atualizado  

Help with building a co-living/working community in Braga, Portugal

  • Favorito 172 vezes
  • Última atividade: 22 jul. 2024

Disponibilidade

  2024 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Help build a Co-Living/Working Community in beautiful Braga, Northern Portugal.

    We are finalising refurbishing a large town house with ample gardens, swimming pool, home cinema, etc.
    When we open for guests later this year, there will be space for 24 people.
    Until then we are just 4 (2 adults + 2 children) and looking for 2 more to complete the initial team.
    The house is very central and has excellent transport access to the whole city and surrounding areas.
    If you want to live & work in a historic city with plenty of culture and learn how to setup a Co-living Community from scratch (we are documenting everything 100% Open Source) join us!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We are fluent in English and Portuguese and speak some French and Spanish. We're happy to teach/learn language skills.
    Also we have decent experience in the kitchen (having worked in restaurants in our youth) and workshop we're very happy to share. Want to learn to 3D print, edit video or laser cut wood? We've got you covered!

  • Anfitriões que oferecem uma remuneração de acordo com o salário mínimo do país.

    Anfitriões que oferecem uma remuneração de acordo com o salário mínimo do país.

    Este anfitrião oferece acomodação e remuneração.

    O anfitrião indicou que vai pagar um valor equivalente ao menos ao salário mínimo do país por hora trabalhada e a acomodação também vai ser fornecida. Está buscando ajuda com um estabelecimento ou atividade comercial. Entre em contato com o anfitrião pelo sistema de mensagens para obter mais informações sobre o pagamento oferecido. Qualquer acordo deve ser combinado com antecedência com o anfitrião.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We are building a co-living/working house in the historic center of Braga, Portugal.
    Our goal is to build a family-friendly community focused on health & well-being.
    Braga is an ultra-liveable city with all modern amenities, great food, proximity to nature and near zero crime.
    Do your own research.

    The house is 200m from cycle/running track along the river. We have bicycles available.
    There is a 23m lane swimming pool; perfect for fitness or just cooling off after a long day.
    We have Gym equipment on-site but there are also 3 good gyms within 2 minutes walk (a 24/7 gym is 50m from the house).

    We need help with Construction & some Landscaping to finish our garden and build furniture.

    We are completing the outdoor areas (garden and garden structures) and building custom durable furniture using premium materials (steel, wood, glass, fabrics) and require help! If you are hands-on and have some manual aptitude, we can teach you everything you need to succeed. Typical jobs include preparing concrete forms (e.g. planters), planting/pruning trees, building garden furniture including welding and carpentry - we have all the necessary tools in our on-site workshop.

    Work is paid (10% above the National Minimum Wage) and include a room full time & food during the work week (we can't guarantee food on weekend as ours are always pretty unpredictable because of the kids!).
    We expect you to help for 4-6 hours per day and 4 days per week. (Max 24h per week)
    This gives you plenty of free time to work on your own ideas/projects (which we very much encourage!), explore the surrounding areas or adventure further around Portugal and North-West Spain.
    We feel this is a mutually beneficial offer as just a room in our area would be €400/month.

    The house is a 7 minute walk to the Bus/Train station where you can get the train to anywhere in Portugal or FlixBus to anywhere in Europe. Porto Airport is a 40min (direct; €8) bus ride away.

    We expect the minimum stay to be 2 weeks and maximum stay to be 2 months.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Português: Fluente
    Espanhol: Intermediário
    Francês: Intermediário
    Chinês (mandarim): Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    We love learning languages. Share yours!

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    You will sleep in a shared room with 1 other person of the same gender (we expect no more than 3 people in one room).
    Sharing space is part of the co-living experience. Please don't apply if this is unclear.
    We are building our own "luxury" bunk beds from scratch with privacy and sound-proofing.
    You will have a brand new memory foam mattress, choice of pillow and new linen.

    Our housekeeper does all the laundry and linen changes as often as needed (usually once per week).
    Bathrooms are shared, but we have 5 and there aren't many of us in the house;
    all recently refurbished to the highest standard.

    Multiple WiFi access points per level; 1GB fiber. Consistently great 5G reception too.
    Additional amenities: music & games room with many instruments & games.
    Ping pong Table. BBQ. Wood fire pizza oven.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Location:
    Braga is an in-land city with rivers like London or Berlin
    The house is super central everything you need is within walking distance.
    The bus stop is directly in front of the house and bicycles are available.
    45min (€3) train ride to Porto and 40min (€3) bus to Geres nature park.

    Weather:
    Summers are hot but not overbearing like the Algarve. Typically around 29 - 34 * C.
    There are pristine river beaches you can visit (we usually go once per week in summer).
    They have kayaks, paddle boards and other water sports. Just search for "Praia Fluvial Braga".
    The house is fully air conditioned (all solar powered) and the swimming pool is a great way to cool off.

    Food:
    There are many excellent (and cheap!) cafe/restaurants within walking distance. Search on Google/TripAvisor!
    Unlike Lisbon/Porto/Faro which are all "tourist" prices, Braga still retains many restaurants where you can have a 4-course meal with wine and coffee for under €10.
    The farmers / fresh produce municipal market is a 8min walk and has superb produce at excellent prices.
    For everything else there are 4 supermarkets less than 4 minutes walk from the house and 2 excellent bakeries (sourdough etc.).

    We like to cook everything from scratch using fresh ingredients whenever we can.
    We make traditional Neapolitan pizza from scratch in our wood fire oven once a fortnight.
    We grow our own heirloom tomatoes in the garden - but use usually use San Marzano on pizzas. ;-)
    We are experimenting with sourdough and vegan "cheeses" but also have excellent *real* cheeses (DOP Mozarella & Parmesan); if you like to experiment and learn about food, vem!

    Culture:
    In the historic center of the city there are daily activities including free open air music concerts, gastronomic and cultural events. e.g: "Braga Romana". Several parks, churches and monuments to visit.
    The house is a 7min walk to Braga Forum where there are regular concerts featuring international artists. Recently: Dua Lipa, Now United, Bryan Adams, Thirty Seconds to Mars.

    Sports & Fitness:
    There's a 5km running/cycling track along a river ("Rio Este") 200m from the house; excellent if you enjoy nature while walking/running/cycling. We often take walks/bike-rides along it. It's well-lit at night and super safe at all hours.

    There's an excellent free multi-sport facility 8mins walk (2min bike ride) from the house. It has an outdoor climbing wall, skate park, football fields, tennis and beach volleyball court! There's a well-maintained basketball court 400m from the house too and we have b-balls you can borrow. You will not be short of sports if your are into them.

    For football fans: The SC Braga Stadium is a 10min bus ride from the house.
    You can watch Liga Portugal (top level) football for ~€25.
    The stadium alone is worth a visit as it's a modern architecture masterpiece carved out of a mountain!

    Bottom line:
    There's plenty to see and do in and around Braga!
    Do your own research and then book your trip!

    - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

    Disclaimer:

    The inside of the house is finished; minus some furniture which we are custom-building.
    If you like modern robust furniture design from first principals, not disposable flat-pack, and want to help with designing and building something on our list we can fill-in the gaps in the skills you need to build!

    Your bed will be ready before you arrive but it will be "spartan".
    We expect you to help us test and provide feedback on everything especially the bed.

    Half the garden is a building site because we are building something special; plans available if you're interested in architecture/engineering. Ideally you can *help* us finish it.

    Our children are 1 and 3. They are lovely 99% of the time. But occasionally get excited and noisy. If this is a problem, please don't apply. But if you like kids, apply!
    Also, this means that we aren't able to spend long hours having interesting conversations in this season of life (as much as we'd love to). We hope to always have 2 workawayers around whenever possible to try to help with this too.

    We don't have a TV. So there is zero mindless channel-zapping. But we do have a home cinema (4k projector + Dolby Atmos sound) and all the streaming services (Disney+, iPlayer, etc.) if you want to watch something specific like a film or nature doc. Cinema only after our kids are in bed ~20:00.

    We try to be as transparent as possible and expect the same in return.
    What we are building is a work-in-progress and we need help!

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We were digital nomads (software engineers) until recently so can provide ideal working environment (desk, ergonomic chairs, screens, 1Gb Internet, etc.)

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Free on-street parking 20m from house.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    We love pets. We currently have a fish tank in the house but want to adopt dogs & cats in the future. We'd love to meet your pets if you have them!

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    4 - 6h per day. 4 days per week. (Max 24h/week)

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 532889525572

Comentário (1)

Fotos

Comentário


Join our busy family & experience life on Portugal's Silver Coast
Help with our family daily life while exploring Portuguese culture in Cascais