Visit us and lend a hand in the garden in the beautiful countryside of Lower Normandy, France ... please :)

Favourited 42 times

  • rating

    Evaluación de anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    11  

  • last activity

    Ultima actividad

    04/10/2017

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

      1 dia

Contact Register

2017

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    My husband (Keith) and I (Helen ... Aitch) have lived permanently in France since September 2004. We live in an 'ex dairy farm' house and have over a hectare of land including a little woodland that runs down to the river. The house has a history dating back to the Revolution in the late 1700's and is in the heart of rural Normandy. Most of the land is used for our pet animals (mostly rescued), 4 sheep, 2 geese, 6 ducks, 2 donkeys and 5 chickens. We have tortoise, 3 house dogs, 5 'garage' cats, 2 outside cats. I am vegetarian, my husband is a meat eater. We teach English to foreign students during the school holidays ... ages range from 11 to 60 and they stay with us for a couple of days up to 6 weeks. I am interested in art (and have a studio), photography, animals, nature. My husband shares my interest in nature and animals and also plays badminton. We go swimming. There are lots of sites of interest to visit and we are about 3/4 hour from the beautiful beaches near Granville. We are also close to WWII 'beaches' and other WWII sites of interest, Mont St. Michel, Fosse Arthur, Domfront (Medieval Castle), Nature Park at St. Hilaire du Harcouet and throughout the year there are music festivals and gigs. We are on the borders of Brittany and Pays de la Loire. We have WiFi, Wii, Playstation, Pool table, Table Tennis, Gym (with treadmill, rowing machine, multi-gym and more), English and French TV. The bedroom can either be a single or twin and it has it's own shower/toilet/wash-hand basin. There is a golf course nearby, fishing, horse riding along the golden beaches overlooking Mont St. Michel, Karting at Mortain, Multi Swimming Pool at Vire, Cinema (England and/or French).
    I belong to a (mainly English) group who walk dogs at a French run local dog/cat refuge, on a weekly basis. Keith is a volunteer for the Croix Rouge (Red Cross) and often goes to events and disasters helping people in distress.
    We enjoy board games and sitting round the dinner table talking and debating a variety of subjects.

  • Tipo de ayuda.

    Tipo de ayuda.

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Mantenimiento Bricolage
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en casa
    Ayuda con animales
    Ayuda de caridad

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    I have a hedge worth of dog wood cuttings I need to plant in an area that needs a pick-axe.
    I have brambles that need to be gone. So ... lots of work in the garden.
    My husband needs help clearing outside and trimming trees.
    We have a farm with over 30 rescued animals, so it is difficult to actually say what is needed. We have to feed, water and muck out the animals on a daily basis. We have general maintenance of the house and barns. Each day is different and has it's own problems and solutions. It keeps us on our toes and is never boring.
    Keith is the chef and he will provide 3 good meals a day with plenty of tea breaks for a good days work. :D

  • Idiomas hablados

    Idiomas hablados

    French, English

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    We have a spare bedroom (can be a single or twin) with it's own shower/wash basin/toilet. We have French and English television (in different rooms), Wifi, Wii, PS3, pool table, table tennis, etc. I have an art studio and belong to an art group in the Mayenne. We have a very well equiped gym.
    We also have enough space if you'd prefer to camp out in the woodland or if you'd like to bring a caravan or motor home.
    We have recently acquired a small 'cabin' under an open barn, which is very basic (porta-loo for example) and the amenities are sparse but gives privacy and seclusion should you prefer. You'd have use of the house shower. Meals would be take with us but nights would be spent in the 'cabin' should you chose that option. This is available from the end of August and I will be posting pictures shortly.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    We live in a beautiful part of Lower Normandy and are just on the borders of Brittany and Pays de la Loire. The beaches are about 1/2 hour away. The 2 local towns are both about 6 km. The nearest big city (CAEN) is approximately 90 minutes drive. Badminton, swimming, tennis are all available locally. There is a lovely 3 km 'round' walk from the house. If you are interested in recent history (WWII for example) you will find a lot of places of interest nearby and further afield. We love playing cards, board games etc. of an evening.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Aceso a internet

    • Aceso a internet limitado

      Aceso a internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puede usted acudir?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puede usted acudir?

    Dos

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    We live in an amazing historic property (late 1700's) in the heart of rural France. The area is full of beautiful and interesting places to visit and we enjoy exploring the surroundings ... it would be nice to share the experiences with others.

  • ...

    Hours expected

    25 hours maximum

Our home

Mont St Michel ... France's most popular tourist attraction.
The locals
Abundant wildlife
Enjoy beautiful sunsets
Relax in the lounge
Anyone for chess?
Long afternoons and evenings around the kitchen table.
Some of our sheep with one of my French students (learning English).
Our house ... at the time of the French revolution (late 1700's) it was a coaching inn. When we bought it, it had been a dairy farm.
Summer ... Laval
Kitchen ... Keith's domain. :D
This would be your bedroom. Twin or single.
Our house ... at the time of the French revolution (late 1700's) it was a coaching inn. When we bought it, it had been a dairy farm.






Número de referencia de anfitrión: 579427248694