Help on our non-profit community project in Carson, WA, USA

Country

EUA

Favorito 7 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

    -

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    10/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 6 dias

  • Medalhas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: 1 semana ou menos

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are group of five who are co-creating community, learning about our local ecology, and deepening our connection together. We live in a beautiful mountain valley, on the edge of a large national forest. Our vision is of a non-profit collaborative learning center that provides opportunities for people to deepen their connection to the natural world, to discover and nurture their gifts, to learn about creating community and homesteading, and to become better allies. To this end, we have been developing permaculture projects including gardens, orchards, medicinal herb beds and berry patches, greywater and rainwater systems, natural building, composting and animal care. It's all in the early stages, and that's where you come in. There is much to do, much to share, and much to learn. Our project benefits immensely from outside energy (which we call "Breath"). Join us in building the dream. Experience a community setting and sit in on a sociocracy meeting. See our system for collaborating through community guilds. Get hands-on with experienced folks of different ages, genders, identities, and interests to learn diverse skills and perspectives. Live in a rustic forest setting and help us improve our work-trader accommodations and even add your own personal touches for future guests to appreciate.

    During your free time, relax on the land or go explore the wondrous Columbia River Gorge and Gifford Pinchot National Forest. Trails, waterfalls, lava beds, lakes, whitewater rivers, volcanoes, desert canyons and old growth forests await.

    Our community is a safe space and we welcome LGBTQ and BIPOC folks, people of all political views and religious affiliations, genders, backgrounds, ages, and abilities. Respect for others is of utmost importance to us, and all guests are expected to practice kindness, curiosity, patience, empathy, and tolerance; including for our more-than-human kin.

    We will be offering three separate one week immersion experiences over the summer/fall. One in late August, one in mid September, one in mid October. Please specify which of these three would be preferable to you when applying.

    We prefer one Workawayer at a time, but are open to a pair if you are a partnered couple traveling together or a duo who work well together and can help us offset additional accommodation concerns on our end. As well, because of the other animals that we share this space with, we will usually decline animals companions to avoid too many complications. We are open to other scenarios and guest configurations, and invite you to inquire if you have questions around this and we can discuss possibilities.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Types of help and learning opportunities:

    Trail work - building/maintenance
    Gardening/mulching/weeding/tree planting
    DIY and building projects - helping with work-trader infrastructure
    Beekeeping assistance—cleaning and fixing hives, tending bees
    General maintenance
    Berry picking, herb harvesting
    Cutting/hauling wood
    Designing/building compost system
    Digging and layering Hugelkultur beds
    English language practice

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Our ideal candidate has at least some of these interests and skills:

    Intentional communities and cooperative movements
    Alternative governance systems
    Permaculture knowledge/skills/experience
    Organized and can manage time independently
    Ability to work in collaboration with others on projects
    Natural building and carpentry skills
    Gardening and landscaping experience
    Familiarity and comfort living in off-grid settings
    Not afraid of or extremely allergic to bees
    Doesn't use "substances" excessively
    Experience with chain saw and other homesteading tools of the trade
    Resourceful use of repurposed materials

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Português: Intermediário
    Espanhol: Iniciante

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We offer a forested campsite (can provide simple tent, pad, and sleeping bag if you haven't got them) with a rustic outdoor kitchen (which includes basic utensils, plates, pots and pans, a gas cookstove, a small fridge, and some staple foods for your own cooking pursuits—ask if you would like to know ahead of time more specifically what we provide). During garden-season stays you will have access to the veggies in the garden. There is a simple covered hangout spot where one can stay dry and lounge in off-times. There is slow internet and limited electricity available in this space. We have a compost toilet we ask to be your primary toilet, but we also have an indoor toilet and shower that you will have access to. We will provide lunches all seven days and can accommodate some specific food needs/allergies (please check-in beforehand to make sure we can accommodate your needs). Breakfast and most dinners will be up to you. We will invite you to one or two group dinners with the community during the week. We may also have one or two other community activities happening (game/movie/story night, local hike, local river swim) during your stay, but those will be more random. There is a lovely creek a few minute walk from your campsite, which is cold, clear, and secluded.

    There are many local trails within a 15-20 minute drive. There are two small towns within a 15 minute drive and two medium sized towns within a half hour drive, and Portland is an hour drive away. We are generally not available to give rides but can accommodate a couple of short trips into the nearest towns for supplies. You may be able to hitch in with a community member to a bigger town or city, but it depends on who will be going where that week. It is, unfortunately, better for you to have your own car (or bike) unless you are cool with spending most of your week on our land. (We can pick up and drop off work-traders arriving/departing from Portland or Hood River).

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    While we provide a space for all to visit and participate at our homestead, for this particular position, we are seeking people who have certain capacities and attributes. We are hoping for folks who can: lift 20 or more pounds repeatedly, and upwards of 50 lbs on occasion; kneel, squat, and bend for prolonged periods; use hand and power tools with some proficiency; be able to work in various types of weather conditions, including hot sunny days and cool damp days; walk up and down stairs and climb a ladder to moderate heights; dig in the earth and work with manure and compost; be able to communicate clearly in English (though your english doesn't have to be perfect, we can work on that :)

    Hours Expected:

    We ask for a commitment of 20 hours of work over a seven day period. That's about 4 hours per day with two days off. We are flexible about how many hours per day are worked so one could work less hours per day for more days, or more hours per day for less days. Up to you.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have a limited amount of parking available, though a car or smaller campervan would have enough space.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    20 hours over 7 days


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 894164311291