Family farm and nursery near the beach practicing organic permaculture on the Sunshine Coast, Australia

Country

Austrália

atualizado  

Favorito 572 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    30/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    95.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 4 dias

  • Medalhas

    Facebook verified
    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are a friendly family with a small farm and horticultural nursery 8 minutes from the beach on the Sunshine Coast.

    We are Ed, and parents Angela and David, and are looking for help from people already in Australia. We have 42 acres of bamboo groves, gardens, nursery, orchards, and rewilded areas.

    We have 2 options for Workawayers:

    1. Luxury share house on the farm Mondays - Fridays (it's booked by paying guests at weekends). No transport is necessary as we will collect you from the bus or train station. Not available during the Australian school holidays. You can use your weekends to explore the area, maybe spending time at the beaches, or Brisbane, at any of the excellent backpackers (four in world-famous Noosa, for example, one of the few south-facing surf beaches in Australia, which is only 30 minutes away), or campsites in the hinterland national parks or waterfalls. Or you're welcome to camp here at the farm. There's a pretty good bus and rail network.

    2. Workawayers who have their own self-contained camper-van, motorhome, or similar, with own kitchen and bathroom. We are also creating a camp kitchen and camp bathroom at the farm, so you could just camp with a tent if you're happy with that.

    We particularly welcome Workawayers with interests in planting and horticulture, engineering, building, and construction.

    As well as physical tasks on the property, we also welcome photography, videography, and online contributions.

    We are focusing on native re-vegetation, bamboo, vegetables, and fruit. We follow organic, biodynamic and permaculture principles, and are setting up for syntropic growing.

    We appreciate help five days a week, for five hours/day, normally 7.30am-10.30am and 11am-1pm, although we are are flexible for any commitments :)

    Our property has solar electricity generation, twice-filtered harvested rainwater, and waste systems, so you'll learn about living sustainably.

    The nearby towns of Yandina and Coolum Beach are both about 8 minutes away by car. From there, you can explore the whole of the Sunshine Coast. We are about 25 minutes from Noosa Heads. There are beautiful national parks, state forests, mountains and waterfalls nearby.

    The nearest bus station is Coolum Beach. The nearest train station is Nambour. The nearest airport is Sunshine Coast.

    We manage a lot of different things on the farm including fruit trees, vegetables, bamboo, holiday accommodation, and always have a number of projects on the go, including carpentry, concreting, erecting a barn, fencing, irrigation, planting, and hope to do more building with bamboo. We have miniature pigs, poultry including chickens, guineafowl and peacocks, and friendly dogs.

    We love people who will have a go at everything and work hard, with a good sense of humour.

    We provide you with free-range eggs, fruit, veggies and herbs from the gardens and orchards, and a stocked vegetarian kitchen.

    We also provide laundry facilities, wifi, an outdoor exercise/play frame, and yoga mats.

    We are near the acclaimed Mount Ninderry Healing Centre which offers reasonably priced acroyoga, bodywork, courses and therapist programmes, intention therapy, kirtan, and shiatsu, yin and flow yoga, with free community yoga classes once a week.

    We look forward to welcoming you :)

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Our family is originally from Devon in the southwest of England, where we created and operated the Theme Park
    & Resort.

    We have traveled a lot - Ed has also Workawayed in South America, Israel, and Europe. We emigrated to Australia and have lived on the Sunshine Coast since 2011. We like time in the country, going to the beach, waterfalls, and national parks. We love meeting new people from all over the world :)

    We wish you happy travels :)

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We are looking to accept Workawayers who have a real interest in our projects which include:
    - carpentry projects and construction including working with Bamboo
    - gardening including bamboo propagation, brush-cutting, composting, harvesting, mowing, mulching, planting, repotting, strimming ("whipper-snipping") and watering.
    - maintenance including painting and repairs

    We are currently building a barn and digging additional dams.

    There is a sizeable and varied fruit orchard with more than 100 trees, and over 1000 bamboo planted, which we need help maintaining. We also have vegetable beds to increase how much we are eating from the farm. We continue to plant more native trees, and propagate more bamboo.

    You will need sensible working boots and a hat, which we can provide if necessary. We recommend bringing sunscreen, and also boots and wet weather gear if you come in the rainy season.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente
    Francês: Intermediário

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    We speak English, Spanish, and French.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    If you have a totally self-contained vehicle or camper-van, we have room for you to park and can provide access to electricity, harvested filtered rainwater, wifi, laundry facilities.

    Otherwise, we have accommodation as described.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Our farm is between two mountains and close to the beach. There are many lovely beaches, country towns, national parks, state forests, and waterfalls around, great rock climbing, watersports, horseriding and hiking. Our family also operates the Flow Bouldering gym nearby and we can arrange discounted membership and day passes. There is also a good cinema nearby with "cheap Tuesday" tickets. There are excellent farmers' markets which you can attend before work on Wednesdays, as well as on Saturdays, and Sundays - our nearest is in Yandina on Saturday mornings.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have good wifi for digital nomads.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We welcome Workawayers who have their own self-contained campervan or motorhome, with kitchen and bathroom, and have beautiful spaces to park in the bamboo grove.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Well mannered, quiet and friendly animals welcome. No barking or aggression of any kind. Note, we have dogs, poultry and pigs on our property.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicação: (5.0)



























Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 729697784963