Help us and share our slow journey of going off-grid, and learning to become more self sustainable in the Kalahari desert, South Africa

updated

Favourited 152 times

  • rating

    Evaluación de anfitrión

  • feedbacks

    Comentarios

    15  

  • last activity

    Ultima actividad

    22/02/2018

  • facebook friends

    Numero de amigos de Facebook.

    237

  • Last email replied

    Porcentaje de respuesta

    96.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Responde en:

      2 dias

  • Badges

    Super Host
    Explorer
    Facebook verified
Contact Register

2018

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descripción

    Descripción

    We live on a farm in the remote area of the Kalahari desert, no cars or people bother us here. It is only Suzanne (28 years) and myself (27 Years) and some cows, birds, tortoises and other wild animals on the farm. We are very relaxed and have traveled our selfs for 3 months in the UK recently, and we also did some workaway work in Ireland on a horse farm. We enjoy the company of other people. Suzanne loves art and I love working outside with my hands, doing gardening, building, and more.

  • Tipo de ayuda.

    Tipo de ayuda.

    Jardinería
    Construcción
    Cocinar / compras
    Mantenimiento Bricolage
    Ayuda en una granja
    Ayuda en casa
    Ayuda con animales
    Projecto artístico
    Ayudar con Computadoras /Internet

  • Ayuda

    Ayuda

    We are slowly busy renovating the farmhouse and building a vegetable garden. We will need help with cleaning, painting, art projects, taking out weeds, fencing, plan a solar electricity system and energy-saving systems, plumbing, occasionally helping with guests at my parents' lodge (about 20km from our house), cleaning the farm dam (it gets green very quickly), helping with general tasks around the house like cleaning, cooking and doing dishes. We are in the slow process of becoming self-sustainable and would love to share this journey with other people.

    We live approximately 170 km from Kuruman and Kathu which are the nearest towns. Because we live far from town, shopping is kept to a limit. We have a big(ish) pantry, but you need to know that if we run out of a certain item, it will not be quickly replaced. If you know you love a lot of "peanut butter" for example we suggest you stock up on some before you arrive. We would love to have lots and lots of fancy food, but at this stage, we can not always afford exclusive items. That's part of our journey, trying to build ourselves up in the Kalahari.

  • Idiomas hablados

    Idiomas hablados

    Afrikaans, English

  • Alojamiento

    Alojamiento

    You would have your own bedroom, if more workawayers are on the farmstead you may be required to share a bathroom.
    We have a lot of entertainment available in the sense of activities: Pool table, table tennis, darts, board games, books for reading, an outdoor gym and of course peaceful walks and beautiful nature scenes. All of this can be enjoyed after hours.

  • Algo más...

    Algo más...

    The closest big(-ish) town to us is Kathu. Most hired cars aren’t able to reach our farm, only 4x4’s. For that reason we suggest you make use of one of the following ways of transport:
    • The bus service, Inter Cape, to Kathu from almost any major city in SA
    • Flights to Tswalu Private Nature Reserve from Cape Town International Airport or O.R. Tambo International Airport (see the link provided for contact details to book a flight :️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️flights )
    • Rent a car and drive to Kathu.
    • Flights to Sishen airport (near Kathu). Very small airport. Visit the following website to see available flights .
    We will then arrange to meet you at one of these destinations to pick you up and drive you the rest of the way.

    There is horses, quad bikes, jacuzzi, and bakkie-ski on my parents' farm we can arrange to enjoy on weekends.


    Internet: Please note we do have a cap on our internet data at this stage and our internet is for our work. You will not have access to unlimited internet, only access on specific times to read emails and do bookings online for your trip. We suggest you buy an MTN pay-as-you-go sim card, as most remote areas in South Africa do have MTN signal. To register a sim card on the South African networks, your passport and proof of residency (rental agreement) are required.

  • Un poco más de información

    Un poco más de información

    • Aceso a internet

    • Aceso a internet limitado

      Aceso a internet limitado

    • Tenemos animales

    • Somos fumadores

  • ¿Cuántos voluntarios puede usted acudir?

    ¿Cuántos voluntarios puede usted acudir?

    más de dos

  • Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    Cultural exchange and learning opportunities

    In the Kalahari you learn how to appreciate the small things in life. You learn how a community works together to help each other in a very harsh part of the country. You will also learn that, even though we are quite remote, we still have most of the luxuries of living in a city.

  • ...

    Hours expected

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

My Photo Album










Número de referencia de anfitrión: 495567141593