Looking for a carpenter/builder, painter and a tech savvy person in Guanacaste, Costa Rica


Costa Rica

Favorito 190 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    50.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 27 dias

  • Medalhas


 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

  • Descrição


    Hello All,

    We are Joseph and Tamara and we look forward to finding some great people to help us in our new home while enjoying all of the beauty that Costa Rica has to offer. I, Joseph, have been infatuated with Costa Rica for about 15 years now. I have probably done thousands of hours of research on the country and would hope to be a good resource of information if that is something you desire. It took me over 10 years to finally make it down but when I did, Costa Rica did not disappoint. I hope to share whatever knowledge and joy that I can as this country has given it back tenfold.

    My partner Tamara is a Canadian citizen, originally from Toronto, and has worked as a teacher and equity coach for almost 15 years. I am a U.S. citizen, grew up near Miami, FL, and have worked in the hospitality industry for many years (My family owned pizzerias and I worked most of my younger years in the restaurant) but have been an insurance adjuster for the past 10ish years. Tamara eats mostly vegan while I occasionally eat meat, mostly chicken. We both are very health conscious and try to prepare meals in the same spirit. While in Costa Rica, we try to eat fruits that are grown on our land. We have mango, jocotes, nopales cactus, caimito, lime, papaya, orange, cashew and almond trees on the property. We both practice yoga, enjoy hiking, and riding bicycles. I, Joseph, love to surf, bodyboard, bodysurf, snorkel and swim. Tamara loves to dance. I am not as skilled :) We have both dealt with some health challenges over the past several years and hope for our home to be a place of healing and rejuvenation for us and anyone who stays here.

    Tamara and I both also love to travel. Tamara spent two years working abroad at an International School in Venezuela. She also spent one-year teaching in Colombia (where we met!). In 2017, I, Joseph, spent 6 months travelling through Chile, Argentina, Uruguay, and Colombia. In 2019, I spent 6 months traveling through Mexico, Guatemala, Nicaragua, and Costa Rica.

    We recently purchased a home in Junquillal, Costa Rica three blocks from the ocean. Situated in a charming beach community, Playa Junquillal has achieved the ecological blue flag award for being one of the cleanest beach communities in the entire country. This area is known for excellent fishing, snorkeling, swimming, stand up paddle boarding, turtle nesting, and is centrally located to some of the best surfing beaches in all of Costa Rica (Playa Negra, Avellanas and Tamarindo). There are two main beaches within walking distance from our home. Playa Junquillal which is great for surfing, bodyboarding, turtle nesting, and long walks with beautiful sunsets. Playa Blanca is shaped like a bowl and is sunken. It is great for snorkelling, with a secluded feel. Both are ideal for relaxing and enjoying the beauty of nature.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    A region submerged in culture, the name Guanacaste is derived from the indigenous ‘quahnacaztlan’, a native word for the Guanacaste tree, native from this region and also, the national tree of Costa Rica. We have a large Guanacaste tree in our backyard and furniture made from the tree as well!

    Junquillal, which is located on the northern part of the Nicoya Peninsula in Guanacaste, Costa Rica has been named one of the five classified blue zones of the world, where residents live even longer than those in the rest of the world. Blue Zones have the highest concentrations of centenarians in the world, and the primary reason for this is that they’ve adopted healthy diets and active lifestyles, and above all else, they place high value on social wellness and spirituality. Scientists and demographers have classified these longevity hot-spots as having common health traits and lifestyles that result in higher than normal longevity. As a nation, Costa Rican sixty year olds have the longest life expectancy of anyone in the world (more likely to reach the age of ninety than its world counterparts). Statistics from “The World Health Report 1995” place Costa Rica third in life expectancy across the globe.

    The cultural heritage of the Guanacaste region originates from the first indigenous groups that populated the area around 10000 years ago. At present they still retain certain elements of its pre-Columbian ancestors.

    The first humans, who entered Costa Rica thousands of years before Christopher Columbus, arrived on the peninsula of Nicoya. During the colonial ages, Guanacaste was not a part of Costa Rica. The inhabitants of Nicoya, Santa Cruz, and Cañas decided that they did not want to belong to Nicaragua but to Costa Rica and they announced their Annexion on the 25th of July 1824. Even today, 25 July is Independence Day, which was accepted by both sides in 1821.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda


    We are hoping to find a talented person to help with some building projects, along with some TLC that the house needs. We would like to build an open-air yoga studio in our backyard and maybe a rudimentary tree house. Furthermore, we have other projects around the house that range from laying some missing tiles on the outdoor patio and building furniture.

    We would love to find someone who is tech savvy that experienced in marketing properties online. Someday, we would like to use the house as a vacation rental and would want someone to help give us an online presence to market the property.

    We are also looking for a skilled seamstress...

  • Idiomas

    Espanhol: Intermediário

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    We would love to get a better grasp of the Spanish language.

  • Acomodação


    The house, which is actually zoned as a farm, sits on a half an acre of land with many fruit and a few nut trees that envelope the property. We regularly have howler monkeys come and feed in our mango tree and there are many beautiful birds as well. The town is small but there are several fantastic restaurants and a very nice grocery store within a 10 minute walk. There is public transportation close by that leads into the nearby city of Santa Cruz. Also, the city of Tamarindo is also only a half hour drive away and it’s probably the most popular destination in all of Costa Rica. Playa Negra is only 5 km away and Playa Avellanas is less than 10 km from our home. Playa Junquillal and Playa Blanca are only a few blocks from our home. The house has a beautiful back porch upstairs and another one downstairs. We have fiber optic high speed internet as well. You will have one of the 2 downstairs bedrooms and there is a bathroom downstairs as well.

    We are a warm and welcoming couple who enjoy people from all walks of life, all races and ethnicities, and all sexual orientations. Smoking is allowed outside - 420 is OK outside as well. No other drugs please. Also, no outside guests are allowed on the property.

    We are providing food for 3 meals a day that will normally include oatmeal, granola, rice, black beans, pasta, red sauce, corn flakes, skim milk and many spices. You will be responsible for you your own food preparation and clean up. We have a blender, rice cooker, electric kettle, and oven.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Costa Rica is yours to discover. Public transportation (bus) is near our home and very reasonably priced. There are also what are called “collectivos'' which are just locals who will pick you up on the side of the road and transport you for a fraction of the price of a taxi. We also could set up private transportation for you (we would make no commission on your ride).

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have fiber optic internet and would be able to accommodate any digital nomad.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Dogs are welcome!

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 888631795673