Live in nature and help us renovate our old house and look after our garden not far from the Baltic Sea, Germany

Country

Alemanha

atualizado  

Favorito 61 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    16/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 2 dias

  • Medalhas

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are a couple, and we live in a village in rural northern Germany. Off the beaten track somewhere between the North Sea and the Baltic Sea, which is only 18 kms away. In summer we grow fruits and vegetables and we keep bees in our large garden.

    In our backyard there is always plenty to do. It consists of a small veggie patch with an even smaller greenhouse and a fruit orchard, and the rest is grass/lawn with trees and shrubs. There are also some flower beds. In your free time you’ll be able to find a secret spot to yourself (in a hammock, with a book, a drink or whatever…).

    We live in an old house that always needs attention somewhere. Be it painting or other things. Therefore we would love to hear from people with skills in woodworking, carpentry and general handy skills.

    In summer we enjoy spending our time outdoors and in the evenings we love watching the sun go down from our backyard. Or sit around a camp fire.

    We've travelled a lot across Latin America, Europe and Asia and we lived in Australia for a few years. I'm an architect working from home and my husband is retired (and loves cooking!).

    Work will be helping us renovate parts of the house and knowledge in building and construction would be ideal.
    Apart from the renovation there is always something to do in the garden.

    Short stays (1-2 weeks) work well for us. Longer stays might be possible as well depending on the circumstances. We just need to discuss.

    In your free time you can explore the area with several lakes, nature reserves, woodlands and forests and opportunities to get away from the hustle and bustle.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Having travelled a lot, we met so many interesting, friendly and open-minded people. It would be a great pleasure to offer you a warm welcome if you wish to experience this hardly known part of Germany and hopefully the stranger who arrives will leave as a friend.

    We love learning about new people and their cultures and hope that you will learn from us and our way of life and culture.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    It would be great if you could help us with things such as

    - gardening
    - planting
    - weeding, pruning
    - harvesting fruits and veggies
    - chopping and stacking fire wood

    We also have some DIY renovation projects in and around the house. Depending on your experience this might involve

    - painting
    - woodworks
    - concrete work
    - plastering/rendering
    - carpentry
    - electrical work

    Work will be diverse and we'll figure out what your preferences are. But it would be ideal if you know how to use power tools like drill, saw and grinder.

    Your own ideas are also welcome!!

    Working hours are 4 hours per day and you can schedule your working time freely. Just let us know...

    If you are interested we could show you how we work with our bees. We have a few beehives in the backyard and in spring and summer there are different things to do. The best is extracting the honey of course... But there is no help required around the bees.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Intermediário
    Espanhol: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    If you are interested in learning German we would be happy to talk to you in German and help you improve your language skills. We speak English as well and in case you are not a native English speaker we might benefit from it mutually. Native English speakers are more than welcome as we don't have many opportunities to speak English and it would help us improve our spoken English. As we lived in Australia for some years Aussies could help us refresh our "Strine" 😉

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We offer you a private bedroom with a double bed and an extra single bed (or day bed). There is plenty of shelving, coat hangers, hooks, a table and a chair (see photo). You will also have access to all other parts (kitchen, sitting room, etc) of the house. You just need to share the shower with us.

    There is also space in our backyard for your tent or your camper van.

    We usually cook at least once a day and we'd be happy to share the meals with you.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We live in a rural area. Our town is quite small and there are no shops. But you'll find all kinds of supermarkets only 6 kms away.

    In case you’ve had enough of the tranquility in our village and garden:

    Things to do in the area:
    -- Swimming--
    At first, there is the Baltic Sea of course! In summer it’s quite busy but early in the morning or in the late afternoon it’s great to cool off and relax at the beach. We also have several lakes in the area where you can find a quiet spot for a swim.
    -- Canoeing--
    On some of the lakes you can go canoeing. On a multi-day-trip on the nearby Trave river you can paddle to the beautiful old city of Lübeck and after a few more kilometres you’ll reach the Baltic Sea. Quite an adventure...
    -- Bike riding--
    There are no steep mountains around us, just soft hills and we can show you a lot of great rides. You may then discover one of many manor houses of the area.
    -- Walking/hiking--
    We enjoy hiking ourselves and have discovered many walks of different length in the area (some of them we found out about in the covid lockdown times…)
    -- Birdwatching--
    We are hobby birdwatchers a never go for a walk without our binoculars. There is always something in the air to watch!
    -- Sightseeing--
    Lübeck, a medieval UNESCO heritage listed city is only 25 kms away. It’s really beautiful with lots of historic buildings and churches.
    Around us there are several towns, all of them with a hidden treasure: Eutin 20 kms (Castle where Catherine the Great came from), Bad Segeberg 15 kms (Limestone caves and home of an open-air Western theatre), Plön 25 kms (castle).
    And Hamburg is just 1,5 hours away in case you are keen to visit a big city...

    There truly is something for everyone.

    ON A FINAL NOTE...
    ...our usual diet includes meat. We eat quite healthy though with lost of veggies and salads. If you are a VEGETARIAN, we would like you to help us cooking. Dear VEGAN, sorry but that's too much of a challenge and we won't be able to offer you a stay with us ;-).

    ...we expect you to be vaccinated against COVID if you want to stay with us.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    As I work from home you can join me in my office room. There is enough space and a spare desk. Internet connection is good and WiFi is available throughout the house. If you prefer you can also sit in the garden and do your work.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    4 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)






Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 669756719561