Help us become self sufficient in our 17th-century farmhouse near Florence, Italy

  • Itália
  • Favorito 728 vezes
  • Última atividade: 24 mar. 2023



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: 1 mês ou mais



  • Descrição


    Giulia is from Verona and is a qualified pastry chef and Louis is from Munich who studied economics and organised classical music concerts.

    In winter 2020 we decided to come and live in a 17th-century farmhouse and work the surrounding 24 hectares, 25km south-east of Florence.

    Our aim is to sustainably become self sufficient. For now we are cultivating vineyards, olive orchards and the vegetable garden giving us wine, oil and vegetables. We also have goats, chickens, geese and ducks which give us milk, eggs and meat.
    Here we are confronted with all kind of tasks, no day is like another! From pruning to harvesting, from felling trees to rebuilding old stone walls, from dry cover cropping the vegetable garden to preparing the evenings dinner, from making apple vinegar to jams.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We are trying to learn as much as possible, primarily from nature and by confronting old farming practices with new ones. We are pretty much every day seeking advice from our neighbour, a 75 year-old farmer. From him we not only discover old farming practices but also how people lived and what the cultural practices of the area were.

  • Ajuda


    You will be helping us in whatever task needs to get done that day! No specific experience is necessary. However, you should not be shy of getting your hands dirty or of any physical tasks.
    We are about to start a new year and with it a new cycle in our land. In January we will be making wood for the next winter and fixing the infrastructure of our vineyards, specifically fences, poles and wires. In February we will start with the pruning of the vines; this, depending on the number of people, will approximately take 1.5 months. Come March, our aim is to approach the pruning of our ca.1500 olive trees; we expect to be finished by the end of April. The last duty before the harvesting season begins in September is the spring pruning of the vines - this will take place between May and June.
    Throughout the season, we will also be taking care of our vegetable garden.
    As a last detail for whoever would like to join us this winter, we want to mention that as of today our only heating system is the fireplace.
    We are very much looking forward to meeting you all!

  • Idiomas

    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Italiano: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Always interested in learning something new but primarily offering to speak italian for you to learn

  • Acomodação


    The farmhouse has three rooms (the photograph with the bedroom is one of them).
    We are always cooking and eating together.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    The closest train station is a 10-minute drive from the farmhouse. From here the train takes 25 minutes to get to Florence. Should you be arriving by train, it is here that we will pick you up.

    The upper Valdarno valley not only has a wonderful landscape but is also home to an incredible culture. The next main road from the farmhouse was already used by the Etruscans to commute from Arezzo to Florence. Along this road churches named Pievi were build roughly 1000 years ago. These are real architectural masterpieces and unique to this area. Absolute breathtaking is the Castello di Sammezzano, an 18th-century castle build in the moorish revival architectural style.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 497521456177

Comentário (14)


Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.9)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)

English speaking family renovating a house/ garden in Susa, Italy
Share family life and accompany a smiling old Italian lady on her daily walk in Brescia, Italy