Help us in our permaculture inspired farm located near Dallas, USA

Country

EUA

Favorito 169 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    30/06/2020

  • facebook friends

    Nº de amigos no Facebook

    348

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 5 dias

  • Medalhas

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    The farm is a permaculture inspired 38-acres located about an hour southeast of Dallas. The property has a beautiful 6-acre lake to be enjoyed by everyone. I strive for sustainability in closing loops to reduce our overall waste. I have a garden, fruit tree orchard, a flock of dorper sheep, milk cow, ducks and chickens. There’s no shortage of need for helping hands as we work the land. And if you have other experiences or ideas, I love to hear about them too!
    Currently on the farm, most of my efforts involve tending to the animals. I milk and feed twice a day and rotationally graze the flock of sheep. Recently our projects included building Joel Salatin style chicken tractors which I'm very excited about. I plan to plant several fruit trees in January and February.
    My expectation is that workawayers will be respectful of the host, each other and the farm. Accommodations include a bunk room with two twin beds and private bath. I am also open to camping. Transportation can be provided from the Dallas area. Specific pickup details can be discussed with me. As always you can also drive yourself. I speak English and am open to pets on an approval basis. If you have children please reach out to discuss more details.
    My goal for the farm is to one day be completely self-sufficient and I am slowly moving towards this goal! Milk, eggs, meat and produce are currently produced at the farm. I can accommodate pretty much all types of diets supplementing farm produce with grocery. Please bring any dietary preferences to my attention.
    I am looking forward to workawayers interested in sustainable, organic farming while sharing in a fun collective experience!

  • Tipo de ajuda

    Tipo de ajuda

    Jardinagem
    Construção
    Manutenção geral
    Cozinhar / compras
    Fazenda
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Ajuda nas tarefas domésticas
    Cuidar de animais

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Workawayers will learn about taking care of sheep, milk cows, laying hens, growing vegetables and other sustainable practices such as composting and rainwater catching. I also welcome workawayers to bring their ideas and work on projects they are interested in.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Help will include tending to our livestock, garden and general chores around the farm.
    We also share in the tasks around the collective area kitchen cooking cleaning Etc.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas

    English

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Loft in house, bunk room with two twin beds and private bathroom, we are also open to camping

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 521292496536