Homestead living near the old city of Chania, Crete, Greece

Country

Grécia

Favorito 213 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    23/06/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 15 dias

  • Medalhas

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    ====PLEASE NOTE====
    It is my personal policy to confirm your stay with me within TWO WEEKS of your arrival date.
    ====================

    Hi fellow traveler, my name is Pavlos and I am a Canadian-born Greek who has lived in Canada for most of my life. I am back in Crete for the foreseeable future and intend to grow food here through managing both livestock and my large backyard garden.

    I have been following a carnivore diet to manage an auto-immune condition for the past year and a half and I feel fantastic on it. I don't see myself changing my diet anytime soon, so if you can't cope with my daily meat cooking, maybe there is a better workaway experience for you elsewhere.

    I am also a certified TEFL teacher (Teaching English as a Foreign Language) and Permaculture Designer (PDC course completed in 2012 at Seliana, Greece). I play electric bass for a reggae/rock/blues band but my preferred instrument is the ukulele. If you play music you will find a bunch of options at my home which is located on the Akrotiri Peninsula, a short walk from the sea, and a 15 minute drive from the CHQ airport.

    We have big, big garden that I am busy planting and organizing. There are fruit trees, citrus trees, and fig trees on the land. Currently I am planting veggies, papayas and custard-apple trees (anone). I have a neighbour who keeps chickens and sometimes they visit my backyard and lay eggs in all sorts of odd locations. It's like an easter-egg hunt everyday at my place.

    I have a several wormeries that I have designed to be self-contained plant growing and waste management systems. The current design is a large clay amphora and I am constantly improving on the design.

    I have several projects that I intend to complete this summer the two major ones being an aquaponics set-up and a chicken trackter.

    I have a ukulele, several guitars, a mandolin, a cajon, and a few other musical instruments that I play in the evening whenever I have the time and inspiration.

    I am an occasional smoker but my home is a smoke-free environment. I sleep at odd hours but try to be in bed by midnight because I always wake up early.

    I think that ice-hockey is the greatest sport ever, I love reading fantasy novels (LOTR styles), I sometimes talk in my sleep and like cheesy kung-fu movies and any movie that has Keanu Reeves in it. :)

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Ensino
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    So I am a multi-cultural man, having one foot firmly in my French-Canadian upbringing and the other foot in my Greek roots and heritage.

    I have completed my Permaculture Design Certification course a few years ago and am happy that I can now start to use it.

    I am not the greatest musician but I AM a great teacher so what I know I can transfer quite effectively. I know how to teach you ukulele so that's what you can learn music-wise from me. If English is your second language and you want to improve, bonus! I'm a certified English teacher too.

    I know the island well, and am often on the hunt for new and interesting places to hike, swim or camp at. If you like adventuring, chances are we will accomplish one or two of such while you are here.

    I make and aply compost tea to my garden a few times a week. I follow Ealaine Ingram's work and my compost tea recipe follows her intructions fairly true. I own a good microscope so if you like microbiology you'll have the opportunity to study my soil organisms in depth.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    The ideal candidate will be very independent inside and outside the house.

    I need help in every aspect of maintaining this home so if you are skilled in household chores, great; if you are a creative builder who can use his/her hands to build up some sheds/chicken coops and/or garden projects, great; if you are unskilled and feel like shredding paper and hauling horse manure to feed my worms and help clear out some junk, that's fantastic; if you like organizing tools/seeds/equipment, fabulous. I also own a motorcycle that needs some rewiring so if you are skilled in that, well, you're a shoe-in. I think that so long as you have a positive attitude and want to work we'll get along just fine.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Greek: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    I live with my father in his house about 25 minutes from Chania, Crete.

    There is a campervan and a guesthouse on the property, one of which will be available to workawayers. The campervan and the guesthouse have a single double bed each, so if you are travelling with a partner you will have to share a double bed or I can set up an inflatable mattress in the guesthouse.

    Driving to the old Venetian port will take you about 40 minutes but there are also busses that pass by at the corner of the street a few times a day in the summer. I own a car so if you have an international driver's license you can borrow it when I don't need it.

    I am happy to provide you with the staples of whatever kind of diet you are following. As I am on a carnivore diet, it is very easy for me to shop and cook and eat. If you are into cooking and preparing big meals feel free to do so in the kitchen. There is a rice cooker, all kitchen appliances and cookware but little else in terms of perishable pantry goods.

    I go shopping twice a week so if there are things you need in terms of food I am happy to purchase and source your groceries for you.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    I often go on day-trips to beaches and free-camping sites so if you are into that then we can plan a day trip together. Crete is a huge island with tons of mountains, caves, beaches and dive sites, and everything you can imagine. Just pick up a tourguide and check it out. You won't be bored here, that's a fact. I have a car you can borrow if you bring it back in one piece and put gas in it.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    I have decent wifi with a little less than 3 Mbps download. There is a table in the livingroom that can be used as a desk during non-meal times. You can also use pillows and sit at the small table but that would get uncomfortable after an hour since you won't have back support.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (4.5)





Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 679553515534