Garden and maintenance help at my place in Bielefeld, Germany



Favorito 3 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • Descrição


    I am Andrew , an English man (60) living in Germany that is restoring an old timber- framed house (Bauernhaus) from 1825 and smaller buildings on a property in Mecklenburg- Vorpommern. Trying to keep it as original as possible I have been working on it for the past 10 years.

    The house is part of a little village in the midst of fields, woods, cows and rivers.
    We have a large garden with lots of trees incuding fruit trees; a fireplace for barbecues ; a little 'beachbar' my daughter created, my wife´s herb garden, a pagan looking stone circle, a treehouse and hammocks as well as several seating areas to relax. Last year I built a small pond which now is home to many frogs, beatles and snails, dragonflies, plants and some snakes.

    I am easy going, enjoy talking about anything really and still quite fit, enjoy walking and like going on little bike trips. I love nature in general but cannoeing ( one here to borrow) and the sea in particular. Other interests are history and reading. I have travelled widely myself in Asia and Europe.
    When not restoring the farmhouse, I live in Nordrhein- Westfalen with my German wife and two children (10, 19).

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Main "attractions" would be language skills (native English, reasonable German) and everything concerning doing projects outside.

  • Ajuda


    - Garden maintenance
    e.g. hedge cutting, lawn mowing
    - Small building projects
    e.g. timber roof construction; concreting
    - Clearing a barn
    in preparation for construction

    No particular building skills are necessary.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Alemão: Intermediário

  • Acomodação


    Either in a large tent in the garden with cooking facilities (although we can eat together)
    or in one of the bedrooms. We can share all meals.
    All food provided. I am happy to share the cooking, which is fairly basic-but hopefully healthy. I am a bit of a meathead but don't mind the odd few veggy days.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    On your days off you could investigate the surrounding countryside. Our place is 15 minutes by bike from the Baltic and local shops. A lot of bike trails through the countryside and villages. Very flexibe working hours and definitly not more than 20 hours a week. We are between Wolgast and Greifswald, quite close to Usedom and the Polish border (2 hours by train). Don´t hesitate to ask any questions for more information on the help, possible activities or accomodation.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    No converted coaches, buses, lorries etc.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Any pets.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 678694998848