Join us and help with three gardening seasons and year 'round puppy care. in the Gulf Islands (Galiano Island), Canada

Country

Canadá

Favorito 511 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    30/09/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº de amigos no Facebook

    813

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 7 dias

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are a family of three plus one dog. We are into gardening, sailing, playing music, kayaking and taking walks with Snoop the Chocolate Lab. We offer opportunities to stay on Galiano Island. We are slowly converting our garden using permaculture principles. We are also working toward bringing our sailboat back to life. Please note that we can only accept fully vaccinated guests.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Prática de idiomas
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Depending on your interests, we can teach you cooking, kayaking and sailing at professional level (we have one certified sailing instructor, and a registered professional chef and kayaking guide). We can speak native English and French, some Spanish and beginner Japanese. We are musicians, and love to jam with our visitors and teach musical skills if you are open to it.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    This summer and fall (2021), we're aiming to get some help with gardening, pet care, and general house/landscape maintenance. General house cleaning tasks, cooking and organizing may also be required.

    In the Spring we will be working to improve our current automated watering system. We will also start plants indoors and outdoors, select and plant new crops using companion planting principles. We will be rebuilding our compost system as well.

    By mid summer we will require help with weeding, and with keeping the grounds tidy, including simple grass cutting, collecting leaves and brown matter for composting and trail maintenance.

    At the end of the summer and into the fall, we participate in the local fruit and vegetable gleaning project, and do a lot of wild crafting and harvesting. Your help would be welcome in this too. We will need to winterize our gardens and collect seaweed, leaves and other soil amendments.

    We also have a large sailboat that is always in need of various kinds of maintenance and cleaning.

    Sometimes there are opportunities to find paid work, and we will often provide a flexible schedule of Work Away tasks to enable side gigs.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We have a variety of options, including a protected tent platform with electricity and wi-fi access if you like to sleep in the great outdoors (best in summer!), or our very small (cute!) private outbuilding, which has electricity, heat, a small cupboard and good wi-fi.

    We also have a few good places to pitch a tent when the weather is warm and dry.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Galiano Island is well placed for Pacific Northwest adventures, roughly equidistant between Vancouver, B.C. and Victoria, B.C. Including our island as a midway stop for your travels around our area is a great option. Galiano offers an amazing natural environment, spectacular hiking and kayaking/boating opportunities, and many recreation options. Locals engage in soccer, ball hockey, ultimate frisbee, creative and contemporary dance, circus arts, roller derby/skating, ping pong, tea kwon do, pickle ball, creaand those opportunities are open to visitors as well. We have an amazing little arts center which hosts a variety of workshops, music shows, and art exhibits. We have bicycles and scooters available for our visitors who have a valid driver's license (there is no reliably available public transportation on our island at the moment, but there is a community bus which runs at peak hours).

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We recently upgraded to a 25 Mbps connection. This is sure way better than how it was when we started living in this little cabin in the woods... way back then we were on dial-up !!

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    1

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    4 hours per day (5 days per week)

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (4.8)


























Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 878355241115