Help a family create sustaining energy loops between plant and animal, forest and field on 10 acres in Balfour, BC, Canada

Country

Canadá

Favorito 22 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    10/11/2020

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 3 dias

  • Medalhas

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    My name is Kale Fox. In the spring of 2019 I landed on a 10 acre piece of land near Balfour, British Columbia (home of North America's longest free ferry!) with a long term lease.
    I am a father of 2 boys and homesteader at heart. We are working from the ground up; the land is Raw and all projects started from their beginning! The boys unfortunately are too young to be of much use with the big work. Thus, You fine folks come to mind!
    Small scale Permaculture systems are my method and I aim to create sustaining energy loops between plant and animal, forest and field.
    Lots of Potential here right now and lots of open canvass!

    Spring 2020 Update:

    If you are reading this, I hope you are well, surrounded by good people and staying strong! Ironically my wheel barrow and hand powered grain grinder are both brand named Corona...
    We are in the covid spring, but projects are coming along nicely. That said, there is a million hours of work to do here, and not many people around!

    I am still open to hosting folks!

    As disclaimed, the living here is rustic, be prepared for wood fire showers, off grid living, and hard homesteading!
    The right person/people would find ample camping, radishes, greens and peas ready to eat, and the lake very lovely. Ainsworth Hotsprings is, unfortunately, closed, but wild Hotsprings will be accessible as summer progresses.

    The work happening these days consists of digging, fencing, weeding, digging, rock stacking, firewood, digging, brushing...did I mention digging?

    Regardless, if you want to get a tan, drink clean water, build that beach body and grow some food in a hurry, while not being bored at all, let me know. We will need to talk about the corona, self isolation protocol, and all that, but let's get the conversation going!

    Happy travels wherever you are, and looking forward to checking in with you!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Manutenção geral
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Cuidar de animais
    Prática de idiomas
    Projetos artísticos
    Ensino

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We are True Canadian bush family, well versed in outdoor activities with a speciality in primitive skills. No doubt we lead a North American life to a certain extent but it is a rustic, wholesome and slightly different style here.
    The area I live in has a long history of people (pre- and post-colonialism), a rich biodiversity of plants and animals and an ancient, rich geology. There is a lot to learn here, and lots of opportunities!

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Spring 2020 will see soil building, compost creating, brush thinning, garden digging, woodshed erecting, chicken coop hutching, rock masoning, firewood collecting, hugelkulturing, greenhouse designing, campsite levelling, and various other potential fields of interest to name at least some. It's a variety show with something for everyone!

    Updated April 28: this is correct and accurate, these things are happening now!

  • Idiomas

    English: Fluente
    Spanish: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    I live in a 10 meter trailer parked in a pole barn (complete with kitchen, hot/cold running water, propane oven, wood stove, bathtub, and bouldering wall, all of which we will use and share during your visit!) to keep it out of the weather. A loft will be built in the pole barn in summer for guests and we have a canvas wall tent with a bed in it for guests. The wall tent gets set up when the snow goes away! Plenty of tent sites abound (lots of flat places for vans, too) and we have 1 large 6 person tent that can be set up if needed. Again, our Raw land is off grid and short on modern amenities (although said amenities exist close by), so expect a mostly outdoors lifestyle and creating of our comforts as we need them! Rustic is part of the Experience!
    Food on the other hand is high quality, including ferments, wild food, and fresh garden vegetables. Berries drip off the bushes at various times in the year, and meat is eaten here regularly. We love food, that's why I do what I do!

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    There is a metric ton of activities to check out nearby! Located 35 minutes from the communities of Nelson and Kaslo, 4 minutes to groceries, gasoline and the longest free ferry at Balfour and 9 minutes to Ainsworth Hotsprings. It is a 1 minute drive, easily walkable, to the Kootenay Lake. Locally we have hiking trails, mountain biking, zip lining, wild hot springs, every water sport imaginable, restaurants, clubs, events and party places, wildlife viewing, and the list could go on for a while.
    Personally I work in summer as a tour guide in Cody Cave Provincial Park, taking people underground, which I highly recommend!

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 679465749243