Join a semi-retired couple and help with our house and garden in Limousin, France



Favorito 96 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • facebook friends

    Nº de amigos no Facebook


  • Medalhas

    Good Host
    Facebook verified

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

  • Descrição


    We are an English couple living in France. Alan is semi-retired and returns to England every few months to work for a couple of weeks and I, June run my own business from home selling craft equipment and jewellery via the internet.

    We both come from a nursing background. Alan worked in psychiatry and I worked mostly in primary care, latterly with the homeless.

    We are slowly renovating our house and creating our garden but when not working we like to walk our dog, listen to music, cook, read, watch film and TV and explore this lovely area we live in. Alan is an amateur artist and I love to sew, knit and all sorts of paper crafts. I also make a lot of jams and chutneys and we're both wine enthusiasts!

    We have 4 adult children, who live in the UK so there's always someone visiting from time to time!

    We have a beautiful, loving & energetic collie dog called Fizz, a very chilled out laid back elderly cat called Elvis, a totally adorable ginger kitten called Bruce & a few chickens!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Manutenção geral
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Cuidar de animais
    Prática de idiomas

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We are English living in France & can offer an anglo-french cultural 'fusion' with an interest in other cultures & languages. We offer a good standard of English language, & intermediate French. We provide a mix of English & French cuisine & are also interested in trying a variety of world foods.
    Please note we would struggle to accommodate vegetarians & special diets. We eat a varied, fairly healthy diet but are on a budget.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda


    Approximately 16 - 20 hours a week which can be worked flexibly to fit in with host & helper needs & the projects being worked on at the time.

    We're very flexible with what we need help with as depending on the season it may be more outdoor based. We are creating our fruit and vegetable garden so a lot of help is needed there and we have some hard landscaping projects to complete.
    We would like to convert the garage into a kitchen and the attic needs converting into bedrooms, walls need pointing & decorating, logs cutting, the list is endless unfortunately our purse is not!

    A bit of general help in the home & if you like to cook then that would be great especially in the autumn months when our business is very time consuming. We also need help thoroughly spring cleaning the house.

    For 2019 we would really appreciate some help in the early spring, early summer & autumn mostly with the garden projects and the spring cleaning & some decorating and renovating indoors. We have been studying French to become fluent speakers & June is at an intermediate level with Alan not far behind so we would be interested to hear from any native French speakers interested in staying with us so we could continue to improve our french language skills. We have availability from late March until mid April and July & early Autumn so please contact us if you are interested.

    Garden projects for this spring include:
    1.finishing off the area around the fire pit (laying gravel & some low stone walls),
    2. creating a patio for outdoor dining (hard standing & posts for sails & screens),
    3.installing a water feature using solar power
    4. Renovating the fence & supports in the soft fruit area

    If you don't mind a bit of hard labour for a few hours every day then we will happily supply you with comfortable private rooms & good food & company in return!

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Intermediário

  • Acomodação


    Our house was built in 1952 in the classic Limousin villa style of that period. It is spread over 4 floors and surrounded by a flat, walled garden with an above ground swimming pool.

    We can provide a double bedroom with an en-suite shower room and further double bedroom with use of the family bathroom. All rooms are spacious and light.
    We have broadband internet access.
    Strictly non-smoking in the house & garden.

    Our house can be cold in winter.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are in a village with a little privately owned chateau, beautiful church, shop, post office and bar restaurant. The nearest town with a wonderful weekly market is 10 km away. The major cities of Angouleme and Limoges are approx 50 km away. For those without their own transport we can pick up from the city train stations or airport.

    Due to the rural location it would be better for Workaways to have their own transport so they can get out & about on days off to view the lovely area we live in & get some time to themselves.

    We prefer not to have Workaways for longer than 2 weeks continuously.

    The Limousin is known as the land of a 1000 lakes and is really beautiful countryside. The park national regional of the Perigord Vert, where we are situated, is stunning and unspoilt. Green tourism is encouraged, with many opportunities for walking, cycling and canoeing.

    Marval is a really active community and there's always something going on. We have twice weekly zumba & yoga classes, a monthly craft group and also sorts of soirees and social events hosted by the 13 different associations in the commune! Hardly a week goes by without an evening of apperitives & wine somewhere!

    There's a lot to do and see, great regional cuisine and traditions. Plenty to do and see but not the action packed buzz of clubs and bars of city life.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    3 - 4 hours per day per person, flexible (i.e 20 hours per week)

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 381951647231