1 / 5
new host  

Join our family and help with a beekeeping project on the island of São Miguel, Rua das Tercas, Portugal

  • Favorito 43 vezes
  • Última atividade: 20 jun. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Olá from São Miguel!

    We are a family of 3, Carolina, Tarso and Sebastião, our 7yr old son, living on the north coast of the lovely Island of São Miguel. We are a Portuguese/Brazilian family who have been living on the island for around 15 years, working both in Conservation and the rehabilitation of native species to the Azores.

    We are looking for a bit of help to support our beekeeping project which would include a variety of tasks from gardening and planting native species for the bees, to helping extract honey and promoting the project to raise awareness around the importance of biodiversity and the importance of native rehabilitation!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    With us you can practice speaking portuguese, with both the brazilian and european accents! You can also learn a lot about bees and beekeeping, as well as learning and partaking in the rehabilitation of the native azorean habitat!

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    First and foremost, we are looking for someone who is very easy going and respectful in the same way we will be with any volunteer, who enjoys being in a family environment and who we can share good times with! This is important as any work done will be in close proximity with us and in the family setting, so for everyone´s peace, these are qualities we highly value in any potential volunteer!

    House tasks could include:
    - weeding and gardening
    - planting trees and removing invasive species
    - organising and cleaning the honey extraction space
    - cooking meals on some days
    - suppport with general house tasks

    Beekeeping tasks could include:
    - weeding and gardening
    - help maintaining the space
    - help with honey extraction and hive maintenance
    - help with the beekeeping tourism

  • Idiomas

    Espanhol: Fluente
    Português: Fluente
    Inglês: Intermediário

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We offer a small wooden outhouse, in the garden, with an air mattress and bedding provided. The kitchen is in the main house and you will share the bathroom with our son. We also provide food for 3 meals a day which can be had with us. We like to cook vegetarian meals during the week and occasionally have meat and fish on the weekend. If you have any food allergies or requirements, please let us know beforehand so we can see how to organise ourselves. We would appreciate some help with the cooking on certain days in the week as we both have very busy schedules in between work and looking after our son.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    There is so much to do and see on the island. In your time off you can visit the nearby beach with natural swimming pools, less than a 10 minute walk from the house, There is also a lovely walk along the clifftops from the house which you can do to see the amazing rocky coastline. You may also use one of our bikes if you wish to explore nearby towns and beaches. Of which there are many! Public transport does exist but is limited and not directly from the house. In order to make the most of your stay, we recommend looking into hiring a car on some days of your stay if you wish to reach more remote and further away places, to hike, swim and see the wonders of the island! And of course, you may join us whenever we go anywhere if you would like to!

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We could discuss this and with potential for electricity plug in also.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    1

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 738993334982

Comentário (1)

Fotos

Comentário


Come and help in this paradise , Benfeita, Portugal
Help on the land, around the house and experienced house-sitting at my beautiful off-grid Quinta in Central Portugal