Experience renovation of an old Catalan Masia near the coast between Girona and Barcelona, Spain

Country

Espanha

atualizado  

Favorito 431 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    24/11/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    98.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 7 dias

  • paid opportunity

    Anfitrião oferece remuneração

  • Medalhas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Soeren and Claudia relocated in 2018 from Germany to Barcelona. In 2019 they bought this former farm house quite near to the natural park "Parc del Montnegre i el Corredor" with some 9 hectars of land and much forrest. We are in the process to setup a hostal rural with 5 guest appartments, a living space for ourselvs and many ideas in mind to be busy and happy the next 20 years.

    Writing this lines, our larger ideas have been done over the recent 3 years: The masia and two buildings got restored, a large part of the forrest revived and some basic installations like water wells, PV and a first small patch for the fruit garden are there. So we aim to open the business around mid 2023 latest but will continue with smaller projects after that date to continously grow the plot around us: We have a plan to extend the fruit garden, convert an old water basin into a nice pond, setup a place for chicken and goose to raise and more. Beside that we continously need to maintain now our space, be it garden work, doing smaller improvements around the house, logging wood and doing some tree care around our place.

    When we open the B&B, we want to provide our guests a nice, relaxing athmosphere in a natural surrounding. Soeren is a passionate cyclist and hiker and plans to provide tours for the guests and Claudia is not only a very good chef, but also a great artist in various kind of paintings. An art toolshop for pottery and painting is already planned and has been partly realized.

    For the works we do ourselfs, we have tools in all sizes available, including a small excavator, minidumper and a 50 HP track-driven wood chipper. Our workshop is also fully equipped with all tools that one needs for carpentery, basic plumbing & electric, all the work around the house and MIG/TIG welding.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Food plays an important role in our small family. Claudia is an exceptional chef and cooking together you can learn a lot about "crossover kitchen". We also try to go regulary to tastings of local manufacturers where you could join us.

    If you want to improve your German or English, we are there to help you practice and improve.

    Once we have the barns for the animals ready you can learn how to steal the eggs from the chicken and feed the donkey ,-)

    If you want to learn or exchange ideas about renewable energy and sustainable modern homes be ready for some talks with Soeren in the "smarthome" center. Central heating with wood, PV + batteries, wind whatever, it's still all under development, but interesting to talk about.

  • Anfitriões que oferecem uma remuneração de acordo com o salário mínimo do país.

    Anfitriões que oferecem uma remuneração de acordo com o salário mínimo do país.

    Este anfitrião oferece acomodação e remuneração.

    O anfitrião indicou que vai pagar um valor equivalente ao menos ao salário mínimo do país por hora trabalhada e a acomodação também vai ser fornecida. Está buscando ajuda com um estabelecimento ou atividade comercial. Entre em contato com o anfitrião pelo sistema de mensagens para obter mais informações sobre o pagamento oferecido. Qualquer acordo deve ser combinado com antecedência com o anfitrião.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    PLEASE do not apply if you don't know when you want to stay here or for months where our calendar is marked RED. We receive lots of applications for red marked months which I will simply reject, RED means "we're full", really... ,-))

    RIGHT NOW people would be helpfull who have some intermediate background and/or experience in general construction work, as we will now work for the next months mainly on the garden. These will be things like laying bricks, working a lot with grout, cement and terracotta stones, building two terraces, putting water tubes in the garden and so on.
    "Intermediate" means that you are able to work without supervision and just know "how it's done correctly".

    As Soeren has to work 3 days per week in the office, you should be able to work without his guidance or work with him on the weekend. In any case, we're here all the days to give advice for any questions so you are never alone ,-)

    Between November an April a portion of the work will be spend to forrestal work. So we need to fell ill trees, will prune bushes, need to log and prepare wood for the heating and feed the heating every day up to 3 times a day.

    It should be mentioned that the hostal is not yet open as a business. So this is not a hotel job, you don't have to deal with guests and hospitality.

    As beeing a paid job, we will pay €7,50 per working hour, with weekly, monthly or whatever settlement would be the best for you.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Alemão: Fluente
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente
    Russo: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    We are native German speakers and speak fluent English as well. As we are on the lookout to improve our Spanish and super-basic Catalan whenever possible, we are happy to host native spanish/catalan speaking people as well.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We have two self-contained appartments at the moment. Each has a fully equipped kitchen, bedroom, bath with shower, central heating, air condition and internet access. It is merely a regular guest appartment so you don't have to bring anything except your outfit. As for a normal living space, you would be responsible also to keep it tidy and clean it 2x per week.

    According to workaway policy for paid jobs food would be on your expense in general. But Claudia usually cooks 3~4 times per week lunch for all, so you would participate here as well. And of course we are also on the lookout for new receipes, just be ready for cooking sessions if you like ,-)

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Our place is located in the middle between Barcelona and Girone. There is not more to say, both cities offer so many things to see. We are around 5 KM from Sant Pol de Mar, which has very nice beaches and is one of the nicest pueblos on the Maresme coastline. The natural park "Montnegre i Corredor" starts near the Masia and finally the Costa Brava is quite near, always good for a day tour. The landscape in the back country is just marvellous for hiking, climbing and cycling. More to the north of us are quite old small towns, some up to 800 years and more and a lot of roman and even greek history can be discovered, if you are interested in. France is just 2 hours away an has also a number of well known towns with reminiscence to the medieval time like Perpignan and Carcassonne.

    We can also have hikes together and try to wow you for the landscape as Catalonia has so many landscapes and nice places to offer.

    There is a bus line running through our village but we are happy also to bring you to the train line in Arenys de Mar if possible and pick you up at return (which is much faster then commuting with the bus).

    Please be aware that however it's 15 minutes by feet to go into our pueblo and the bus from and towards it comes in just 1x per hour. So depending on where to go, you need to plan some time for it. Our village has a basic supermarket, a butcher with irregular opening times, a farmacy, a tatoo studio and two restaurants and a bar, so it's not too bad here... ;-)

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Digital nomads are welcome! Although we are in the middle of the forrest, we have a 600 MBit fibreoptics line coming directly to our house and Soeren has setup a network with Ethernet sockets for all appartments and WiFi for all places. So if you want to enjoy your Zoom sessions on the pool, you can do so ,-)

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We have enough space to host motorhomes or campervans. Water and electricity is avaible, but for the waste water we cannot offer a dump site, unfortunately. There is a camp site in the next village, so eventually it can be dumped there.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    As we are in Spain, dogs are quite normal in rural areas. He/she should have a social behaviour however. We have a number of wild animals coming along in the night and walkers from the neighbour village coming along with their dogs during daytime, just be prepared to catch your dog when he's on his mission, currently we have neither a gate nor a fence ,-)

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    1

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    We are flexible regarding working hours and are looking for something around 25-30 hours minimum per week.

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.3)

Comunicação: (5.0)






Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 489273945241