Learn with us while creating a permaculture space and with other farm projects in Saskatchewan, Canada

Country

Canadá

Favorito 164 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    09/07/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 5 dias

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 3 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    WE WELCOME REFUGEES FROM AROUND THE WORLD INCLUDING FROM THE UKRAINE

    We are a small mixed farm located in the boreal transition zone. We raise heritage animals of many species including Tamworth pigs, Icelandic sheep, Norwegian Fjord horses, a Jersey dairy cow, Tibetan yaks, and a variety of poultry. We have a number of garden areas and a small but growing orchard.

    Workawayers hosted at our farm will not be doing any work that directly relates to our farm business. There are countless non business related opportunities and activities to help us with.
    So.... if you are interested in participating in our farm experience please contact us and together we will learn and grow....

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda com computadores/internet

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Our farm is located in a beautiful part of the world, with many small lakes nearby for canoeing and lots of opportunities to hike/bathe in the forest. We make a once a month trip to Saskatoon, which is about 2 hours away.

    Our purpose for hosting workawayers on our farm is to provide a learning lifestyle for ourselves and the many students and travellers who come our way. We are hosts for other volunteering organizations in Saskatchewan We also have and continue to host others on an informal basis both locally and internationally. We have and continue to host individuals with cognitive or mental health issues which has been particularly important during the current covid pandemic.
    Each season we apply for summer employment grants to help one or two students. Unfortunately these government grants are for citizens of Canada only. Dianne and I both require additional off-farm employment to cover our expenses including all the costs associated with being a farm host.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We need help this year with finishing a greenhouse which Is also home to a solar panel array. We will be also finishing work on a wvo processing and energy generating plant. We will also be completing work on a small butcher shop. Most of the activities here are general farm learning opportunities like fencing and feeding and cleaning up pens etc. As far as gardens go, there are many and much work and hopefully this year we will be converting one area to permaculture space. We do not market any of the produce from our gardens. The bountiful harvests provide food for our personal use as well as family and of course all the visitors and helpers we receive each year. The pastures this year will experience some regenerative work. We are quite excited about this year! Big one!

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente
    Francês: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    We are always interested in improving our language skills. All languages.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Rustic including some camper trailers. All diets can be accommodated. All ages are welcome.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are a bit isolated here unless you have a car. We work a lot but we always make time to properly eat and play. We have many different musical instruments and have a gaggle of friends to play them with. We have a gazillion how to books (mostly sustainable living stuff) and of course a very long list of our mistakes and how you might avoid them. Many of our helpers have gone back to their homes and are now living their own agrarian lives.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have wifi and it usually works. Less is best. No movies.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Lots of quiet spaces. Except for animal noises.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    25 hours each week












Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 454786294841