Come and learn more about building and renovations, tiling, basic plumbing, farm machinery in Tabulam, Australia

Country

Austrália

Favorito 23 vezes


  • rating

    Classificação do anfitrião

  • feedbacks

    Comentário

    -

  • last activity

    Última atividade

    27/04/2019

 
  2022 

 Hospedagem min. solicitada: mínimo 1 semana

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Descrição

    Descrição

    I have a small parcel of land (33 acres), 16 horses (many aged and retired) and I work 3 to 4 days pw off farm and the rest trying to keep up with working paddocks, maintaining fences and machinery etc. The paddock work is just to ensure decent pasture for the horses and I am currently working up four horses (one under saddle so far) and keen to continue to apply natural horse-person principles (non violent). During the other work days I practice as a clinical therapist (no i am not crazy) and love the balance the two contrasting interests provide for me. I am vegetarian, a mature single (happily) female that has reached the stage where i have to admit that my 2 hands are simply not enough anymore. More about me: I am rather outspoken about injustice, have a keen interest in law and politics, love cooking for others (did own a restaurant), have done a large proportion of building/renovations etc. myself with a little help here and there, have every tool one could desire (I love carpentry) am a lousy house keeper (my fluffy cats and hairy border collie like to distribute as much hair inside as they can). My current projects: I am close to starting a complete rebuild on my bathroom and converting my laundry into a shower. With that i will be building a deck/garden, I have stables to finish lining with timber, more paddock gates to install, paddocks to hoe and plant out (yes I have all the machinery) and my list of projects seems endless.

  • Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Tipos de ajuda e oportunidades de aprendizado

    Projetos de construção/faça você mesmo
    Ajuda em fazenda

  • Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos de sustentabilidade da ONU que este anfitrião quer atingir

    Objetivos da ONU
    Erradicar a pobreza
    Erradicar a fome
    Saúde de qualidade
    Educação de qualidade
    Igualdade de género
    Água potável e saneamento
    Energias renováveis e acessíveis
    Trabalho digno e crescimento económico
    Indústria, inovação e infraestruturas
    Reduzir as desigualdades
    Cidades e comunidades sustentáveis
    Produção e consumo sustentáveis
    Ação climática
    Proteger a vida marinha
    Proteger a vida terrestre
    Paz, justiça et instituições eficazes
    Parcerias para a implementação dos objetivos
  • Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    Oportunidades de intercâmbio cultural e aprendizado

    In terms of skills I feel I could offer a few worth knowing in basic building and renovations, tiling, basic plumbing, farm machinery and how to operate safely and cooking (if you don't have those skills already). As a clinical therapist you would be welcome to pick my brains and in terms of conversations well I am happy to discuss topics, share knowledge re this region and all that it has to offer.

  • Ajuda

    Ajuda

    OK well being familiar with tractors etc. would be great, plumbing skills/carpentry? that would be awesome but general good old fashioned common sense and prepared to learn how to operate power tools etc. is fine. Horses - YES if you are an accomplished and confident rider I would be in heaven and having some knowledge of natural training methods a real bonus OR a willingness to learn (I will even bring an experienced trainer over for a weekend to offer training). I am going to have to start feeding horses shortly as the pasture loses its goodness and so being ok with feeding out when i am working off farm would be a given. I guess working with the horses is probably my priority as i am keen to get a couple out and about having some endurance rides in the not too distant future. If you are a learner then this wouldn't suit you. I am a very open minded woman and not at all conservative in my lifestyle or politics. I should add that i am not religious but spiritual.

  • Idiomas

    Inglês: Fluente

  • Acomodação

    Acomodação

    My main living area is open (I have range of gym equipment in it), bedroom is very large but now has 2 queen beds, TV and coffee table, drawers etc. The main bed is very comfy and the second one is loaded up with pillows for lounging. My other spare room has just been turned into a wardrobe! so if I had a trainer here they might need to take the lounging bed but this would be a once off only. I only have the one bathroom and we are on rainwater so I tend to be frugal in that regard. Food will be provided and I rarely eat on the days (evenings) when i work off farm so some meals we could share others would be whatever suited at the time. I try to buy organic and through summer grow organic.

  • Algo mais...

    Algo mais...

    There is no local transport as such but i work in 2 different towns and so making it possible to get to those is easy and provided you can drive on the left hand side of the road and safely then i am fine with lending a vehicle for day trips to places like Byron Bay if that takes your fancy or Tenterfield and the New England region while i am at work. I have never had a volunteer at my place and am a rather private person who likes my own space and whilst happy to share that I would expect and respect another person's need to have quiet time. My days at home are usually Friday through to Monday and so that is when i would most need a person to work with me.

  • Mais alguns detalhes

    Mais alguns detalhes

    • Acesso à internet

    • Acesso à internet limitado

      Acesso à internet limitado

    • Temos mascotes

    • Somos fumantes

    • Pode hospedar famílias

  • Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    Quantos Workawayers pode acomodar?

    1

  • ...

    Horas previstas

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Nº de ref. de anfitrião: 129369132465

Dê Workaway de presente
Saiba mais

Encontre o anfitrião perfeito