Beachfront island retreat. Tasmania, Australia

Country

Austrália

Favorito 57 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    24/06/2022

  • paid opportunity

    Anfitrião oferece remuneração

  • Medalhas

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    I am looking for 1-2 people to help with property projects at my holiday house. It is on Flinders Island in Bass Strait. You’ll have to google it, because nobody you’ve ever known has been there, I can guarantee. I am only looking for workawayers intermittently when I am there myself, so when I have firm dates, I will post here.

    I'm a 50 year old surgeon who has hosted several backpackers informally in previous years and really enjoyed showing them around the property and the island...an experience that money can't buy!

    If you are a qualified builder/ carpenter, or you have 12months experience as a bobcat/excavator operator, get in touch and I'll see about the options of you coming over at dates to suit you.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    I'm not sure? You'll get to stay in an amazing environment with a friendly host who will make sure you leave with a big smile on your face and plenty of happy memories! You'll learn new skills and meet locals, and your Instagram feed will go bananas! Hopefully you'll teach me how to cook, I'm ok at meat but terrible at vegetarian!

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    I'm reasonably able to find work within your capabilities as there are many projects on the go. Preference will be given to those with experience with carpentry/building and landscaping.
    Walking and bike track maintenance inc. building stairs, brushcutting, quadbike mower.
    Operating a bobcat and excavator if you have previous experience.
    Clearing and burning piles of old trees and rubbish.
    Moving dirt and recommissioning a small greenhouse.
    Fitting out the ‘man cave’ in the shed, by building cupboards, benchtops.
    Painting inside and outside the house.
    Chainsawing firewood.
    General landscaping and planting jobs. Rock moving, mulching, retaining walls etc.
    Being a gofer for me while I do those jobs.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    The house sits 50m from a beach that nobody ever goes to. Nearest neighbour is 2km away. There are 3 rooms for guests. Each has at least 2 king single or single beds. 2 rooms have their own en-suites, one shares a bathroom and a seperate toilet with my room. 2 guest rooms look out over the ocean, and the other over the back lawn towards the sunrise.
    There is a big deck on the front of the house, you will have to decide if you like to chill on the seats or hammocks there, or sit in front of the fireplace in the living area, which is huge.
    3 meals a day will be provided, and a glass of wine or beer with dinner. We all share cooking and cleaning. You can bring your own snacks, but not your own alcohol (or drugs)

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    You can take my Landcruiser out to explore the island if you’re licensed and sensible. Snorkelling, fishing and boating are weather dependent and also dependent on you convincing me that you’ll be safe. Plenty of walking on the property and beach and I’ve got 4 mountain bikes and a quad bike you’re welcome to use too.
    ****Only Telstra phones work on the island, not optus and not vodaphone. YOU NEED A TELSTRA SIM CARD in your phone, right now our house internet is not working****

    I’ll expect you’ll be respectful of our beautiful environment and each other, hard working and always safety conscious. Beyond that, I’m a strong believer in egalitarianism, so this offer is open to any and all.
    I honestly thought my place would be the best travel/ holiday/ volunteer work experience that's on offer in Australia. Money couldn’t buy it. But I’ve since looked at many of the hosts on this and other volunteer websites and I’m blown away by the options available. Now I’m just putting mine in the top ten 😀.
    I've had several backpackers come and work with me informally over the last couple of years in various capacities. I found that I really enjoyed hosting them and seeing their reaction to the property and the island. I now want to formalise future arrangements and plan them ahead as much as possible. Those that have come as workers in the past (US, Canadian, UK, NZ) have said Flinders Island was the highlight of their entire Australian trip!

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Yeah, I would say the internet connection is good not great. It's 4G to a Telstra tower. You will need to bring your won 4G Telstra phone/ hotspot/ dongle. We do have that ourselves, but it may not be possible/practical for me to a troubleshoot it for you when it's flakey and b monitor your data usage.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)






Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 362652196591