para obtener más información, consulta nuestras directrices y consejos aquí.

  • Ayuda


    Assisting me in my garden is what I'm most interested in having people come and stay. Weeding, pruning (roses, fruit trees and perennial plants), mulching and general maintenance are the most likely tasks. There may be opportunities of helping build wicking beds and other raised garden beds in my vegetable garden, or planting native plants in my 'wilderness' area.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Inglés: Fluido

  • Alojamiento


    We have 3 double bedrooms with a shared bathroom and separate toilet.

    We would provide 3 meals a day and welcome our visitors to eat with us.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We are located 6km from the centre of Ballarat. We can lend you bikes if you don't have a car, or can arrange to drop you off somewhere if you wish to explore the region. There is also a bus 1km away which takes you into the city centre. We are approximately 30 minutes drive from Daylesford which is the Spa Capital of Australia. There are many lovely walks in the state forests surrounding us, and there are several rail trails for those interested in cycling. Ballarat is on the edge of the wine regions of the Pyrenees and Avoca (approximately 45 minutes from our place), for those who might like to do wine tasting tours while they are here.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Acceso a Internet

    • Acceso a Internet limitado

      Acceso a Internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

    • Puede alojar familias

  • Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Espacio para aparcar autocaravanas

    Este anfitrión puede proporcionar un sitio para autocaravanas.

  • Podría aceptar mascotas

    Podría aceptar mascotas

    Friendly dogs are welcome.

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puedes hospedar?

    Más de dos

  • ...

    Horas esperadas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Número de referencia de anfitrión: 281693823259

Comentarios (2)



Son opciones de calificación adicionales para cuando los miembros dejan sus comentarios. Se muestra la calificación media dejada en cada opción.

Precisión del perfil: (5.0)

Intercambio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicación: (5.0)