Join our family for building projects and gardening help on in an intentional community in the lush Thora valley, Australia

Country

Austrália

Favorito 21 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

    -

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    24/09/2022

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are an open-minded, open-hearted and multicultural family of three: Fabio is Brazilian, Leigh is Australian and Laelia is our delightful, inquisitive 8 year old daughter. We live immersed in the forest, on an established (40 year old) intentional community, on the banks of the beautiful Bellinger river. The spring water that hydrates our community is pumped from the Die Happy Creek, and flows to all the community shares. The creek borders our share, and pulses with the most pristine water.

    We love the slow pace, simplicity and groundedness of living immersed in nature and community. We also appreciate deep connections that emerge, with people who visit from afar. We're super easy going, adaptive, and enjoy engaging with and learning from others. We speak Portuguese and English at home.

    We moved onto our one-hectare share almost 5 years ago, which had previously been rented for 14 years. So we essentially have a 'blank canvas' to work with (for many years our share was under-cared for). We have many projects that we're excited about, both in terms of house 'improvements' and in the landscape, including water/waste management projects and both food and native gardens.

    We love to receive people in our home. We are very laid back and appreciate not having to always 'drive' the flow of things - so very much invite those with initiative, self-responsibility, and who are keen on a collaborative way of living and taking care of things.

    At the moment, we'd like help with a range of projects: shaping and planting out our bank in front of our house (including retaining part of the bank with timber), building an outdoor compost toilet (for Workawayers, as we are currently purchasing and setting up a bell tent, so that volunteers have a more private accommodation), finishing our deck extension, preparing the site for our shed (yet to be built) and multiple garden projects.

    The area is stunning for exploring. Dorrigo rainforest is 20 minutes away, Bellingen is about 25 mintues, and has great food and a few nice bars for evening hangouts. There's usually a lot of great live music on offer for a small town, but with COVID, this is less frequent. There are amazing beaches all the way along the coastline here. Some of the closest spots where we swim and surf are Urunga, Valla, Sawtell, and also a little further away; Coffs, Moonie and Emerald beach, and to the south, Nambucca and down a little further to Scotts Head.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Leigh is a practitioner of human development, who facilitates spaces for personal / spiritual and embodied development and healing, working with both group transformation (in intensive retreats) and one-to-one healing and integration work. Fabio is super creative and handy with all things building and he really enjoys co-creating with others, which he does with great generosity and open-heartedness in the sharing of knowledge and experience in a fun, playful way. We are both deeply committed (and intuitively led) in our conscious parenting journey. So, our way of being with our daughter, and the space we co-create with her to both breathe out and explore the world, and come in and be held, is a big focus in our lives. So, I guess a big part of what may be learned in being here in our home and in our working together is not only focussed on knowledge and/or experience, but is exchanged through presence and way of being in the world.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We would appreciate help with some ongoing projects, including finishing the construction of our new deck and some other small house 'improvement' projects. Also with building a compost toilet, and multiple gardening projects! So, practical skills in for building would be desirable, as would permaculture and/or gardening experience. A joy of cooking, a major plus! Part of what we'd like is to share meal preparation (or, on many days, we just help ourselves).

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Português: Fluente
    Espanhol: Iniciante
    Francês: Iniciante

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    The workawayers will be sleeping in our home (this will change soon, as we set up a bell tent - having help to get a compost toilet and potentially even a basic outdoor kitchen is in our list of activities for Workaway help!). In our home, you'll have the only upstairs room (which is above our kitchen, so some noise is likely in the morning). For this reason, we can only accommodate a single person or a couple (the bed is queen sized). We have only one bathroom, which you will share with us. The bedroom has a beautiful outlook to the mountains on the other side of the valley. Our house is a country home, built (30 years ago) from timber that was sourced locally and cured on site. While our site is cleared, we really are in the middle of a huge expanse of dense forest, so please be aware that we share this space with an abundance of wildlife; including snakes and goannas (in the summer), spiders, other lizards, brush turkeys, frogs, ticks (in the forest), leeches (down by the creek, when it rains), as well as other cute little creatures such as possums, pademelons (similar to little wallabies), antechinus (little native marsupials that resemble mice), incredible birdlife, and if you're lucky you might even see a platypus in the river. Of course, these creatures live (mostly) outside the house, but if this triggers quite a bit of fear in you, then perhaps our place is not for you.

    We'd prefer that we share the cooking with Workawayers (at least for dinner - breakfast and lunch is self-service). Laelia and I eat meat sometimes, although Fabio is vegetarian and we mostly cook vegetarian. We eat dairy.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    You'll need to have your own transport if you'd like to explore the area in your free time. There is no public transport, and we are 25 minutes away from Bellingen (and Dorrigo). If you're happy to just go for walks along the valley road, to the river and up the creek, then you could manage here for a while without a car, but we don't go into town all that often. Our home is always very tidy - the kitchen is always cleaned right after we finish eating, for example. We live like this with ease, and it flows with no conversation about who's doing the cleaning. So we welcome people who also live like this with ease - keeping shared spaces tidy and taking initiative to clean up the kitchen and other shared spaces. We also have friends in our community dropping by spontaneously, and we share meals with friends at least once a week. We are not smokers and would prefer non-smokers.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We haven't yet sorted out an outdoor compost toilet, and don't have power. So the site would be simple and you'd currently have to walk to the house for the bathroom.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 718677182899