Help with the renovation of my old house and discover Bagnoregio and Tuscia, Italy



Favorito 67 vezes

  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Última atividade


  • Last email replied

    Taxa de resposta

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Tempo médio de resposta:

    dentro 4 dias

  • Descrição


    I am working remotely for some American companies. Being able to work from anywhere I tend to move countries every now and then, but often come back to my old house to enjoy the peaceful atmosphere and to make some improvements when possible. Though not planning my movements much in advance it's difficult for me to find the right moment and the right workawayer, hope in some luck :)

    The story: i know well the area because I was born in this Italian village called Bagnoregio, and spent here almost all my summers as a kid, but I lived most of my life in the Republic of San Marino and then abroad in the UK and Vietnam.
    In the last few years I've got quite tired of the "9 to 5 work to pay bills" way of living , so I decided to change for what's possible, and when in Italy I stay in what was my mother's house, where my mother Luigina grew up and me partly too, and started renovating it.

    The house: it is a very interesting ancient building of 3 floors, plus a cellar which also includes a hand carved cave of 3 underground floors (quite amazing).
    Its history and its precise age still are unclear, but there are some rock carvings reporting the name of the family that built it (supposedly) and on one of these stones on the house front we can read 1704 (I know it sounds a bit crazy, but that's it and here poeple are used to this kind of stuff).
    I feel a great love for this house, the town and its surroundings, especially the Lake Bolsena, which is amazing, the biggest volcanic lake in Europe (that it's just 10 km away), and a few years ago I started thinking that I would have liked to do something in order to not let 'die' the house, which works as a connection between me, my life story and with these amazing places.
    I in fact opposed on selling it years ago, because all around here is lovely, peaceful and full of nature and sometimes you have the impression that the time passes much slower here, plus i know my mother wouldn't like to sell it, so I will not as well, possibly, until and if i will be able to manage to keep it.
    About the possibility of selling it, that is because when my mother died, my father eventually lost interest on visit it, you know, a lot of memories and not much reasons actually to come for him alone, understandable, also me and my brother were busy working abroad and so he considered to sell it, but only because no one was coming here and basically we are only paying taxes for it, so he is right, something should be done with it or it has no sense to keep it as we just spend money on taxes without enjoying it. The idea then was to renew at least the first floor and make an independent cute 1 bedroom apartment, where to come back every now and then (I usually live abroad most of the year) and to eventually, maybe (but it is not a priority), sporadically rent it out for short term stays during summer (only summer because it has no modern heating, only a wood stove, which i love to use during those still cool months during the end of winter/beginning of spring, and also an electric radiator for in case of real need).

    Most of the big works on the first floor were done, I am now in need to refurbish the entrance door, the door that goes upstairs, the cellar gate (both wooden, very old and quite ruined). Also there's still need for work in many other little and less little things, which I am unfortunatly not able to do properly or at least not able to do by myself. Same for some wooden window blinds and more things like renew ancient wooden furnitures, fixing curtains/wooden shutters etc.

    As you understand, this is not an organisation or such, it is just a single human with the willing to not let go this home which means much to me and keeps me connected somehow with my roots, and that also believes in this kind of cultural exchanges and mutual help, so I thought to consider this way of doing it, as i think much good can come from the exchange of ideas and help each other.
    So what I offer is to work together and stay in my house and show you around if you wish, it will be more of a friendly visit with some of the mentioned duties rather than a work, in my opinion, but yes we will need to get something done also :)

    This is pretty much all, if anyone is interested, feel free to contact me and we can have a chat about it and see if it is possible for you to come and if it is the right thing for you.

    Greetings to everyone reading :)


  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Prática de idiomas
    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral

  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    All around there is a wonderful valley, just a walk from the famous Civita di Bagnoregio, called the 'dying' city and now recently famous worldwide with a lot of tourists coming to visit from all around the world.
    The amazing lakes of Bolsena, Vico and Bracciano (all volcanic) are about 15 and 45 mins away.
    Full of other interesting and beautiful medieval towns around.
    Rome is about 1 hour and a half far away driving or with train.

    The culture of food and agriculture here is rich and in summer is full of popular fairs everywhere where you can see typical and old things about the local culture and culinary traditions.

    If you come from a big city and wishing to see something different, you'll feel in another world and out of the beaten track.

  • Ajuda


    Everything that helps on house/furniture renovation and improvements.

    What I am looking for is to host handy-men/women, proactive and propositive people, that know how to do what is needed and can work autonomously if needed and that have a desire to visit the area and discover an amazing part of Italy, made of little villages and genuine people, where some old life habits still living and away from metropolis way of living, and in the same time will autonomously be able to do some needed work in the house, any kind of the needed ones that I am not able to do on my own (yes, i regret i was raised with poor manual skills, and re-considering manual works as something we shouldn't lose the ability to do as a generation).
    From deep cleaning (traces of walls building and painting, although most is done) to fixing curtains/wooden shutters as ruined by the sun, rain and time, re-paint where needed, refurbish doors, old wooden furnitures that need a refresh maybe change the wall papers where there's some, some minor building work maybe and whatever we think can be useful and can be done for the house.

    Also creative people are welcome, you know maybe some painting and other ideas you may have for little things around the house that I may be not able to think about.
    All this should be done, though, in a way to respect the house's ancient style and soul, so we can't just make random graffitis around the house, although beautiful, this just to give an easy example.

    There is no work hours, although workaway asks to indicate some, we will do some work together and then chill out or go and have fun around enjoying the places, hiking, eating, drinking and visiting if you like.

    Just to be clear, this is not those kind of projects to take advantage of people and looking to the watch for the hours of work, there is no business here, this is just looking for genuine people that may have the ability to help on what is needed and having fun for themselves while doing it, no slaves or exploitation here ;), i firmly believe in help each other, i believe in mutual respect, in open source and peer production philosophy, and once we're done or had enough of some work, we go chill out.
    Of course it is neither one of those where guests take advantage of an host or ask for stuff arrogantly as if it should be granted.
    Where's there is to eat for me there is for sure to eat for 2 and you have your room and bed offered, but for the rest and anything extra, we will share as good friends would do and I will help where I can.
    Sorry, i hope this doesn't sound rude, but i have read bad stories about some people behaving like that (both hosts and workawayers), so i just prefer to make it clear i will not tolerate bad/toxic behaviors nor freeloaders, but i am totally friendly and easy going.

    I also eventually developed an interest and curiosity towards meditation and Yoga but i never had the chance to really try much and I would actually enjoy to be somehow introduced to that by someone, as the first step to a public lesson results to be quite difficult to me, so workawayers with meditation, Yoga and alike skills are welcome to contact me and stay if they like, with no regards to the above mentioned house works, if the place is not already taken (can't host more than one at the moment and priority goes to manual works).

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Fluente
    Italiano: Fluente
    Russo: Iniciante

    Este anfitrião oferece intercâmbio de idiomas
    I also consider hosting for language practice for some languages like Spanish. I was always told i am good, but need to practice as i do not have chances to speak it now and i do not want to lose it. Though Russian is required the most as it is more difficult. I managed to learn most of the alphabet and know some words/basic phrases, practicing every day now with some apps, but that's all, and I am interested to learn and practicing more.

  • Acomodação


    There is a spare private bedroom where Workawayers can privately stay, a new room in the renovated part of the house (I have another upstairs for myself).
    Everything is basically working, hot water, toilets, kitchen etc.
    It can be either for a couple of days or a week or whatever we decide it s reasonable. At the moment I am not able to plan for long term projects.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    Transports are not very well developed in this area, so you may need to have your own transport or be very patient if wishing to visit some more far areas by yourself.
    On the other hand I will help every time it is possible, I have a car, i could bring you to train stations and I am happy to visit around myself so...
    For the basic things, can just walk around, you will find everything and will love the little streets.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    To be honest in here I use a 4g modem router, but I also work from home and i can't complain in terms of speed for calls/meetings, streaming etc. Just GB are kind of limited to about 200 per month for now but I never manged to finish the bundle.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?


  • ...

    Horas previstas

    No counted hours, just deciding what to do and getting it done, nor rush and no pressure

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 223329714429