Enjoy island life and help with kids in Salt Spring Island, Canada

Country

Canadá

Favorito 21 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

    -

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    21/08/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 6 dias

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: 1 mês ou mais

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hello! We are a family of 5 – myself, my partner, our 9 year old son, 7 year old daughter, and 1.5 year old son.

    We live on beautiful Salt Spring Island, on a 5 acre homestead in the southern part of the island. We have a big garden and chickens, and we are building a cabin and doing renovations. We are next to Ruckle Provincial Park and heritage farm which is a popular place for tourists and locals alike. There are stunning forested and beachside trails nearby. Biking, hiking, paddling and swimming are just some of the outdoor activities you can enjoy here.

    We are primarily looking for someone to help with child care for our 1.5 year old (big kids will be in school) and with some light cleaning/house help/meal prep.

    We look forward to hearing from you!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Prática de idiomas
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We have travelled extensively and lived overseas in the past and love connecting with people from other parts of the country and world. I used to teach English as an additional language and am interested in learning languages and about other cultures.

    We love spending time outdoors, hiking, paddling, biking, camping, growing, preserving and preparing good food and would be happy to share that with you!

    We aim to provide a fun, supportive environment for you during your stay. Tell us what's important to you and we'll do our best to support that.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Child care would involve taking care of our 1.5 year old: playing with him inside and outside, going to the playground, going for walks, reading books, changing diapers, putting him down for his nap, and feeding him snacks and meals.

    You should be patient and gentle, and like children. Ask yourself if you would be able to play with a toddler for several hours a day? Can you tell stories, sing with them, and redirect them from things they are not allowed to do? Please, no cell phones when you are with them. During the working time, the child should be the main focus of our guest.

    Ideally, we are seeking someone who is able to stay longer term, for 4+ months, but this is flexible. Preference to people with child care experience, especially toddlers.

    There may also be opportunities to help in our veggie garden, household chores, meal preparation, with the chickens, work around the property or with house building and renovations. We are also open to hosting a couple – one person to do child care, and the other to help with the handy work around the property and renovations.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente
    Japonês: Fluente
    Francês: Intermediário
    Espanhol: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We have a private converted school bus to offer. It has a double bed, small kitchen, dining area, wood stove, large deck, hot and cold water, electricity and an outhouse (outdoor toilet). It is separate from our living space and very private. Access to the shower would be from our home. We can provide meals, or you have the option to prepare your own meals, but we're happy to share meals together. A bike would be available for you to use. The bus doesn't currently have wifi set up, but wifi would be available from our place.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Salt Spring is a popular tourist destination in the summer and is known for being an artsy community with a passion for sustainability.

    It is quite rural where we live. The town is about a 20 min drive away from our home, and public transit is minimal and limited to the peak season (summer). The closest shop is a 12min drive away. There are beaches, trails and lakes within biking/walking distance but biking to town is very hilly and the roads are narrow.

    The area would suit someone who loves nature, rural settings and who is independent.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Pode aceitar animais

    Pode aceitar animais

    We can discuss whether pets would be a good fit. Must be good with children and chickens.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    4-5 hours/day, 5 days/week maximum


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 369719487846