Join our international family living " a vida do campo" near Oleiros, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Favorito 33 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    18/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    90.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 3 dias

  • Medalhas

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 mês

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Our family is made up of Nora, born in Portugal (around 2 years old)
    Oliver born in England and in his mid 30's.
    Madelon born in Holland and also rocking the mid 30's age range.
    We love to spend a lot of time in nature, hiking, camping, going on long road trips and taking small adventures exploring Portugal.
    We are interested in gardening and using the garden produce to create delicious meals and also growing food to preserve.
    We have chickens for eggs and a cat for cuddles.
    We spend a lot of time cooking and creating food and drinks.
    We love reading books for all ages and spending an evening watching a film.
    We like to combine a working week with family Saturday activities, such as going for a swim in the river, hiking on a local trail or going to a market.
    We also help to run the children's area at a local market, for one weekend a month we prepare and create this area at the market.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We are looking for someone to join our family in a cultural exchange.
    We wish for you to bring your unique experience of life and share with us openheartedly.
    In return we welcome you into our home and share our culture with you in an open and honest way.

    You can learn all about toddlers and family life in a small village in Central Portugal. This could defiantly expand your knowledge about connecting to nature with children and we are very open to co-creating these experiences together, learning as we go. We love to learn about each stage of a childs development and are very open to discussion and sharing our experience of parenting.

    Your gut will benefit from the cultural exchange of all those micro organisms in the fermented foods and drinks. You will learn some techniques to preserve food. You will learn about growing food in central Portugal. You will learn to experiment and create, to research and try new techniques.

    We wish to create space for you to also explore daily practices to connect to yourself, there are many books and techniques to share. Most importantly our culture is one of mindful living and self development, you can learn more about yourself through this cultural exchange. This could include meditation techniques and practices or just sitting down and chatting over a cup of tea, learning is a part of all that we do in our family life.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We are looking for a person who has the mindset of being a guide for our daughter, explaining the world in a way she can understand. To be her companion, demonstrating what living a life connected to nature looks like.

    We would love for you to bring your own experience and special skills to share with us and our daughter. Such as music making, arts and crafts creating, cooking or anything else that you would love to share.

    Each day we would be cooking together the daily meals using garden produce, local fruits, veggies from our neighbours and whole foods we buy in bulk . Sharing jobs such as harvesting and preparing garden veggies and cleaning up after all this cooking and veggie preparing.

    We are big into preserving food by fermenting/pickling/creating sauces/brining and many other techniques in the big book of preserving. We regularly make kombucha, yogurt and ginger beer. Mead is our alcoholic beverage of choice to produce and we are experimenting with liquors and non alcoholic syrups. Essentially any big pile of veggies or fruits we have from our own garden or the neighbours we like to transform into something tasty, always looking to learn and experimenting with new techniques.
    As you can imagine this can be quite a lot of work, so an extra pair of hands to watch Nora or prepare the latest preserves is what we ask of you. Also there is a chance here for you to experiment and use this experience to explore any or all of the techniques of preserving and transforming veggies and fruits.

    An ideal place to learn Portugese and the culture of central portugal is interacting with our Portugese neighbours in the village. We love to spend time with them at their gardens. This interaction with our neighbours is an activity that happens regularly throughout the week and often involves helping them physically, lifting buckets of veggies or assisting them with a seasonal task. We also spend time drinking a coffee and talking over what they are doing in the garden.

    Each day we spend at least one hour in the garden. The tasks depend on the season and project that is on the go at the moment. For example we may be planting/harvesting/preparing beds. We also like to create new spaces in the garden and reshape the existing lanscape to add new areas for growing and planting. This is a great place to learn about growing veggies in central Portugal or experiment with new rechniques of growing and share your knowledge. We see the garden as a gift and a place to create.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Holandês: Fluente
    Português: Iniciante

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    The accommodation is in a separate part of the house above our own living space, accessible by stairs outside of the house. It includes a bedroom with a double bed, living room with a space for practice and chilling chairs, the bathroom has a toilet and sink. Shower is avaliable for you to use on the ground floor.
    We wish to provide you with your own space to have privacy in your free time.
    The style is rustic Portuguese, with simple white washed walls, wooden floors and single glass windows.
    A fan is provided for the heat and extra blankets for the cool evenings.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are located near the town of Oleiros, in between Sertã and Castelo Branco.
    The village that we live in has no public transport, you can often get a ride with one of our neighbours or use our bike to get around. We regularly go to the City of Coimbra and you are always welcome to join us, it is easy to get to Porto or Lisbon by bus departing from the local town. With your free time you can explore the endless paths in the forest surrounding the village, either on a hike or by bike.
    Near to the house there are small rivers to take a cold dip and a larger river nearby with lots of lovely swimming spots. There are many marked hiking trails in the area and we often go for day hikes which your welcome to join us on. Saturdays there is a market that we often go to, it is a great place for connecting with other people living in the area. Every second Saturday of the month there is a cinema night an hours drive away, this is a great place for spending some time getting to know other Europeans living in the area and listening to there stories of why they chose to live in Central Portugal.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Este anfitrião indicou que adora hospedar nômades digitais.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 995439345419