mis à jour  

Come help me with building projects and organic gardening while you hang out in the redwoods of Northern California, USA

  • États-Unis
  • Enregistré comme favori 209 fois
  • Activité récente: 29.01.2023

Disponibilité

  2023 

 Séjour min. souhaité : Au moins deux semaines

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Infos

  • Description

    Description

    My name is Julie. I'm a public school teacher at a tiny mountain school. I teach children who are ages 5-8. I worked in construction in the past but now I build because it's so much fun to do. I'm very open minded and really enjoy getting to know new people. I'm smallish (61 inches tall), oldish (65 years old), and very energetic and cheerful. I believe in kindness, compassion and honesty. I love to work hard and have fun! I've had international guests stay with me often and have felt enriched and inspired by these interactions. I have also been a guest in many homes around the world.

  • Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Types d'aide et opportunités d'apprendre

    Aide avec des éco-projets
    Jardinage
    Bricolage et projets de construction
    Cuisine/repas pour la famille
    Entretien général
  • Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    Echange culturel et opportunités d'apprendre

    I live in the redwoods of Northern California. There are hiking trails leaving from my front door. My house is in a very quiet area with lots of privacy, quiet and nature. I may be able to teach you certain building skills. In addition, I'm very curious and love to listen and learn from people. I LOVE listening to people's stories and telling a few of my own.

  • Aide

    Aide

    I need people with at least some experience with building or a strong desire to learn. I always have a lot of projects going but my most pressing endeavor at this time is fence building (check out the photos). I'm focused on getting my garden area completely enclosed before the planting season. If you want to learn to build a complicated fence and use a lot of different types of tools, this project will be fun for you! As I look ahead, I'll be working on establishing organic gardens that will produce a significant portion of the foods I eat. The winter crops are planted. My rainwater system is in place, so my water needs are self sustaining: a significant issue in my neck of the wood where there is usually NO rain from June to October. I'll be building pathways and creating new raised beds this spring.

  • Langues parlées

    Anglais: Courant
    Espagnol: Débutant

  • Hébergement

    Hébergement

    I built a tiny house on my property that would be just for you. It is small but has everything you need to be comfortable. Your only source of heat is a small wood stove. I will keep you supplied with wood and it will keep you warm but wood stoves take time and attention. You would be welcome to hang out in the main house with me for meals and at other times.

  • Autres infos...

    Autres infos...

    This part of California is very beautiful. I live in the mountains. I'm about 45 minutes from the ocean and 2 1/2 hours from San Francisco. My house is five miles from town so unless you have your own car or a willingness to walk, you might feel stuck. As is typical of the states, public transportation is very limited. My neighborhood has hundreds of acres of forest that will remain as open space in perpetuity, in order to support wildlife. You might see or hear black bear, mountain lions, bobcats and foxes. Deer visit regularly and will walk up to you begging for food. We might actually have raccoons, skunks, squirrels and chipmunks running around in the house! (I politely ask them to leave!)

    I'm a vegetarian but very tolerant of other people's choices. I will provide you with the foods that you prefer. I hope that we will cook together for an evening meal and share other meals as our schedules allow.

    I NEVER get going very early unless I have to. I love my quiet, solitary mornings so 10AM is my usual time to start work on the weekends. During the school year I am gone from VERY early in the morning (hence my love for a slow start on the weekends) until early evening. You must be able to be happy with your own company while I'm at work. I'll give you simple tasks to do if you want or we will only work together on the weekends and just hang out and cook together during the work week. During the week you'll be free to roam through the forest, read, meditate, draw or paint, or whatever feeds your soul.

    This workaway works best for people who can find sustenance in solitude and in nature. You must be secure enough in yourself to spend time alone. Or bring a friend with you!

    I have several cats who come into the main house. You can interact with them if you want to but they are cats, after all, so they may just ignore you, or they might decide that you're their new best friend.

    Because of the pandemic, I prefer people who are fully vaccinated (including boosters).

    My internet is slow and sometimes unreliable. There is also poor cell reception. You must be willing to be unplugged or VERY patient with slow service! You can always hike up the road to the ridge (about 1 kilometer away) and you'll have good cell reception.

    I cannot help you obtain a visa.

    I've done a bit of travel myself and love to stay with people. I have had great interactions with international guests who have stayed with me in the past. If you stay with me, chances are I will eventually visit you!

  • Informations complémentaires

    Informations complémentaires

    • Accès Internet

    • Accès Internet limité

      Accès Internet limité

    • Nous avons des animaux

    • Nous sommes fumeurs

    • Familles bienvenues

  • Espace pour garer des vans

    Espace pour garer des vans

    Your campervan would have to small in order to fit.

  • Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Combien de volontaires pouvez-vous accueillir ?

    Deux

  • ...

    Nombre d'heures attendues

    Max 20 hours with 2 days off

N° de référence hôte : 994984719673

Feedback (2)


Feedback

Ce sont des évaluations supplémentaires en option lorsque les membres laissent un feedback. La note moyenne pour chaque option est affichée.

Exactitude du profil: (5.0)

Échange culturel: (5.0)

Communication: (5.0)




Help with eco-construction and forestry while living in Rural Matanuska Valley, USA
House-pet sitting in Wrightwood California, USA