Join us for a British family homestay in London, UK

  • Reino Unido
  • Favorito 1638 vezes
  • Última atividade: 21 mar. 2023



 Hospedagem min. solicitada: 1 mês ou mais



  • Descrição


    Message now for July onwards!! Minimum 1 month, with a preference for longer stays. Fluent English required, non-smokers only.

    Want to know more about the British family culture? Take the chance to explore London as well as the countryside! Join our family in our South London home.

    We've been doing workaway since Summer 2019 and have found it a fantastic opportunity to offer guests an authentic British family cultural exchange, tips to make the most out of London, and for us to have the benefit of an extra pair of hands to keep the house running smoothly, and learn more about your language and culture. We're very happy to help our guests perfect their English, and love to learn some of your language, but we've learnt that an advanced English level is required to be able to communicate well with the children.

    We have space for two workawayers to join us at a time, so you will usually have someone to buddy up with to explore.

    We'd love to host someone who is happy to be an extra helping hand in our household, such as cooking us a meal (I have collated a book of new recipes from workawayers!) or assisting with some typical family tasks.

    We are a busy family living in the London suburbs. We (Ben & Fiona) work from home, while Pippa (6) and Emmie (4) are in school and nursery, so familiarity with young children would be an advantage to fitting in with the family! They particularly benefit from someone who has real energy and enthusiasm and genuinely enjoys being a big kid!

    We have a large house in London zone 6 with a big garden. We have 3 spare rooms available, two are on the top floor with own bathroom. We are 2 minutes walk from the train station and it takes just 20 minutes on the train to London Bridge or London Victoria, so it is a great base for exploring the city.

    Sorry we cannot accommodate workawayers travelling with their children, and single males only with DBS check or relevant experience. Non smokers only please. We ask for a minimum of 1 month and prefer longer stays.

    When messaging us, please include:
    Your travel dates (start date, duration, any flexibility), why you think you are the right person for our family.

    If we have been in contact in the past and you are still travelling, please do send us a new message, we find it very hard to keep track of everyone we have spoken to!

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Cuidar de crianças/atividades criativas
    Criar/cozinhar refeições caseiras
    Ajuda a cuidar da casa
    Manutenção geral
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Our place is a brilliant base for exploring London, the train takes just 20 minutes to London bridge (we are in zone 6). We lived in the city centre for 10 years before moving out to zone 6, so we can recommend all sorts of things to do, and help you get good deals on entrance tickets.

    For some long term workaway helpers in the summer we took them on a trip to Brighton and had a 'goodbye' English cream tea - we can't always promise to do these extra things but our guests weren't able to explore the area so much during lockdown and we didn't want them to miss out on the full English experience!

    We are a busy family, so we like to have our own relaxation time in the evenings, but you are welcome to join us for meals and trips out. I love to cook and learn new recipes from our guests, so I'd be happy to teach you to cook and bake the things we eat.

  • Au pair

    Ajuda Au Pair

    This host has let us know they’ll be complying with UK regulations for au pair stays.

  • Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Projetos que envolvem crianças

    Este projeto pode envolver crianças. Para mais informações, veja aqui nossas diretrizes e dicas.

  • Ajuda


    We're looking for someone who will join us as a family member and pitch in with typical family daily tasks.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente
    Francês: Intermediário
    Alemão: Iniciante

  • Acomodação


    You will have a large bedroom with a double bed. Two of the workaway rooms have one bathroom to themselves, and the third room shares the family bathroom.

    We usually host two workawayers, so you will usually have someone to explore the area with.

    You will share our kitchen/breakfast room and will join us for family meals (or cook for yourself if we are out). Please note that we do not eat meat, but do eat fish. We can easily accommodate vegan or vegetarian diets, and other allergies, but prefer that you do not cook meat in our house.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    We are in the London suburbs, there are lovely walks nearby, including the London Loop, lots of National Trust properties to explore, and we are an easy drive or train journey from the coast (eg Brighton or Eastbourne). Croydon is a short bus ride away with lots of shops.

    It is very quick and easy to get into central London - it takes just 20 minutes on the train to reach London Bridge or London Victoria.

    Covid note: We ask our workawayers to follow the government rules, but also be sensible about risk taking.

    Note: we do NOT need you to be able to drive - everywhere is easily accessible by public transport.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    Pode hospedar nômades digitais

    We have a high speed internet connection and can provide access to a desk.

  • Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Espaço para estacionar campervans

    Este anfitrião pode fornecer espaço para vans.

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Mais de 2

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Join us as a family member and help out as required, no more than 5 hours on 5 days

Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 197172333624

Comentário (17)



Essas classificações são opcionais e foram dadas junto com os comentários dos membros.A classificação média deixada por cada opção é exibida.

Precisão do perfil: (5.0)

Intercâmbio cultural: (4.8)

Comunicação: (4.9)

Help out on our estate on the Isle of Jura, Scotland, UK
Cultural exchange at a family home near Lisburn, Northern Ireland