Always an interesting project at a historic home in Portland, Oregon, USA

Country

EUA

Favorito 502 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    04/10/2022

  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    94.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 7 dias

  • Medalhas

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 2 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Our household includes: at least 3-4 people living in it plus a dog (half Aussie/half blue heeler rescue). Dr Darcy the Siamese who lives indoor, a Siamese barn cat, 7 chickens and a big vegetable garden. We've rescued our 1889 house from the derelict building list in 1992 and now live in a comfortable home with a wonderful front porch. There is always a project to be done and depending on the length of time you are here and your skill set, we'll try to find something that you can enjoy or feel a sense of contribution doing. COVID vaccine and booster is a MUST.

    We love supporting people in their travels and transitions and are NOT a long-term housing/living situation. We have hosted 45+ people from Workaway and another platform since joining in 2015 with 3-4 repeats now. We have had a great time getting to know people from all over the world while doing projects at our home and it has been an amazing experience for our family!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Ajuda em projetos ambientais
    Jardinagem
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Cuidar de animais
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    We had college exchange students from Korea, Japan, and Finland for about 3 years and really enjoyed it. We started doing Hosting the Summer of 2015 and have had an amazing experience meeting people from different backgrounds, cultures, and life experiences. We also enjoy the outdoors, sustainable food, architecture, and working together to get something exciting done!

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    Current projects: see pics in profile.
    1) Working on a flagstone back patio currently.

    2) we are working on putting in pavers next to existing narrow sidewalk to make it a little more spacious. We will teach you how to level and mortar.

    3) We are working on a earth bag sunken garden with garden wall--in progress since fall 2019.

    4) We would enjoy help with painting the exterior of our house as weather allows. We've removed all lead paint sealed the first coat with primer years ago and have transitioning to LEAD FREE latex on the exterior. But we have lived here long enough now it it time for a re-do. Painting experience is a plus, but we also would consider someone with a steady hand, attention to detail, and an eagerness to learn.

    We have really enjoyed people come with various skill sets so let us know what your expertise is or what you love to do and we'll go from there. Given the size of the house, there is always something that needs done be it cleaning up after a meal, emptying the dish drain and dishwasher, vacuuming the house or mopping the kitchen floor, leaf raking in the fall and planting or gardening…you get the idea.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    We will provide you with 3 meals a day. Meals are full farm--dairy and dairy alternatives (two of us don't do dairy), eggs are available always, some meat, and lots of veggies and a variety of grains/nuts. If you are vegan, this is NOT the home for you but we can accommodate lacto-ovo vegetarian usually by putting meat on the side. You will stay in a comfortable space--large walk in closet, bedroom with a queen bed with an enclosed porch with a desk/table and couch for relaxing. This could accommodate a couple or a lucky single! The bathroom is shared and you are responsible for sharing a thorough weekly cleaning as well as vacuuming your room and changing/washing the towels and sheets weekly. We prefer a quiet house on school nights from 9:30 p.m.- 6:30 a.m. during the school year but are up later on the weekends and the summer.

    NON-NEGOTIABLES:
    *VAPE-FREE, SMOKE-FREE and DRUG-FREE property (no tobacco or marijuana). Exceptions: coffee, tea and chocolate!
    If you smoke/vape chew tobacco or weed...not here please.
    *NO pets or young children please.
    *COVID vaccine plus booster a must
    *Our dog is a rescue and is NOT baby/kid friendly so we do NOT host families.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We live in a historic neighborhood on bus lines and close to bike rentals near the Alberta Arts district as well as Missississippi and North Williams Avenues. There is lots to see and enjoy from hiking, biking, swimming, and day trips to the Gorge and the ocean and more!

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have a fiberoptic line into the house and have excellent wifi connectivity.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Street parking is all we have to offer.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    20 hours a week--flexible when possible on how you do it

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (4.8)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicação: (4.8)






















Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 176247177669