Escape to the beautiful Sapphire Coast and help on our 7 acres in New South Wales, Australia

Country

Austrália

atualizado  

Favorito 146 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    05/07/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº de amigos no Facebook

    758

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 1 dia

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    We are a Christian husband and wife team, in our 50s. In 2016-7, we bought a property which includes several old buildings, one of which is heritage-listed, and 2 cottages, in addition to our House, with local river frontage, and adjoining a local Landcare area.
    We had fun hosting and learning from travellers and enjoy seeing our valley with new eyes, and look forward to the return of international visitors.

    Our accommodation would really suit a couple or 2-3 friends, so you have company in the 3 bedroom cottage, but we are happy to have singles who appreciate some alone time as well as sharing time with us.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Stunning NSW Sapphire Coast Rural Area -a true gem. Wonderful whalewatching nearby in late Winter-Spring. Seals, rays and snorkelling year-round.
    We have both travelled and want to pay forward the hospitality we were shown. We want to learn especially about international foods and help with language learning. Fiona loves cooking and sharing new and old recipes. It t is her happy place, and learning new recipes is fun.
    We are happy to share some tourism activities, when it fits with our schedules.
    We like whales, swimming and snorkeling, and local festivals too. Workawayers pay their own admission to attractions, but we provide $10 towards meals, or possibly a picnic.
    We have kangaroos, wallabies, wombats, bandicoots, possums, antechinus, echidnas and platypus in the wild, and in our garden or river, sometime some are either in or under the cottages! There are also many many native birds.
    We are really enjoying our workaway experience so far and love having talks about lands we haven't visited yet.
    .
    WE WILL BE ABIDING BY ALL COVID-19 RULES, there is sufficient outdoor space to exercise, be away from others, and our village is a really great place to be to minimise crowd exposure. The cottage is self-contained, and although we do prefer fully vaccinated, unvaccinated/single jab is ok.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    We own a 7 acre property with 3 cottages and 4 other buildings.

    HELP! There are lot of chores to tidy up the estate, indoors and out.
    Lawns need mowing and trees need trimming.
    Fiona also especially needs help with housework, because of disk issues in her back.
    .
    We will also be renovating all the buildings, including building an outdoor BBQ and entertaining area.
    .
    We expect 20-25 hours help for 7 nights accommodation. Generally, it would be no more than 4 hours at a time, but some days could be longer in exchange for extra days off.
    Or less work if you pay a small rent while you have paid work in the area. We are in Postcode 2550, so are in an area of regional Australia for 88 day extensions for plant and animal cultivation and construction jobs.

    It would be great to do 3-ish days of intensive work, leaving you the rest of the week for yourselves, skiing, swimming, other work etc.
    We love taking our visitors to our local beauty points and seeing them through new eyes.

    JULY 2022 UPDATE:
    Help relocate and install a verandah
    Painting doors
    Lawnmowing, and whipper-snipping
    Housework - ongoing, as vacuuming and mopping are difficult for me, and we have 6 long-haired cats.
    Cleaning windows
    Tree Trimming - removing cotoneaster and cutting low-hanging branches, stacking offcuts and rubbish in a trailer for rubbish removal
    Weeding - We have had the rain, and exceptional growth. The weeds are growing, and so is the lawn. We need a bank weeded of kikuyu and tree seedlings to allow for growth of the planted natives.

    Making a a stream from the verandah to the pond and paving an outdoor seating area and forming up and concreting some steps.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Alemão: Iniciante
    Francês: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Fiona is beginner-intermediate French and would like to improve.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    Accommodation for WHMs is in a separate 3 bedroom holiday cottage on the property. Wood fire, plus heaters and electric blankets to be cosy in winter. Fans for summer. Wifi access.
    We would share several meals together, mostly lunches, plus 2-3 dinners and 1 Brunch each week, but you also have some "you" time and we provide food for you to cook for yourselves when we aren't eating together.
    .
    We follow a Covid-safety guidelines
    Families would be expected to contribute towards additional food costs for children.
    .

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are just 50km (35 minute drive) to stunning beaches and whale watching in season (they start heading north in May-June, and are stunningly good heading south from September to November), and we are 145km (2 hours) to the snow in season, although sometimes you can build a snowman as close as 30km away. There are also a whale museum, Bega Museum, and a native wildlife sanctuary to visit. Coastal and mountain National Parks nearby.
    We are on a highway that has a daily rail bus service to Canberra, which is 200km, with all the attractions of Australia's capital city. The Rail bus goes from Canberra to Eden, through Cooma, Bemboka and Bega. It also has connections to the Melbourne to Batemans Bay Rail Bus route. There are also buses from Sydney down the coast to Bega, which is 32km away. The nearest airport is Merimbula, which is 50km away.
    We have tank water pumped straight from the crystal clear river, and bottled water available on request for drinking and cooking.
    We don't have children, but do have 6 indoor pedigree Ragdoll cats.
    We are an easy 2km walk from the nearest bakery, post office and hotel. The use of bicycles may be arranged. Over 25's may be able to borrow a car for local errands - valid licence needed.
    The village population is about 300 people.


    International Licenses ARE required for driving privileges within NSW at all times. Your home country license is not necessarily sufficient if not in English and will need an English Translation. Translation and/or International Drivers Licence should be arranged prior to travel. We are not able, for insurance reasons, to allow anyone under the age of 25 to drive our vehicles.

    We have a STRICT no illicit drugs or plants policy.

    We are unable to sponsor people who do not have visas in place already.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Este anfitrião indicou que adora hospedar nômades digitais.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    20-25 hours per week for free accommodation and food

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)




















Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 452555881277