Discover life on small farm in the beautiful Yukon Territory, Canada

Country

Canadá

Favorito 146 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    09/05/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 2 dias

  • Medalhas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 mês

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are a small but growing farm in the beautiful Yukon Territory, Canada. We have laying chickens, sheep, Alpaca, horse, mini Jersey calf and a few sled dogs and house dogs. Plus we get meat chickens in summer. We sell eggs, meat birds and lambs. I also can vegetables and do baking in fall for sale at winter markets. In spring I start the greenhouse and am hoping to start hydroponics gardening as well. Work here would include taking care of animals, cleaning coops and corrals, etc, gardening, fencing, building, canning, clearing etc. We could provide a semi furnished wall tent or camper or motorhome to live in depending on season plus most meals. Or bring your own motor home or camper as we have room to park and possibly electrical hookup. If you enjoy the outdoors and the farm life and have some experience with animals and/or gardening etc then this might be right for you. Our farm is about 45 minutes from whitehorse so if you have a vehicle or valid drivers licence that is good in Canada that's a bonus as I only go to town once a week. Also it's not all about work! There's great fishing nearby including possibly icefishing, fishing, hunting with us in season, plenty of trails and mountains to hike. We have quads, skidoo, bycicles, canoe and kayak to use as Well! In the winter we have a cozy wall tent with a good wood stove and lots of wood to stay in.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Learn how we farm in the winter months as well as summer. We get our own water for the house and for animals so showers and laundry are limited. Go hunting or fishing both summer and winter, in season. Learn about raising your own meat, eggs, vegetables and milking a sheep (I am going to learn this one this summer) in the Yukon.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Help would include everything mentioned above plus whatever may be required to keep the farm, garden/greenhouse and animals and so on running smoothly. These will differ depending on the season.
    PLEASE NOTE: there is often heavy work involved including packing bags of feed, chopping trees/wood, building fences or shelters, tearing down etc. Plus mucking out chicken coops and moving dirt, clearing brush, and so on. So you need to be healthy and in good shape.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Alemão: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We are able to host those who need to quarantine in separate accommodations that are self contained more or less. And there is work that can be done away from the main area while quarantining. We have a furnished wall tent that is useable year round. The floor is insulated and there is a good wood stove in it with plenty of wood already cut or cut your own. It is very warm and cozy. An outhouse is nearby. We also have a motorhome which has a woodstove in it and is good most of the year depending on how adventurous you are! We would provide food for snacks, breakfasts, brunches and prepare dinner in the house. Specialty foods and alcohol would be your responsibility. Although I could accommodate a vegetarian, we are meat eaters and meals generally include meat, either from our own or a local farm or from hunting or fishing. We could accept singles or couples. Summers and warm months we would have more room as we have a camper and tents (not good in winter months) and they can be set up very privately. We do value our privacy so would encourage you to go for after dinner walks or read or whatever in your accommodations after dinner unless we are doing something special. There are other workaway or volunteers in the subdivision typically so visiting is encouraged as well. You never know who you might meet!

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    There is lots to do if you are an avid hiker, biker, climber or just want to sight see. In Whitehorse, which is 45 minutes away, there are museums, library, shopping, pubs, restaurants etc. to explore. There are many mushers up here if you want to try your hand at that. If you like ice fishing and fishing in summer, there are several terrific lakes within an hour or so from our farm. We live simply at our farm going to town mostly just once a week, we have internet so you can stay in touch. We are in a small community that is friendly but mostly keeps to themselves.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    To a degree, yes

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Any size vehicle

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    Should be altered and proper vaccinations.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Usually 4 to 6 hours a day, 5 days a week depending on the season. There is more work during the spring summer and fall than winter. Just remember this is a farm so its a 7 day a week job as animals need feeding 2 x a day, water hauled, corals cleaned, co

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)













Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 631373992793