Help needed with our sanctuary of stray dogs in Thessaloniki, Greece




Favorito 1541 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    90.1 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 2 dias

  • Medalhas

    Top Host

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 3 semanas

  • Descrição


    Hello Pet lovers! I am Natasa from Greece. We rented a big house in a quite village named Souroti, which is located 40 min outside from the city Thessaloniki. Our project is to rescue stray dogs from Greece, to find a lovely home for them in the future.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    You can learn about animal welfare in Greece.. you can learn how to take care of dogs ,disabled dogs and run a different kind of Sanctuary.We do not believe in cages so all of our dogs feel our house like home , so for sure you will understand the dogs behavior. .Also you get to know us and have long talks and laughs .we can tell you many things about Thessaloniki and Greece and we want t o know also about your Countries and experiences .The bus to Thessaloniki pass every half an hour but you need to exchange two busses to arrive this means with the bus it takes 1.30 to arrive to Thessaloniki.Thessaloniki is an open minded city with many place to hike and nearby amazing beaches.The food is amazing

  • Ajuda


    News 10/2021 we are looking for a long term volunteer with payment,required experience with animals and lots of love for dogs Running a different shelter as ours it's difficult ,there are many rules to be followed ,you will have to co-exist with dogs and keep them safe,clean and healthy .So It is very important that you are a responsible person who is willing to follow the rules of the shelter strictly, as these have been put in place for the safety of our dogs and volunteers.You can help us with looking after our loved stray dogs Helping to a sanctuary it means we have to clean the house and the yard so yes it has a lot of cleaning.If you are not willing to get dirty and involved physically as well emotionally please do not send as a message .Feeding them and also giving them pills if needed. Some can also be disabled or sick. We would also really appreciate people who have new and smart ideas as the house was rented just in the begining of October and there is still a lot to be made.Currently we have about 80 Dogs After saving dogs from a collector so this number always changing .Also keep in mind there is no regular schedule. Caring for our dogs is time-consuming and unpredictable. Daily work will depend on the needs of the dogs. Keep in mind that they need to be fed and watered at least once a day, and their living areas must also be cleaned at least every 24-hours.
    The main requirement of course is giving them love through cuddles! : -) if any of you guys want can also take our dogs for walks .Send us a message if you need to know about our daily program. Also there is a bedroom in my house which is two minutes walk and there we need help of a workaway for our dogs so we can go to our work.Maybe you know a lot about Social Media campaigning, photography, organizing and logistics, graphic design. We welcome people who are willing to work for our dogs with passion and creativity.

    We are people who want you to have a nice time and we are open to any suggestions, but in the same time is very important to us the welbeing of our animals.Last please remember you are going to be living with animals so our workaway actually is life with many animals with all the responsabilities this can include also it can be very demanding and stressful

    please be aware that to come to our shelter an accident waiver will be required to be signed

  • Idiomas

    Greek: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Italiano: Fluente

  • Acomodação


    In Total there are 4 rooms with beds ,some normal beds some folding beds and one sofa bed .Sometimes you need to share a room with another workaway,only if you feel comfortable with that of course .the downstairs bedroom is the closest to the dogs and you must have in your room some dogs .keep in mind that in the garden and inside the house dogs will be sleeping too so it can be loud sometimes during night .There is also a bedroom in my house which is only 2 minutes on foot from the house where I have my dogs You can use the stoves to cook your own food .We can go out to eat something together .
    Me and my husband are not going to live in that house, but 15 min walking distance from our house, The program is divided between us all daily.You can have 2 days off per week but we have to communicate which days you prefer.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    The center of the village Souroti is just 15 min walking distance away. There you can find several supermarkets, restaurants, cafes, a butcher and a bakery. The public transport in Greece is not always punctual and it’s not the best infrastructure. But still possible! You can take the bus to go to different places around here. You can also rent a car in Thessaloniki to see different places. Me and my husband work in the city center of Thessaloniki and can provide you a ride in and out of the city or other places like the beach or hiking places sometimes. We just have to communicate with each other for that.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    People can bring their pets only if they are compatible with other dogs

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.9)

Comunicação: (5.0)

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 877387286551