Homeschooling, gardening and general maintenance in a small house, Ireland

Country

Irlanda

Favorito 191 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    03/12/2022

  • facebook friends

    Nº de amigos no Facebook

    293

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    89.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 8 dias

  • Medalhas

    Facebook verified
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 mês

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hello everyone! We are a family of 6: little Kai aged 6, little Fiadh aged 4 , little Arlo aged 5 months and Diesel our dog, mama from Mexico and papa from Ireland …
    OUR FIRST EXPERIENCE WITH A WORKAWAYER 4 YEARS AGO WAS AMAZING! She came all the way from Canada to share with us the HOMEBIRTH of our daughter Fiadh and it was a very beautiful enriching experience for both our family and our lovely Canadian workawayer.
    Since then we have been enjoying hosting Workawayers from all around the world to do nothing truly amazing or exhausting, just following the normal routine of our home with our kids, the kitchen and gardening chores.
    WE WOULD LIKE TO WELCOME IN OUR FAMILY A PERSON THAT UNDERSTANDS HOMESCHOOLING AND THAT IS INTERESTED IN SPENDING TIME WITH YOUNG KIDS IN A MEANINGFUL WAY, SOMEONE THAT LOVES CRAFTS OR THAT IS WILLING TO TRYOUT
    We love the Steiner curriculum (Waldorf education) and a good understanding of this is desirable in order to live with us.
    We also need help with light cleaning after everyday cooking and playing, helping putting clothes away (we wash at least once a day, we also do cloth nappies) and walking our dog in the local woods.

    There’s a double room with a very comfortable bed, a desk and wardrobe to put your things away, there’s no space under the bed so we advice you to travel light.

    We mostly eat a bit of everything but we take care a lot about the origin of our food and I put emphasis in cooking nutritious and fresh meals from scratch, our meat consumption is on average 1-2 times per week (chicken only once a month when the local organic farm has them ready) but we can make exceptions when days are long and tiring (we get takeaway and you get to choose whatever you want) .
    I love cooking, in fact I spend most of my time in the kitchen, if you love cooking we already make a great team!
    Since I’m very busy with my kids and a new baby, our gardening time has decreased, I need help watering, weeding, feeding plants and eventually harvesting. My husband needs help with his pond and fish and every now and then with some building/crafting tasks around the garden.
    WHAT CAN YOU DO IN YOUR FREE TIME?
    We live in a small picturesque village, our neighbourhood is pretty average and we are steps away from the local woods. also we have a bike for you and you can explore beyond the village on it. The beach is about 30min away on the bike, the closest town is also about 30min away on a bike and 10min by bus.
    There’s an hourly bus to the city and other picturesque towns, and there’s also a pub that is almost always bursting with energy due to its closeness to a hotel.
    Our house is busy and noisy pretty often with the amount of kids coming in and out playing, the neighbours coming to say hi or for a cup of tea, family visits, friends staying over etc! It’s really more like a Mexican home rather than a quiet Irish home. If this doesn’t bother you come to stay with us!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Prática de idiomas
    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Ensino
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Me being Mexican and my husband Irish, we speak English and Spanish at home, you will learn more about Irish culture and we will be very happy to show you the main attractions of Cork, possibly interesting festivals and of course our own eco friendly lifestyle, from which you will gain more health and peace. I make most of the cosmetic products in our home and I will be very happy to show you all about them. Also in the kitchen, I have more than 4 years experience with live cultures (kefir, sourdough, sauerkraut and yogurt) and you will be involved in the maintenance and making of them.
    I put my heart in the kitchen, I believe that the kitchen is the centre of a home and you should expect not only delicious but well balanced meals. We try our best to buy only organic and local produce, and if you are worried about how will you be fed while you are away from your own home, have peace in mind that you won’t be hungry. WE ONLY EAT MEAT ONCE OR TWICE A WEEK! And if you are vegetarian or vegan, we are more then happy to help you to maintain your diet going.
    We will encourage you to learn more about the Waldorf system to raise children in a more natural and peaceful way. We try to follow a very simple life in order to give space to a happier childhood for our children, and in doing this, we realised we were gaining also time to connect to ourselves again. Being responsible of a child's wellbeing is always something that brings you back to your roots and helps you understand more about yourself, so do please take your time here with us as a life experience wether you plan on having kids or not ;-)

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    If you are a minimalist, we madly need you!! We have been on the decluttering journey for about 2 years now and we genuinely want to become minimalists.
    Our days start at around 8.30am with a relaxed waking up and going downstairs for breakfast. Most of the times is only me and my kids, as Tom my husband works at night/sleeps during the day.
    Then we have lots of unstructured playtime which allows me to tidy up a bit, take a shower or just sit down and listen to music.
    We have a break/snack at around 10am which is usually something easy like yogurt, fruit or rice cakes, just to name some.
    Lunch is at 12 and I make the best out of it, but I can also be very lazy and just prepare quesadillas. I think the dynamics in the house are dictated by the meals and the energy of the kids, leading us to plan on the day what to do, where to go, etc. I have a cargo bike to take my kids around and as far as 1 hour cycling, theres a bike for you too :-)
    Dinner happens between 4-6pm depending on how busy is the day
    Bed time is at 8pm, we start unwinding at around 7.30pm

    My kids are very independent and used to play on their own, they also listen to audiobooks a lot, I say theres no much to do with them, obviously the first weeks you will be some kind of superstar and they will follow you everywhere to know you, but they also know you need your space and that when you have your door closed nobody can ask you for anything.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We have one room with a luxurious double bed, lots of light and a bit of space to accommodate your belongings, and we also have a tiny room with a bunk bed, this is my son’s room but he is not ready to move out of my room just yet...

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Its a quiet village, but since Covid-19 our house is busy with kids and lots of going in and out. We follow a very healthy and complete diet at home. And if we eat meat expect the best unprocessed local meat. ;-)
    There’s a bus every hour to the city, public transport in Ireland is quite expensive but we can provide you with a visit to the city once a week. The bus to the city takes 20-30 min depending on the route it takes, and there’s also a big town 7min away from our village on bus and 35-40 min on the bike where Aupair meetings happen on a regular basis, lots of pubs, shops and a local produce market.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We currently have a guest who works from his room creating apps, he has 3 different computers all connected to our wifi, so its pretty decent.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.7)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.0)

Comunicação: (4.0)











Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 337915912536