Help building our eco straw-bale house or cooking, while exploring beautiful surroundings in Kosice, Slovakia

  • Eslováquia
  • Favorito 12 vezes
  • Última atividade: 12 ago. 2023



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana



  • Descrição


    Hi, we are Elena and Rene from Kosice - Slovakia. We are building small eco straw-bale house near village Kysak, in green garden with beautiful surroundings with forests and river... It is an eco project, all made out of natural materials. This summer we would like to welcome workawayers interested in eco-building, working with wood, straw, clay, etc. or those who would like to cook for all. I used to travel a lot around the world by working as a volunteer or couchsurfing, so I know this way of traveling has much bigger value. We are happy to show you the country and offer the support here and this way give something back to community.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    You can learn a lot about aco-building, eco-materials, straw-bale constructions, wood-work, clay and tiles stoves etc. We would like to organize two-three workshops with proffesionals (also for more people) - to learn how work with straw-bales, clay and stoves. We are happy to share time with you, shoving you the surroundings, giving you tips for free-time.

  • Ajuda


    There are two options what could you do - either help with building or cooking for 6 people and you. And some small things around the house.

    Building the house is demanding manual work, requiring some physical strength. You don't have to be a professional, we can instructe you. But yes, also proffesionals are very welcome :) The wooden construction and the roof is already done. Also the earthworks, pipes etc.

    In July we will put shiny-new straw-bales into construction. One bale has approx. 12 kilos. Small holes need to be filled with straw and pressed as much as it goes :) Than in August we will prepare clay and put it onto walls in 2 layers. We might also build a brick partition wall inside - using the clay. In september master stove technitian will build a beautiful accumulation stove from up-cycled tiles and clay - with our help. We will upcycle old tiles as well. From northern sites (NW, NE) we will put on vapour-permeable foil and ventilated wooden fasade. From the southern site, we will install wooden terrace boards and oil it. There are many small things to do around :) Cooking meals for the whole team might be included in your "working" time :) - If you like cooking... :) Sometimes I prepare vegetarian food for all. You will be provided meals 3 x a day. Work is flexible, up to an agreement... so everybody is happy and enjoys life. We are looking for responsible and friendly people, who can manage their time, communicate well and work by themselves.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Slovak: Fluente
    Alemão: Intermediário

  • Acomodação


    You will sleep in a simple garden house with electricity and a gas-cooker. There are 3 beds with bed-sheets, table, sink with water from a tank, a bit slow internet. There is running drinking water outside. Camping shower outside. Toilet is one for the whole garden (also us - family). We stay in the second garden house, just text to you. We work in the city, so sometimes you have to manage your time and work by yourself. We are non-smokers and don't have pets. Bringing a pet with you is up to an agreement. You will be provided meals 3 x a day. You can buy food by yourself or we can buy it for you, it is up to you. You can go with us into the city by car, if you like / Or we can also lend you bicycles. I cook mostly vegetarian food.
    Everything is about communication, there is no wrong question, only the one, which wasen't asked :)

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We can lend you bikes. The nearest train station and small shop is 3km away. Inter city trains - 5 km away. The city Kosice is 23km, approx 20min. by train for 1 Eur. There is nice river to swim in - we can also lend you a kayak or kanoe. Few minutes by train - there is beautiful dam/lake, you can rent kanoes and explore the place... go hiking or cycling... for climbers - there are some spots around here. City Kosice has beautiful downtown, hosts a lot of culture events, art cinema and festivals, and there are grait enduro-trails around. I work as an artist and graphic designer, so I can show you local culture scene.
    National park High Tatras is only 1.5 hour away - with beautifuuul hiking options. There are many nature-reserves around.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    If you would like to come in as a digital nomad, we would have to arrange better internet connection. It will be up to an agreement - what do you need / etc.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    There is a space / grass near the garden house. No problem.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Please, contact us if you have a pet - we can agree on having some pets here :)

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4-5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 926834574648


Join our small Polish-Slovak family and help with gardening and daily life in Latky, Slovak Republic
Neo-Permaculture in Cervenany, Slovakia