Help plant trees, enrich the environment and offset climate change factors in the Finger Lakes of upstate New York, US

  • Favorito 270 vezes
  • Última atividade: 10 fev. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    –“You teach me, I forget. You show me, I remember. You involve me, I understand.” – E.O. Wilson

    My wife, Maria, and I are rejuvenating our farm/homestead in the eastern Finger Lakes region of upstate New York. We live off a quiet, rural road in Marcellus, on 23 acres with ponds, meadows, forest and a well-stocked trout stream. We are working with a state forester to reduce invasive species and diversify native vegetation to enrich the environment and offset climate change factors. It's an experiment of sorts: What kind of difference will it make to create a richly diverse 23-acre habitat that is surrounded by an ocean of invasives? The task is bigger than us in every way, and we've had volunteers from Japan, Hungary, Chile, South Africa, Kenya, Australia, India, Italy, Germany and the U.S. helping us.

    Over the last four years we've planted more than 2,000 tree and shrub seedlings, each protected from deer browse with a tree tube or small wire fence. In May of 2024, we will plant another 500.


    We are both Covid vaccinated and boosted. Vegan and LGBTQ friendly, open to all races and cultures.
    We host guest for two-three weeks, though that is negotiable. We are a five-six hour bus ride from New York City.

    During fall and winter months our outdoor work shifts to invasive cutting and stump spraying with herbicide, cutting and splitting firewood, repairing utility roads.

    We have a fenced organic raised-bed garden and a cat. We are renovating our cabin by the trout stream, which involves basic carpentry work and painting.

    I am an artist, yoga teacher, journalist and an author of two biographies. Before journalism work I owned an organic produce farm that sold to restaurants and a local farmer’s market. Maria is a massage therapist and actress when her hands are not in the dirt. I am a good cook, Maria is an exceptional one. We are both experienced travelers and have hosted for decades. We work hard and like to relax at day's end. We know the area well and like to take day trips to local waterfalls, lakes, theaters and museums. We're not welcoming pets or children at this time.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Maria and I have been hosting travelers and international guests for years. We are kind, sensitive and curious, and well-traveled ourselves. We care deeply about the environment. We appreciate and are grateful for the beauty and preciousness of this life and where we are. Each stay experience with our guest workers evolves as we share our experiences and values with each other.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We'll need help starting in March, clearing invasives, cutting/thinning trees in a more mature part of our forest, preparing for planting young trees. We'll also begin opening up our garden, manuring around fruit trees and bushes, getting raised beds started.


    Forest rejuvenation is our biggest ongoing project, especially the invasive reduction, which involves cutting certain small trees and shrubs and spraying their stumps with herbicide. Tree planting is a short, intense period in early May that involves wedging open the soil with a tree spade to plant seedlings, putting weedbarrier fabric around each seedling along with a tree tube or small fence. Maintenance after planting includes watering, scything, uprighting tree tubes that have begun to lean, removing weeds from around the sapling trunk.

    We're cutting and splitting firewood, improving trails with stone and gravel. We work garden beds with a broad fork, add manure and mulch, plant successively in raised beds.

    Our cabin project involves assisting with carpentry and painting.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Iniciante
    Francês: Iniciante

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Workaway guests will stay in a well-appointed room with internet. Our house has one main bathroom upstairs with a tub and shower that we all share, and a smaller half-bathroom downstairs. Workaway guests are expected to keep themselves and their quarters clean and in order.

    We have a big, covered porch outside that overlooks our pond, which is a beautiful place to spend time in the warm months.

    Workaway guests will share meals prepared or provided by us. Dinner is the meal we most often share together as our schedules allow, but we occasionally indulge ourselves and guests with a nice breakfast or lunch.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We can pick guests up in Syracuse at the bus or train station - a 35 minute drive from our house. We have bicycles to use on the beautiful and hilly country roads around us. There is lots of water around here—several Finger Lakes, waterfalls and rivers. We like to swim, sail and canoe on off-days.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Internet is solid.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Plenty of room to park, an outdoor shower with hot and cold water.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 754189961463

Comentário (12)



Fotos

Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicação: (5.0)















Live and work at a historic lodge 2 miles from Taos Plaza, Northern New Mexico, USA
Come and help with our off-grid registered 501(c)3 non-profit on the island of Molokai, USA