Help on our little farmstead and paradise in the Bush, only 2 hours to Brisbane, Qld, Australia

  • Favorito 2 vezes
  • Última atividade: 26 dez. 2023



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana



  • Descrição


    Hi there, We are a couple that loves life and now learning to love farming. We bought a renovators delight in the bush for a tree change which needs a bit, well a lot of work. We have been here a couple of years and I have tried to implement a sustainable food system in the middle of a 3 year drought and have had some success but also some disasters. We need your help. This year is a La Niña and we want to take advantage of this establishing fruit trees and natives to Australia.

    We were both easy going Aussies and have travelled overseads where we visited to China, Thailand, Germany, Czech Republic, New Zealand, UAE, Austria, Belgium, Holland and the UK. We were to board a cruise ship in May 2020 as the pandemic hit but we were able to cancel but still want to visit Greece, Cyprus, Italy, Egypt, Isreal, Croatia, France and Morocco at a later date.

    Our family is made up of 8 chooks, 2 cats, 2 very small poodles and numerous wildlife on our 7 acre farmstead. I believe in sharing knowledge, produce and goodness to all.

    Some of the projects we are wanting to implement are an amazing outdoor kitchen/cooking area with compost toilet with outdoor shower as the first project. Erecting four garage sheds near the house and a garden shed and green house near the swale system. There is also finding contour and digging mini swales and linking ponds around the property. We also need to add a deck and pergola to the rear of the hosue and renovate or overhaul the bathroom, kitchen and laundry. If you have any amazing skiills to share with us regarding any of these projects we would be very happy to accomodate you. Also in turn I am happy to share my knowledge and skills with you. Please let me know what you would be interested in learning and maybe we can learn together.

    I practice a no dig growing system with splashes of biodynamics, hugelculture, syntropic agriculture, drought proof systems, permaculture and organic methods. I enjoy working outdoors and love my animals. They are part of the family. I am on a journey to make my farmstead more livable, more sustainable and more fantastic than it already is not just for me but the community and for the wildlife around me.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Companhia para idosos
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We can teach you about permaculture principles and about organic gardening, hugelculture, biodynamics, growing food and even the ketogenic diet. We will work alongside you and teach you about the building process as we learn it too and maybe you could teach us many things also. The camping set up makes for great opportunities for discussions around the camp fire. I am happy to help with strengthening your English language for those who are learning English.

    I live in the South Burnett in a place called Wattle Camp. Native to our area are swamp wallabies, pretty face wallabys and grey kanagaroos. We often see on our farmstead walabies, kangaroos, echidnas, double bar finches, carawongs, magpies, pale faced eastern rosellas, king parrots, friar birds and cockatoos. All of which have nests around the property. I know a little Spanish and Greek ok, ok not a little, hardly any words..... just hello, how are you etc..

    I am happy to share my knowledge of permaculture and biodynamics and soil health and creation with anyone that wants to learn. I am also a KETO coach and am happy to share information about the ketogenic way of living and how it can help minimise cronic disease and diabeties.

    We have a true Aussie Bush experience with the comforts of a major town nearby. We are 20 minutes to BCF, Bunnings, Athletes foot, Harvey Norman, Woolies, Big W and many other big shops. There is a bus to Brisbane and back to Kingaroy or Nanango every week on Monday, Wednesday and Fridays, And costs about $55. There is loads of history and sites to visit in the area. We are around the corner to Cherbourg formerly known as Barambah, Barambah Aboriginal Settlement and Cherbourg Aboriginal Settlement, is a rural town and locality in the Aboriginal Shire of Cherbourg, Queensland, Australia. It is located in Wakka Wakka tribal boundaries, near the border of Gubbi Gubbi territory.

  • Ajuda


    Some of the projects I need to accomplish are erecting sheds, bulding compost toilets including the outhouse structure maybe with pallets, outdoor shower facilities, an outdoor kitchen using the trees we cut down and avalable resources like reused tin, visitor accomodation, mowing and whipper snipping, sowing seeds and transplanting seedlings, upkeep of a veggie patch and swale fruit and veg growing system including harvesting, weeding, pruning and composting. I have also some mini swaleas/terraces to build by finding contour using laser levels and using backhoe and spade to dig in, there is also a bit of chainsaw work with trees. Renovation of the inside of the house. Some other jobs I need help with are cleaning and upkeep of the home like cleaning gutters, tidy up and rubbish removal. I also need help with day to day chores and pet and animal care.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Alemão: Iniciante
    Greek: Iniciante
    Espanhol: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    I am a beginner but love to try to learn basic languages. I am happy for you to show me your language and teach me some basic words.

  • Acomodação


    Bring your own tent/van/camper until we can build something more permanant. You can use our tent and sleeping bag also if you don't have one. We offer bush camping with the use of electricity to charge your phones/ipads. There is plenty of room on the property to pitch your tent. We have a camp fire pit and cooking on the fire is available and a gas BBQ when there is not a fire ban in the area. We have camp toilet and camp shower which is open air at the moment with a great view of the bush. We encourage everyone to get involved in preparing the evening meal. We are very nearly self sufficient in food and use our own organic seasonal vegetables. We welcome vegetarians,vegans or people on keto or are gluten and/or lactose free.

    We provide an evening meal and of course you are welcome to find food from our small food forest and veggie patch. The meals will be most often vegetarian with the occasional meat dish if you wished to join us for this or you can buy your own meat or seafood and cook this in the camp area.

    If you want to plant some of your own veggies you are also welcome to plant in our veggie patch or food forest. We will do our best to accomodate your dietary needs. Meals will most likely be vegetarian and gluten free and can also be made keto if you wished. There is a small shared camp fridge with your own basket. I can drive you into town and back on a Thursday and can show you around a little on the weekend.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    I can drive you into town and back on Thursdays. And can show you around on the weekend. There is a bus service to Brisbane and back 3 days per week.

    There is ficks crossing which is great for swimming. There is a bitumen cycle tracks which connects us to the region (Brisbane Valley Rail Trail). We also have some bikes. There is a free community event called Park Run every Saturday which is a timed 5 km run along the cycle track from Wondai or Nanango.

    You can spend days off relaxing, swimming, kayaking, Stand up Paddle Boarding or come to Kingaroy for the day. We organise trips to our local dams and BB's and will take you to community and family events.

    We are at the north of the Sunshine Coast, just one hour and a half from Gympie by car and an easy bus ride from Caboolture (near Brisbane, available Mon,Wed, Fri only). The bus costs $55 one way.

    The South Burnett is a peanut growing and wine-producing area on the Great Dividing Range, north of the Darling Downs, in Queensland. Bjelke-Petersen Dam is not far with water recreation and BBQ facilities. Other dams in the region include Gordonbrook Dam and Boondooma Dam. Tarong Power Station and the Tarong National Park are both in the south of the Burnett and the Bunya Mountains, protected within the Bunya Mountains National Park, which contains the largest natural bunya pine forest in the world, are a popular natural attraction in the south of the region.

    At Kinbombi Falls there are picnic and camping facilities next to a large waterfall, gorge and rocky creek. Rock-wallabies can be seen on local cliffs, particularly around twilight hours. Garnet gem fields are found just west of Proston. There is the Wooroolin Wetlands which was declared a fauna sanctuary in 1973, A bird hide and two walking trails have been established for naturalists to fully appreciate resident and migratory fauna.

    Wondai Regional Art Gallery, housed in a building that dates back to 1903. The establishment has become a well-known representation of the arts within the South Burnett Region, holding 11 exhibitions every year. The Wondai Heritage Museum contains thousands of local artefacts, including historical photos of the town, equipment from the decommissioned hospital, and the original Wondai telephone switchboard.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    I used to get my 26 foot caravan in so it can be done. Ground is not so level but with levelers there will be a space we can find.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    small dogs that are well behaved and will not chase chooks or cats.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 4 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 777713799962