Join us in our open and friendly home for gardening and renovations in Cehegín, Spain

  • Favorito 29 vezes
  • Última atividade: 29 dez. 2022



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana



  • Descrição


    We are Rick and Deb, a fun loving British couple in our 50's living in rural Cehegín in the southeast region of Murcia, Spain. We bought a property in 2017 that needs a lot of love and are currently in the proccess of renovating and fixing up the entire house and surrounding land.

    There is a long list of jobs that need doing and with a large garden there is lots to keep on top of, especially for just the two of us. We would love to host a solo traveller or couple in our home to help us get ahead on the outstanding jobs and experience the surrounding area.

    We live 1km from the authentic Spanish town of Cehegín, a bustling area with tapas bars, shops, markets, and an old town complete with archaeloigical museum.

    A 15 minute drive from Cehegín is the larger pilgrimage city of Caravaca del a Cruz where there are many festivals and events including the running of the wine horses and sites to see.

    We are in a rural setting with no public transport so having your own car is neccesary if you would like to explore the surrounding area on your own. The local town with bus links is only around a 30-40 minute walk however and you can always catch a lift with us when we make our trips into town fairly regularly with the car, depending on what we're doing.

    When free we can show you around the local sights of Cehegín and Caravaca if that's what you would like to experience.

    Generally as a rule we only accept people over 21 as they need less motivation and have more life skills, but if you have the enthusiasm and right attitude let us know!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Construção/faça você mesmo
    Manutenção geral
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Prática de idiomas
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We pride our self on being open friendly people who like to work hard but also have a lot of fun so you can be sure of a warm welcome.

    We have renovated a number of properties over the years so this would be a great chance for someone to learn practical skills such as carpentry painting or decorating.

    Rick is a trained carpenter and mechanic, and Debbie is experienced with interior design and and gardening. If you would like to gain some practical skills we are more than willing to teach you.

    We can also help improve conversational English skills and would love to learn more Spanish.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda


    We have many tasks to do at the moment so there are a variety of jobs that need a number of different skill sets, including building , carpentry, gardening, landscaping, general DIY etc. If you have any previous experience with these skills that's a bonus but we also need a hand with the day to day tasks whilst we complete the renovations including weeding/watering the garden, general cleaning and maintenance.

    We can make a list of the tasks for each day and will communicate clearly what we need depending on what you're comfortable with.

    Current projects we are working on at the moment include:

    - Decorating rooms in the house including sanding and painting
    - Fitting an outside kitchen for our bbq area
    - Completing a wooden structure surrounding our pool area
    - Cutting back cyprus trees with a hedge trimmer
    - Building some wooden shutters for the windows
    - Tiling a downstairs utility room
    - Creating a salad garden
    - Prepping and painting outside walls
    - Clearing portions of the land

    If you have more general skills we also need help with the day to day tasks such as

    - General house work
    - General gardening (We are currently battling with the weeds!)
    - Watering the garden
    - Clearing the water rills
    - Help prep or cook meals

    Ideally we are looking for independent and capable people who are willing to pitch in, have fun and share ideas.

    In terms of tasks we ask for 4-5 hours for 5 days with 2 days off, you can split your days how you would like eg. if you would like to work at the weekend and have two days off in the week, we really don't mind as long as you complete the 5 days.

    It can get very hot where we are, so it makes sense to either make use of the cooler weather in the morning with earlier starts or split the hours in the morning and afternoon to avoid the mid day sun. Again the choice of when you would like to work is up to you.

    The work we need doing can be quite physical in nature so we ideally need someone who's generally fit especially in the heat.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Iniciante

  • Acomodação


    We have a comfortable spare bedroom with a double bed and it's own bathroom on the ground floor for you to stay in.

    At the house we also have:

    - Access to wi-fi
    - A lounge area with tv
    - A veranda
    - Access to the pool and an outside bbq area
    - Fully equipped kitchen
    - Washing machine and dishwasher

    We can provide you with 3 meals a day if you would like to eat with us. If you have a specialised diet or wish to cook your own meals you can help your self to what's in the fridge but will have to purchase any extras yourself.

    There are local markets and a supermarket located 1km away in town.

    If you have a caravan or camper there is space with an electricity connection if you prefer.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Local sites include:

    The Archaeological Museum.
    Sierras de Cazorla Nature Park
    An hours bus ride away is the capital Murcia a busy city with an airport.
    An hours drive away is the coastal town of Cartagena.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 367383867942

Comentário (1)