atualizado  

Experience small farm living in a bucolic country setting, near Monmouth, Oregon, USA

  • EUA
  • Favorito 584 vezes
  • Última atividade: 08/02/2023

Disponibilidade

  2023 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 3 semanas

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Detalhes

  • Descrição

    Descrição

    Hi there! Welcome to our small, non-commercial farm, located on beautiful 5-acres in the countryside! On our small farm there are several raised beds, a greenhouse, summer vegetables, a blueberry and raspberry patch, and a swimming pond. Strider is our beloved 2 year old English Shepherd! This means we cannot have pup visitors during your experience here. Most of the farm is a fenced pasture for 6 sheep and 30 to 40 chickens and several varieties of fruit trees. There is a symbiotic relationship between the sheep, chickens, fruit trees, and the small lake. Think sustainable living and farming. Our home and garden are surrounded by perennial plantings of herbs and flowers. Much of the food and herbs we eat are grown here. We share excess harvest with neighbors and Workawayer guests! Sustainability is our philosophy, and permaculture is our approach. The farm is nestled in the central Willamette Valley, close to the cities of Salem, McMinnville, and Corvallis; Portland and Eugene are not far. Eastern Oregon is a beautiful high desert with lava fields, forests and ski resorts.

    David and Suzanne have a wealth of knowledge, experience and love to share stories. Both David and Suzanne have masters degrees, in psychology and community development respectively. David owned and developed a vineyard and winery, grew up on a farm, and worked as a social worker with Children's Services. David has two grown daughters who live out of town. Suzanne managed farmers markets for many years, worked for the post office, and built the tiny house! Suzanne has two grown sons in Portland who visit often!

    We both have a wealth of information and experiences, and are happy to share when asked. We are sources of information on farming, permaculture, gardening, irrigation, marketing, food preservation, and a variety of other topics. Your presence is helpful as we are both in our late 60's. We welcome your help. The main house has a large, beautifully remodeled kitchen and great room. This will be our fifth year hosting Workawayers!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos artísticos
    Companhia para idosos
    Jardinagem
    Cuidar de animais
    Ajuda em fazenda
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Whether from the USA or another country, we value, respect and provide an open, receptive and supportive environment for the exchange of culture and knowledge.

    In this quiet setting, you can be a part of a cohesive community, while also feeling recognized as a unique individual. Guests who spend time here generally leave having gained knowledge, knowing their work and contributions have been valued, and an expanded skill set, better equipped to continue their journey. Your happiness is our reward! (Feel free to check out the reviews left from past guests.)

    We both enjoy sharing equally as learning from you! We welcome you to share your interests, experiences and knowledge. This exchange is mutually beneficial. Here, exists the opportunity to feel appreciated, grounded and connected while exploring relationship to Nature.

    In our experience, a Workawayer benefits most when here for 2 to 3 months or more; experiencing part of, or an entire season!

    Learning to live in balance
    Takes time.
    Patience and perseverance.

    Nature is our mentor.
    We are all stewards of the earth.
    Through listening, and
    Observing nature,
    We grow and learn,
    Cultivating wisdom.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    First of all, you must be fully vaccinated and boosted. A photo of your card is required.
    We are looking for help in two general areas, one with lending a hand to Suzanne around the house and one to help David care for the land/as a farm hand.

    Our primary need is for someone to help Suzanne!

    Main expectations: meal preparation, light cleaning, errands, and help around the house

    Do you love to cook with farm fresh ingredients? Suzanne has limited function in one hand and cooking would specifically help immensely along with some other tasks below. Participate in the sustainability cycle of the farm fresh ingredients and come full circle to sustain yourself and us both in family meals prepared in a beautiful open kitchen. You should have some experience in cooking and would prepare 2-3 meals a week. Other tasks in this elder companionship would include some light housekeeping to keep the house tidy and clean, picking up water from a nearby spring, collecting and washing eggs (our chickens are very friendly!), organization of storage areas and recycling. Time permitting, you can help Suzanne with gardening the perennial and annual flowers, vegetables and herbs. Suzanne is an artist and would love a buddy as she works on projects! There will also be some opportunities to help with farm work at times! We are looking for someone who is wishing to stay more than a few months.

    Our secondary need is for help on the farm!

    We are looking for a person for help with the farm work. Specifically, we would like you to commit (if a good fit) for a long-term stay (think a year or longer). We’re looking for someone with farm experience with animals, planting foodstuffs, harvesting and perhaps pruning. Food preservation is a bonus. This person will get to stay in the tiny house. If you are a person with farm experience, wanting to stay for a year or more, you will have the opportunity to design and implement some of your own agricultural aspirations! We are very open to projects of your own as well as maintaining our well-oiled machine!

    Main expectations: Winter time is pruning time. Vines, fruit trees, blackberries and hedges all benefit. March and April is seed planting time. April and May we are direct seeding, weeding flower beds, weed whacking with a weed eater, fence mending, blackberry eradication, addressing irrigation needs, brush removal, and landscaping and maintenance projects are ongoing throughout the Summer. Food preservation and processing occur mostly in June, Sept, Oct. and Nov. We dry apples, pears, and spearmint and other herbs. Planting of Winter greens and garlic happens in August and Early Sept. In the Fall we may make cider, jellies and butters; can salsas, hot sauce and tomato sauces; roast peppers and freeze eggplant, peas, and beans. Excess fresh produce in the Summer and canned or frozen products from them in the Winter, are shared with guests.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Espanhol: Intermediário

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    The Workawayer helping Suzanne will stay in the main house. You will have your own fully furnished bedroom with dresser, bed, desk and closet. You will have access to shared living and dining spaces in the house!

    Currently, the tiny house is available for your stay. However, we are looking for a full time farm worker who will stay long term in the tiny house.

    The Workawayer helping with farm work will stay in the tiny house. It is located on the property behind the main house. It has a sofa, a small dining table and desk, well equipped kitchen and bathroom with shower stall and composting toilet. There is a full sized electric stove and oven, full sized refrigerator, two beds in separate lofts, and high speed internet. There is also an outdoor table and chairs, large grill, chaise lounges, and a fire pit. The tiny house overlooks the garden and pond!

    There is no smoking in either house. Smoking outdoors is OK. We are 420 friendly.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are an hour away from the ocean (Newport, Yaquina Bay), and 30 to 35 minutes west of Salem, North of Corvallis, South of McMinnville. Portland and Eugene are one hour and 15 minutes away. Wineries surround us up and down the valley. The Willamette river is 7 miles away. The mountains are an hour to the East, the high desert, obsidian fields, skiing, rock climbing, white water rafting, and many other adventures await you.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    There is a router in the main house and tiny house with speeds up to 60 mbs. Cell reception is spotty.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    We ask for 25 hours a week.

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 221393642299

Comentário (15)



Comentário

Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (5.0)

Comunicação: (4.9)


















Stay at our homestead and enjoy the tropics of Hilo, Hawaii
Help with horses in the beautiful Santa Monica Mountains, California