Help us on a small goat farm and explore beautiful nature near Bjugn, Norway

  • Noruega
  • Favorito 266 vezes
  • Última atividade: 25/01/2023

Disponibilidade

  2023 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    THE CURRENT TASK AT HAND

    It's summer now, we're doing fences, we will be cleaning barns, cutting grass, collecting wood, walking the dogs and cleaning the farm. Wer're aticipating building an addon to the house, so there will be some construction work soon.

    The Farm/work

    We are a couple farming goats and growing vegetables in Norway. We share farm with our friend Anas and his family. Our goats are a mix of south-african Boer meat breed and norwegian milk goat. They are extremely friendly, and everybody has a name.
    Big part of the farm is a dog hotel.

    The farm have several buildings that need maintaining or reconstruction. Most important this year is to build some new fences.
    In the summer there is never ending supply of work that needs to be done while winter is mostly just feeding the goats. ,

    On the farm, a lot depends on the weather.

    Some workawayers want to work 9-5 with a strict schedule. That is not how the days go on our farm, we do the work due but our timetable is flexible.

    We want to teach the Workawayers to be problem solvers. There's a lot of different tasks, and sometimes we will let people find the answer themselves.

    ***

    Us

    We enjoy company, arts, singing and creativity. Jonas plays ukulele and sings, Gosia paints, knits, weaves and does other grandma crafts. Anas tells stories.

    Jonas grew up in a cult in Sweden. No longer a cult member, he can tell you some crazy stories if you are interested. He has two youtube channels. One deals with the aftermath of leaving a cult. It is also the platform he uses for his human rights activism. He speaks up for the children being brought up in cults closed environment. He is a language nerd, and is happy to speak with Workawayers in native language. He's a fast learner by doing. He speaks Swedish, Norwegian, English, Spanish and Russianand a little Polish, understands a lot of French, Portugese, and German and would like to learn more.

    Gosia have worked as a scientific advisor in an animal welfare NGO on topics of animal welfare and has a lot of experience with different modalities of farming ans and is more than happy to share her knowledge.

    Anas came from Morocco and worked for many years in midst of immigration crisis in Greece in humanitarian sector as a interpreter and culture mediator. He speaks moroccan, many different arabic dialects, greek, french english and learns Norwegian now. He built his own beautiful farm in Crete, but left it looking for Norwegian trolls. He is very social, likes to fish and have a glass of wine after a long day of work.

    ***

    Social life - Free time

    It's great if you love to cook! We always welcome somebody to inspire us with their cooking. If you're vegan or vegetarian we will make it work, we're omnivores.

    There are huge areas of wilderness and hiking possibilities in the mountains. There are berries and mushrooms for picking. There are many lakes and seaside spots to fish.

    If you're a dog person you can take the dogs from the dog hotel for a hike.

    There are some caves wit ice age paintings within day hike.

    Jonas always asks the Workawayers if they can do oil painting. He loves if they paint a goat on canvas for him. Any style is ok as the paintings make him happy :)

    ***

    In case of emergency we recomend al Workawayers to install the "hjelp 113" app on their smartphones before coming to Norway. It might come in handy, in case of emergency, the app automatically sends your GPS coordinates to the emergency service. It's very helpful since it might be a bit of a challenge to pronounce Norwegian names and places.

    We ask Workawayers to buy health insurance before hey arrive.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We can teach you a lot about agriculture especially animal welfare related topics. There is a lot to do in the local area. I can teach you anything about goats or we could go fishing. We have beautiful surroundings and there is always possibility of hiking in the mountains.

    Jonas plays ukulele and sings baritone. Sometimes we sing together or go out dancing. You can learn knitting, embroidery, weaving.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    In summer we need help preparing hay for the winter, tending to the goats and dogs in the dog hotel. We do a deal of fixing and building fences and construction projects.

    In the winter we need help feeding the goats, and building activities.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente
    Norwegian: Fluente
    Polonês: Fluente
    Russo: Fluente
    Swedish: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We have two guest houses, one just for the summer, and one that can be used in winter.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    There is an airport called Ørland (OLA) very close. The other airport is Trondheim (TRD)
    From trondheim to Gjølga you can find busses at . Ask the bussdriver for "Mr Gustavssons Farm" and he knows were to drop you off.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have good enough internet, and nice living space.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    There is parking space, and any size will fit.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    The more animals the merrier. We have a super friendly cat Gustav, so if you have a dog that is not cool with cats you'd have to keep him/her on the leash.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    It’s fluid, sometimes there is more work, sometimes its less - MAXIMUM 25 HOURS A WEEK

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 851224995392

Comentário (6)



Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)








Help our French-Norwegian family with our permaculture homestead project, along Trondheim's fjord, in Trondelag, Norway
Volunteer with animals on our non-profit sheep farm in Naustdal, Norway