atualizado  

Escape to the Countryside, 30 mins from Santander, Northern Spain

  • Favorito 132 vezes
  • Última atividade: 11 abr. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: Sem período mínimo

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Well after a year of being 'Work-awayers' and travelling around Northern Spain in our Campervan we have now found our new home!

    We are family of 4, from a mixed Danish /Scottish household so one way or another we are Wildling's! All of us enjoy the outdoor life and the natural adventure that travelling and the wilderness provide and very much appreciate the simple life. We are a very social family who enjoy meeting new people and discovering new ways of life and learning and sharing skills where we can.

    Mum and Dad have used couch surfer for years both as hosts and surfers across the globe and had so many great unique experiences that Workaway, both as guests and hosts seemed obvious. We have spent a lot of our life's one way or another living in the mountains, from Scotland to Canada to India and love the feeling the mountains bring. The mountainous region we have chosen our new home in is stunningly beautiful and less than 30 mins to the beach.

    We spent 6 months in our campervan 2 years around Eastern Europe and Morocco and loved it so much that we sold our house in Denmark and hit the road to find our new home. We also really enjoy having time together as a family and Campervan trips are great for that. We all love sports and activities, especially high adrenaline, and really appreciate the amount of time we have been able to spend doing that together, especially on the ski slopes or mountain bikes. (you can mountain bike (we have some) directly out of the property and the closest ski hill is 1hr drive from us) As a family we also enjoy relaxing with some yoga and board games. We also like music and like to enjoy ourselves with some friends whenever we get the chance and remind ourselves we are not only parents :)

    We spent 7 years completing renovating our 100yr old home in Copenhagen by ourselves, we are a family who likes to be busy and are hard working... Leo our 10yr is pretty good with a Jigsaw these days and Myla our 7 year old will happily inform him with a smile how he could be doing it better, both are now attending the local Waldorf (Stiener) school and are very much enjoying it.

    We have bought a finca rustica about 5 mins walk outside a small village, around 25 mins drive from Santander. We have met an amazing multinational community here and at recent party in the garden counted 17 nationalities! ( We are conscious of our water usage, especially as the wastewater simply runs into the garden, So if you need long, hot, daily showers best to stay somewhere else/ visit the local pool daily
    ... Or bring a huge Campervan with your own shower 😁)

    Of course you are free to use your phone or tablet as much as you wish, as are your children but we would ask you to do this in private, as our children get very little screen time and enjoy creative play more.

    Please write 'calling wildlings' in the title of your email/message, so we know you have read our profile as we get a lot of genric requests from people who have not taken the time to read this 😁

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Ensino
    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Being a mixed family, we have quite the cultural exchange daily as we learn the differences between living in Denmark, Scotland and Spain (you can still be at a lunch break at 5pm in Spain - in Denmark your already finished for the day!) In the home English, Spanish and Danish are spoken, so there is the option to improve any of those. Both mum and dad are proud of their heritage and that shines though in our weekly routine. Being part of such a mixed and vibrant international community here we find ourselves learning something every week - this week was a new Slovakian dish

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We have bought an old Spanish house with quite a large piece of land and now there are 101 things to be done, so if you prefer gardening work, we have that, if DIY/building is more you thing then we are planning to build a work shed, outdoor kitchen, tree house, wooden Trolls/sculptures etc. Of course we love doing fun projects but running a Finca Rustica means a lot of the time we also have good old fashioned hard work to do... 'Good for the soul' :) If you enjoy it you are also welcome to be involved in preparing meals - as we are part of a very international community here we often find ourselves sharing a meal with food from a dozen different countries from Japan to Canada and everything in-between. Additionally if you enjoy creative play with kids we often do fun activities with them. We normally work until Spanish lunch time and then take the rest of the day off but we do work hard when required so if you're not a fan of hard work then probably not for you 😉 we are flexible regarding working hours and days so if you choose to do more one day or want to take a mid week day off and work the weekends we can always find a compromise.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Danish: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Pappe is trying to learn Spanish and the kids are happy to teach in all 3 languages.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    The accommodation will be in our caravan (about 60 meters away from the house so you have your own privacy) It has water, electricity and is insulated. The Caravan is technically big enough for 4/5 but you would have it to yourself, of course if you are a family/ couple or travelling with a friend you can share it. We have an outdoor dry toilet and an outdoor hot shower. 3 meals per day.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We have bikes, SUP board, Surf board and Kite gear that can be used. We are directly in nature so hiking, biking etc is super easy from the doorstep. There is a large river for swimming 10 mins drive from us plus a small stream in the garden where a cool dip is possible. We drive the kids to school every day so there is the chance to get a lift to/from bigger towns daily. Our second car can also be used when we don't need it. (OVER 25s only (minimum 2 years driving experience) Due to Spanish insurance requirement) please be aware there is no public transport to our village and it is approximately 2 km walk to the nearest bus stop. Monday to Friday there is always the option to get a lift to the local Village while we drop the kids at school and most weekends we have on an activity that requires us driving somewhere so there are often options to get dropped off/picked up. There are numerous stunning beach's around 30mins from us, many of which are famous as surf spots. Santander has a great municipal course which Papa (Douglas) likes to play. You can hike directly out the back door and we are approximately one and a half hours walk from a very famous Spanish hiking Village, Liergannes.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have satellite intertent at 50mbps. The top floor of our house is quiet during the day (while kids are at school) and part of it is setup as a home off with extra screen etc. If you have a newer phone you can catch the WIFI from the camping field but it is limited.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have enough space for a dozen Campervans so take your pick!

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Pets are allowed but only in the ground floor of the house/floor of Campervan (Dad is allergic) . We have 2 cats and they are not allowed inside. We have a sweet dog, Whisky, who is around 1 Yr old.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 217147672469

Comentário (13)



Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)
















Help with some light home renovations and stay with our family near Barcelona, Spain
Help me paint, plaster and garden in Gestalgar, Spain