Live in an old log home and help us with our farm and greenhouse in Belfair, Washington state, USA

Country

EUA

Favorito 121 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    26/09/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 2 dias

  • Medalhas

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hi!

    We live on 16 acres in Belfair, Washington. We have three houses on the property and always have numerous projects going on including construction, keeping up with the several dozen chickens and ducks, maintaining a 2500 square foot green house, woodworking, canning, and maintaining the homestead. As our six, now adult kids, (ages 19-32) have grown and three of them have moved away, our projects have continued to expand while our helpers have dwindled. We are passionate about composting, gardening, and making beautiful spaces for hosting and community. In addition to maintaining the land, we love creative projects; last year Joe built an outdoor pizza/bread oven and when some of our kids are home they love spending time in our small pottery studio with a wheel and a small kiln.

    We always enjoy meeting new people and practicing hospitality in our home. We both love to cook and try to incorporate freshly grown produce into our meals. Life is a great gift, and our Christian faith is important to us. We love good conversations, lots of music, board and card games, working together on projects and the reward of a job well-done. We look forward to hearing from you about how we could create an experience that would best fit the work and exploration experiences you are looking for.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We love learning from other cultures and other people's experiences and backgrounds. We have found our many long term exchange students to provide such a rich opportunity for fellowship. We are a very welcoming family and passionate about our little farm life and the work that we do. Joe has decades of building and woodworking experience, while Rachel has many years of agriculture experience. We love to learn from others and share our knowledge and experiences. We welcome the workaway to join us in work, volleyball, hiking, impromptu music, or cooking a meal. We have hosted many adults and teenagers over the years from Japan,Taiwan, Spain, England, Kuwait, Oman, Vietnam and Saudi Arabia. Each one is an adventure and soon become a special part of our family! We look forward to learning and sharing life together with others.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Some of the projects we are looking at completing this summer include:

    - Weeding and maintaining greenhouse and garden spaces, planting LOTS of flowers.

    - Harvesting greenhouse produce and fruit trees. Canning, dehydrating, and preserving fruits and vegetables.
    - Possible chainsaw work with logs, splitting wood by hand and with our wood splitter, and stacking it.
    -Mulching with our leaf shredder and wood chipper to make compost.
    - Building projects including decks for possible tent sites.

    - Pruning trees, bushes. Mowing the lawn, helping with burn piles, pulling up invasive weeds that take over.
    -Cooking some meals to share, helping set up for an outdoor party, hosting friends.

    Joe and Rachel would be working with the workaway on these projects. You would be trained to use tools, equipment and organic gardening principles. Depending on the experience and time frame of the guest, there may be room to explore independent and creative opportunities.

  • Idiomas

    Idiomas
    Inglês: Fluente

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    Este anfitrião indicou que tem interesse em compartilhar seu idioma ou em aprender um novo.
    Entre em contato com ele para obter mais informações.

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    You will be staying in our 1940s era log home. We often have a couple rooms available, one upstairs and one downstairs. Depending on the season and availability. Both rooms have complete bed, closet, electricity, wifi and either a private bathroom or one that is shared with us.

    For food we often eat meals together, depending on everyones' schedules. You will be welcome to join us for any meal, or have your own personal time for meals. We try to eat breakfast by 830, lunch at noon and dinner at 6pm. We welcome guests cooking in our kitchen and love sharing food together. (Much of our diet in the summer consists of produce off the land).

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We also have a small river on our property which is fun to walk along and explore in the summer months.
    We often have people over in the summer months, potlucks, bonfires with music and hanging out time. You would have opportunities to meet new friends if you are interested. We are a drug free, pot free, no smoking home.

    During the weekdays, we have a local county bus that is steps away from our front door. It is a 20 minute ride to the Bremerton to Seattle ferry, providing easy exploration opportunities for the city. From our doorstop to downtown Seattle can be a beautiful 1.5 hr trip.

    The small town of Belfair is 3 miles away providing groceries and beautiful walking trails. You can bus or borrow bikes to Belfair. We also have kayaks potentially available for local use in the Belfair salt water or fresh water lakes.

    We love to hike and go on day trips to the surrounding Olympics, Cascades, and Mt Rainier National Forests. Depending on interests and timing we would love to take you on day trips to explore the beauty around where we live!

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    We could make space for this and provide electrical hook up, if needed.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    1

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (5.0)














Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 312592182754