atualizado  

Enjoy permaculture gardening and house-renovation in the beautiful Südharz, Germany

  • Alemanha
  • Favorito 36 vezes
  • Última atividade: 02/02/2023

Disponibilidade

  2023 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hello! We are Max and Maggie. We have recently bought an old house with a 2500 square meter garden in Südharz, Germany.

    In the garden, we grow organically and loosely follow permaculture rules, but always open to any ideas and questions. As we only moved in in the second half of May this year, we will take it easy with the garden this year, but in the future, we are aiming to be almost self-sufficient with vegetables and fruits.

    The house is in ok condition, but it is old-fashioned, could be made more practical and realise its potential. Due to previous “modernisations” with unbreathable plastics etc, some of the floor and the half-timbered walls are damp, so they need to be torn out and replaced. We would like to do this mainly using natural materials such as clay and straw. It is currently in need of some energy input from people who would enjoy renovating it and working in the garden in the beautiful setting of central German countryside.


    The village Kleinleinungen is in a gentle valley. On both sides of the valley, there’re very nice walks into the forests or across the agricultural field. As we’re quite new here, we can definitely explore many places together.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We love food. We can cook tasty food together if that’s something you’d enjoy. Maggie is from China and loves cooking, so there will definitely be authentic Chinese food and other tastiness on the table. We would definitely welcome other tasty recipes from around the world!

    We can talk about life in the UK and China and our experiences of moving to the German countryside without much language skills.

    Experience living without a car and decide if it's for you.

    Take nice walks in nature and the countryside and maybe experience some foraging. We are both quite knowledgeable about wildlife.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    You’ll be helping us for 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week. On the weekends we can explore the nature in the area or take a city break.

    We have traveled a lot ourselves with Workaway, and also hosted volunteers before when we were living in Wales. To make your jobs more enjoyable, we try to work together and switch between jobs to get your hands on different tasks, etc. Of course, we would also consider your preferences.

    All levels of experience are welcome, any knowledge and skills in carpentry, electrical, plumbing and other old house renovations things would be a bonus. :)

    Help needed:
    -house renovation
    you’ll never know what could come up in an old house, hopefully, nothing structural ;P
    -making new garden beds
    -planting and caring for vegetables
    -moving hay from the barn
    -dig a wildlife pond
    -make the garden wildlife-friendly
    -general household things
    -going shopping with the bicycles

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Chinês (mandarim): Fluente
    Alemão: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    We can help you improve your English and/or Chinese. We are also interested in getting better at German. It'd also be great if you could share with us other languages that you know :)

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    You'll have your own room in the house or share with another volunteer.

    We are mainly vegan, occasionally we eat eggs and cheese. We can cook together if this is something that you'll enjoy. Hopefully when you're here some of the veggies will be coming fresh from the garden!

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We don’t own a car and get around mainly with bikes and public transport. We have bicycles for you to use. Also because of this, when you arrive please bring a rucksack/backpack rather than a suitcase.

    The nearest train station in Bennungen is 15 minutes cycling away or 50 minutes walk away, from where you could get to Halle, Kassel, Erfurt, Leipzig, Magdeburg, and even Berlin quite easily. There’s a regular weekday bus stop right in front of the house which gets to the nearest town Sangerhausen in 20-30 minutes. There’s also a train station there.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    wifi is quite fast but limited phone signal

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    You can park in the yard. It's a great location to explore the beautiful Harz mountains

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 641715169513

Comentário (1)


Fotos

Comentário



Come enjoy this extraordinary environment in harmony with nature in Arzberg, Germany
Sustainable garden and forestry in Habach, Germany